MrWorfMen's Mom
Very Active Member
Wasn't online last night. Had a phone call about a friend in WI passing and didn't get off the phone until well after shot time.
Sorry to hear that Linda, are you ok?Wasn't online last night. Had a phone call about a friend in WI passing and didn't get off the phone until well after shot time.
I'm so sorry Linda, and yes this getting old business really sucks big time. I'm 63 and I can't believe how many of my classmates have passed away. Some that were in there 30's, 40's , 50's and just recently. Our graduating class of 1974 high school has a page and every time someone passes it posted on the group. Our 45th class reunion is coming up in a couple of months. Don't know if I will be able to go. Sometimes that's all I think about is dying. Morbid right? Time flys so fast. When you were in high school you never thought about that and couldn't wait to graduate. I wish I was back in high school. Talk to you later my dear friend, big hugs @MrWorfMen's MomYes I'm fine...just sad. It was a bit of a shock and of course news like that brings back all sorts of memories that seem bitter sweet right now. I've known him since 1988 when we first attended the World Muskie Hunt in WI. He was one of the fishing guides and close friends with the first couple we became fast friends with. We became very good friends with 6 couples in WI and their families and we'd all get together whenever we visited. Haven't been to WI since DH passed so it's been awhile but we still stayed in touch periodically and of course at Xmas.
Just seems every time I turn around now, someone else passes on. This getting older business sometimes sucks big time!
Ok I'll even settle for my 20's lol. That does sound very peaceful listening to the waterfall. Menace sounds like a real character. Oh my God hawks, poor Myster. Coyotes ,wow. One time I was talking a walk around the block yrs ago and Oliver my mom's cat was walking with me, a blue jay kept swooping down on him. Nasty birds.Well I have to admit I have no desire whatsoever to go back to high school. Hated it big time.....but I'd certainly go back to my 20s and nursing school days. Lots more fun than high school! It's funny how time starts flying by the older you get. I don't think you can escape thinking about dying from time to time because we are all mortals and when someone passes it just makes that part of our existence all the more inevitable and "real".
Oh well enough of the morbid stuff. The weather here is supposed to be great this weekend and I intend to enjoy it while it lasts. Plan to spend some time meditating by my pond listening to the waterfall! It's so peaceful and calming.
Wish I could take the kitties out with me but we have coyotes in the area. Someone walking their dog on Wednesday came up the huge hill from the park across the road from my house (a moderately tough climb) proclaiming he had to come out of the park that way because coyotes were down there and out in broad daylight.Scary enough I won't chance taking my cats out as my backyard is not fenced in well enough to keep coyotes out. Myster doesn't need a leash. He doesn't move fast or go far but Menace is an escape artist and has been known to slip out of her harness and she runs. Worf thankfully has no desire to venture outdoors even in my arms. I might take Myster out for a bit but I think Miss Menace is staying put in the AC. I can't possibly watch both of them at the same time. I also have to watch for hawks. Had one swoop down on Myster out back but that was when he was huge. He's lost muscle mass in his old age and isn't nearly as formidable looking now so I will have to be very vigilant.
I had to stop feeding the birds because I kept finding carcasses from their kills in my backyard. YUCK!
Ok Going to go with the fat 0.5I think I'd push it to the fat dose. He's not been hitting any green and it would be nice to get him back there. His numbers are good but they've been a tad better.
LOL with the blue jay. They can be very demanding birds. We used to have blue jays galore here when we first moved in. Thought they'd drive me nuts with their squawking but we got used to them. We'd put peanuts out for them, the cardinals and red winged black birds and if we forgot those blue jays would sit on the deck screaming till the peanuts appeared! T
The hawks are beautiful. Had a red tail sitting on the deck railing one day but man the size of those guys is scary! Usually we get smaller sharp shinned hawks but occasionally it's the big guys.
The pond is overgrown this year. I have to get someone in to clean it out perhaps in the fall or next spring. I'll find a picture of my zen place and post it for you.
While the ultimate goal for everyone is remission, not everyone is going to get there but the longer through each cycle we can keep our kitties in good BG range the better and the greater the chances of getting to that ultimate goal.
Vetsulin often doesn't last a full 12 hours in cats and for many cats, they drop quickly/a lot in the first few hours of the cycle and by 10 hours the effect of the insulin is virtually gone so BG zooms back up to higher range. Tyler tends to have a much smoother and even cycle than most cats on Vetsulin. He also tends to get better duration. It's not often I've seen a cat getting as nice a curve as Tyler on Vetsulin.
With your AT2 meter, high green or low blue numbers are great (roughly by my estimation based on my dual testing human with AT2, 125 or less) and what you want as your ultimate goal for as long through each cycle as possible and quite frankly Tyler is very close. With Vetsulin and the AT2 meter, your chances of ever seeing totally green readings are slim because you don't want his BG going too low because it will be a struggle to get him back up and keep him up. That 94 and 107 today are virtually the same reading and both are great readings. The drop from 198 to 94 over 3 hours really isn't bad at all. I've seen cats on Vetsulin drop 100 points in an hour. The food may have slowed down his drop a bit but you want the insulin to have something to work with because if the drop keeps going quickly, he'd probably just zoom back up that much quicker and possibly more than he usually does.
If you want to push for slightly lower numbers you can raise the dose a smidge and see what he does. There is no way of knowing if an increased dose would drop BG too much/too fast or if it would lengthen the time spent in the high greens unless you try. Normal range numbers on the AT2 are 68 to 150 (IDEXX labs says top of normal is 175) so when you look at Tyler's overall numbers, by either scale, he isn't out of normal range very long through each cycle. He's doing great in my opinion.
@MrWorfMen's MomWhile the ultimate goal for everyone is remission, not everyone is going to get there but the longer through each cycle we can keep our kitties in good BG range the better and the greater the chances of getting to that ultimate goal.
Vetsulin often doesn't last a full 12 hours in cats and for many cats, they drop quickly/a lot in the first few hours of the cycle and by 10 hours the effect of the insulin is virtually gone so BG zooms back up to higher range. Tyler tends to have a much smoother and even cycle than most cats on Vetsulin. He also tends to get better duration. It's not often I've seen a cat getting as nice a curve as Tyler on Vetsulin.
With your AT2 meter, high green or low blue numbers are great (roughly by my estimation based on my dual testing human with AT2, 125 or less) and what you want as your ultimate goal for as long through each cycle as possible and quite frankly Tyler is very close. With Vetsulin and the AT2 meter, your chances of ever seeing totally green readings are slim because you don't want his BG going too low because it will be a struggle to get him back up and keep him up. That 94 and 107 today are virtually the same reading and both are great readings. The drop from 198 to 94 over 3 hours really isn't bad at all. I've seen cats on Vetsulin drop 100 points in an hour. The food may have slowed down his drop a bit but you want the insulin to have something to work with because if the drop keeps going quickly, he'd probably just zoom back up that much quicker and possibly more than he usually does.
If you want to push for slightly lower numbers you can raise the dose a smidge and see what he does. There is no way of knowing if an increased dose would drop BG too much/too fast or if it would lengthen the time spent in the high greens unless you try. Normal range numbers on the AT2 are 68 to 150 (IDEXX labs says top of normal is 175) so when you look at Tyler's overall numbers, by either scale, he isn't out of normal range very long through each cycle. He's doing great in my opinion.
Going to look at the syringe right nowWell isn't Tyler being a good boy tonight! The very suggestion of a dosecrease seems to get them every time! LOL!
I think if this was on a day cycle I might give the 0.25u but it's not and since sometimes these furballs go lower at night, I'm going to suggest you back it off to 0.10u. Draw up the insulin to the zero line on the syringe which is the very first longer line right at the top of the barrel where the needle joins. If this is not clear, let me know.
Ok , do you think I should test him @+2 now, or @+3 @MrWorfMen's MomYup it will look like there isn't anything there but there is and we call it 0.10u.![]()
I know , so do I , when I take Perry in to my vet this Thursday I thought about telling her about this and bringing in everything I have written down. I have a book and write everything down , just like I do on his SS. I'm going to say it nicely that Tyler wouldn't have such great success already if it wasn't for this forum and you. I am going to say imagine if I still kept following the instructions you gave me at the very beginning, that your other vet said to follow. Oh boy do I shudder also. Ok will check @+2 @MrWorfMen's MomSince this is the lowest preshot for awhile (I shudder when I look at the first line on your spreadsheet....6u at pre-shot of 118!) I'd check him at +2.
Ok I understand, just takes me awhile lolIt was a good thing to feed him at +3. Look at it this way. There is glucose circulating all the timejust . When kitty eats, the amount of glucose circulating increases. The insulin is working whether kitty eats or not so if kitty doesn't eat, the insulin causes the circulating glucose to go down and if it goes down too fast or a lot the cat's defence system kicks into action and pours more glucose into the bloodstream causing a bounce to even higher numbers. Feeding gives the insulin something to work on and keeps the BG more stable so the nice greens and low blues last longer.
@MrWorfMen's Mom I'm going to tell her that I didn't follow their instructions and show them what I have been doing with his dosing, I'll try to put the 0.10 in now, wish me luck, you know me and instructions lolOn the spreadsheet, right under the word DATA on the text menu at the top, there is .00 with an arrow under it. Select the cell with .1 and then click on that .00 and it should change it to 0.10.
It certainly wouldn't hurt and might help another cat to point out to the vet that Tyler was being seriously overdosed but don't be surprised if they just figure his condition improved and their dosing advice was not a problem. There are a number of folks here who say if they had continued to follow their vet's advice their cat wouldn't be here any longer. Sad but true.
No ok I see Tyler's Pet Meter Spreadsheet , but under that all I see is the letters A, B, C, D, etcRight under the file name "Tyler's Pet Meter Spreadsheet" don't you see a menu with "File, Edit, View, Insert, Format, Data, Tools, Add-Ons, Help"?
Thanks , I just saw you filled it in for me, what if I have to do it again? I did notice a couple of times when I went to fix something and hit the square that I wanted to fix a few words came up like insert, and a few more words but can't remember what they were @MrWorfMen's Mom I'm wrong I just tapped on the +2 square and tapped it twice, what comes up is a white line above it and says cut.copy. paste. comment and noteFixed.
Ok no problem at all, no rush , I'll be testing Tyler in 5 minutes @+2 I can't wait to see what it is @MrWorfMen's Mom Boy you should hear the thunder here right now, it's going to pourI'll check the tablet and let you know how to fix it yourself tomorrow. I can't remember off hand where the decimal formatting is on the tablet menus.
That white line with cut copy past etc. is normal but that's not what you need.
Ok will do thanks a lotYou can or you can wait till +3 as usual. That really isn't much of a drop yet.
Do I go with the 0.10 u again and I thought he would have dropped more also is so would you put it on his SS for me? @MrWorfMen's MomThose are beautiful pre-shots. I was expecting him to drop a bit more last night but it seems he just coasted along in some great numbers.
Thanks so much Linda , appreciate it and so does Tyler lol , thanks again for filling it in lol will talk later @MrWorfMen's MomYes I'd do the 0.10u again till we see how today goes. I'll fix the SS.
Ok no problem, thanks againSS done. Got to go grab the tablet and see if I can find the decimal point thingy on it.![]()
Ok I will try it now just did a test and it worked, thanks so much , you are AWESOME! @MrWorfMen's MomHere's how to fix the decimal point on the tablet.
Select the cell you want to type in.
Tap the "A" with the lines beside it in the upper right part of the screen.
Select "Cell".
Scroll menu until you see Decimal places.
Tap the arrow on the right to add a decimal place.
Yeah I can see that, I'm going to go with skinny 0.75 tonight and of course will monitor him. I should have looked at past BG like I usually do, but this time I don't know why I didn't, I'll catch you later my friend, oh did you sit by your pind this weekend and relax and take Myster out for a bit @MrWorfMen's MomYou've given a skinny 0.75u at 151 before without any adverse reaction so I think 0.10 or even a skinny 0.25u is not going to get Tyler where you want him to be. I'd go with a fat 0.50 or a skinny 0.75u tonight. Seems 0.10u doesn't move his numbers much at all.
Civic Holiday, I just looked it up, and read about it @MrWorfMen's MomNo pond sitting yet. Tomorrow I plan to take some time to enjoy it and perhaps treat Myster to some outdoor time.It's a holiday weekend here!