Uhg!! Racking up 500's today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Member Since 2011
So far AMPS 509, +1 566, +2 512.
Looks like Kitty's run of good numbers are going to be torn to shreds today.
Not really surprised though. I figured there would be consequences after missing a shot yesterday. Just hope he at least gets down to the 200's today.

Well at least I didnt have these numbers for the vet I through under the bus yesterday.
 
Sev, if missing the shot was the problem, you would've seen it last night with his pmps and numbers. PZI, once it is through working, it is through working. No shed depletion, etc. like with Lantus.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Sev, if missing the shot was the problem, you would've seen it last night with his pmps and numbers. PZI, once it is through working, it is through working. No shed depletion, etc. like with Lantus.

Well I am heading to work after +3. Not sure where I will pick up again in the afternoon. Perhaps tonight will bring better numbers.
 
I did feed him the Merrick Cowboy Cookout this morning. It has a much higher protein to fat ratio.
However I have given him that before with no noticeable change in the numbers.
 
Well, you'll soon know if he is still going down (long duration) or if he is on his way up. He's messing with your mind, Sev nailbite_smile
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Well, you'll soon know if he is still going down (long duration) or if he is on his way up. He's messing with your mind, Sev nailbite_smile

Didnt you tell me that a few minutes ago?? ;-)
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Yes, but no response so I figured you didn't see it :mrgreen:

Didnt have the window open. By the way you show as 21 today.
 
Question - why did you drop from 1.75 to 1.25, instead of 1.50?

And a thought - perhaps instead of entirely skipping a dose, once you have a shootable number at +2, maybe give a token dose (say 0.2 or 0.4 Units), so it can't skyrocket up. Yes, it may overlap with the next dose; you'd be dropping that one anyway because you had to skip, so you'd want to balance it out a bit.

Hair raising, isin't it? (Spitzer looked great at AMPS and stunk at +6!)
 
BJM said:
Question - why did you drop from 1.75 to 1.25, instead of 1.50?

And a thought - perhaps instead of entirely skipping a dose, once you have a shootable number at +2, maybe give a token dose (say 0.2 or 0.4 Units), so it can't skyrocket up. Yes, it may overlap with the next dose; you'd be dropping that one anyway because you had to skip, so you'd want to balance it out a bit.

Hair raising, isin't it? (Spitzer looked great at AMPS and stunk at +6!)

Well he was going so low on the 1.75 we figured I would bring him down to 1.25.
I was considering doing a minimal dose. Just not familiar with how much and when to do so yet.

I just tested at +11 and he is still at 101. Not sure what to do if he stays low.
By the looks of the chart and speed of drop I would say he has been in the blue and maybe green since +7
 
Another possible holding pattern......you may have to just skip a shot tonight. Look at what 1.25 has done with a high amps. Other thought is when he gets above 200 tonight give him a reduced dose and see what he gives you in the a.m. I certainly wouldn't give him 1.25 even if he is a little over 200.....not if you want to get any sleep tonight. I think his little pancreas is working part time right now.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Another possible holding pattern......you may have to just skip a shot tonight. Look at what 1.25 has done with a high amps. Other thought is when he gets above 200 tonight give him a reduced dose and see what he gives you in the a.m. I certainly wouldn't give him 1.25 even if he is a little over 200.....not if you want to get any sleep tonight. I think his little pancreas is working part time right now.

Hmmmmmmmmmmm.

Cant wait to see the blood work.
 
Well, you can give his ear a rest for the whole night and not shoot, or feed him normal time and see what he gives you an hour after eating (just in case his pancreas kicks in and he doesn't spike up) and depending on the number shoot him later than normal time possibly with a reduced dose.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Well, you can give his ear a rest for the whole night and not shoot, or feed him normal time and see what he gives you an hour after eating (just in case his pancreas kicks in and he doesn't spike up) and depending on the number shoot him later than normal time possibly with a reduced dose.

He is eating now.
I'll see where he at in an hour.
 
Sev, PZI insulin usually doesn't kick in right away and we've seen where after and hr. or two his numbers drop and IMHO it isn't the insulin kicking in yet. I might want to wait more than an hour after eating. Test him but don't shoot anything and then wait another 1/2 hr and retest just to get an idea if he is moving down on his own. Vets always said that where Mishka is concerned, throw the book on FD out the window, let her write her own. Maybe Kitty wants to co-author??? :lol:
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Sev, PZI insulin usually doesn't kick in right away and we've seen where after and hr. or two his numbers drop and IMHO it isn't the insulin kicking in yet. I might want to wait more than an hour after eating. Test him but don't shoot anything and then wait another 1/2 hr and retest just to get an idea if he is moving down on his own. Vets always said that where Mishka is concerned, throw the book on FD out the window, let her write her own. Maybe Kitty wants to co-author??? :lol:

Could be.
His SS is sure looking Christmasy.
 
Kitty is making long duration a habit it looks like. Many cycles it looks like the prozinc's onset is around 3-4 hours after the shot too.
Extra long duration can be an indication that the dose is too high. But on the days where the timing of things looks "normal", those green nadirs sure look good off of PS reading around 200.... Kitty is one confusing kitty.
Carl
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Good choice. I was thinking either .5 or .75 but .5 sounds safer.

Better to little than to much.
He went up over 130 in an hour. I probably could have given more. However it will be interesting to see what happens in the next 2 and half hours.
 
carlinsc said:
Kitty is making long duration a habit it looks like. Many cycles it looks like the prozinc's onset is around 3-4 hours after the shot too.
Extra long duration can be an indication that the dose is too high. But on the days where the timing of things looks "normal", those green nadirs sure look good off of PS reading around 200.... Kitty is one confusing kitty.
Carl

I am looking for patterns.
Not sure if caught the other thread.
The new blood work came in. Seems most or all of Kitty's numbers are normal.
I am picking up a copy in the morning.
 
AMPS was 296. Based on the previous .5 he should be on the way up. I went with 1.25 again this morning.
This evening would make 6 days at 1.25.
Looking at the numbers makes me wish I had gotten up and tested at +9. At a guess I would say he hovered in the 200's around +7 or 8
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top