Dr Schrodinger
Member Since 2012
Quick update:
Milo's BG was off the scale all day yesterday, with 'HI' every 2 hours. :shock:
They managed to get a reading of 33.3mmol/L (600!) on the hospital analyser in the evening (i.e. top of the scale for the hand-held meters) & gave him 3 units rather than the usual 4. He wasn't tested O/N.
This morning he was
AMPS: 22.5 (405)
+2: 18.7 (337)
Looks like yesterday was truly a Somogyi day for my little man. I've just been to see him & he looks so much better. he's coming home this evening at 7pm so I can get a PMPS & shoot him in the comfort of his own home.
He wasn't eating his tinned food, so they've given him A/D, and a bowl of Hill's W/D!!! :evil: NOOOOOOOOO!!! I managed to control my reaction (just) and they've removed it.
27% f&*$%^** STARCH!! FOR A DIABETIC???!! ohmygod_smile The Nursie (supposedly the diabetes specialist) just really didn't get it. "But, that's designed specifically for diabetic cats & that's what we feed them...". I'm afraid my work-persona came out (I'm a University Lecturer & a Zoologist) "Now a cat's an obligate carnivore, right? It catches prey. Have a think about what a cat eats in the wild. What's the carbohydrate content of a sparrow or a field vole?". Oh dear. I managed to smooth things over in the end.
Anyway, all good news about Milo. I'm glad he was there yesterday. I would be panicking if this had happened at home, despite their unscientific ideas about feline physiology. So it's home tonight, on a lower dose. We even managed to raise a purr out of him whilst at the Vets. Woot!!

Milo's BG was off the scale all day yesterday, with 'HI' every 2 hours. :shock:
They managed to get a reading of 33.3mmol/L (600!) on the hospital analyser in the evening (i.e. top of the scale for the hand-held meters) & gave him 3 units rather than the usual 4. He wasn't tested O/N.
This morning he was
AMPS: 22.5 (405)
+2: 18.7 (337)
Looks like yesterday was truly a Somogyi day for my little man. I've just been to see him & he looks so much better. he's coming home this evening at 7pm so I can get a PMPS & shoot him in the comfort of his own home.
He wasn't eating his tinned food, so they've given him A/D, and a bowl of Hill's W/D!!! :evil: NOOOOOOOOO!!! I managed to control my reaction (just) and they've removed it.
27% f&*$%^** STARCH!! FOR A DIABETIC???!! ohmygod_smile The Nursie (supposedly the diabetes specialist) just really didn't get it. "But, that's designed specifically for diabetic cats & that's what we feed them...". I'm afraid my work-persona came out (I'm a University Lecturer & a Zoologist) "Now a cat's an obligate carnivore, right? It catches prey. Have a think about what a cat eats in the wild. What's the carbohydrate content of a sparrow or a field vole?". Oh dear. I managed to smooth things over in the end.
Anyway, all good news about Milo. I'm glad he was there yesterday. I would be panicking if this had happened at home, despite their unscientific ideas about feline physiology. So it's home tonight, on a lower dose. We even managed to raise a purr out of him whilst at the Vets. Woot!!