TYLER'S JOURNEY #3

I am heading out tomorrow AM around 9:45/10am. I will check in before I leave in case there are questions but won't be around all day. Expect to be home for night cycle though. :)
 
I am heading out tomorrow AM around 9:45/10am. I will check in before I leave in case there are questions but won't be around all day. Expect to be home for night cycle though. :)
No don't leave me lol only kidding, thanks for checking in tomorrow before you leave, I will talk to you then, is there ever going to come a time when I will be able to decide what dose to give him, I'm really starting to learn more and it's all because of you @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
I think you know what to do and if ever you are questioning yourself, take the conservative choice. Tyler will be fine and catch up next cycle if you go a bit conservative. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment. ;)
 
He hit nadir or what appears to be his nadir early. Not sure what to make of it but each day is a different story with these extra sweet fur kids so I wouldn't read too much into it. He got a nice low and didn't jump up too much but I wish that PMPS hadn't been that high. See what tomorrow brings.
 
He hit nadir or what appears to be his nadir early. Not sure what to make of it but each day is a different story with these extra sweet fur kids so I wouldn't read too much into it. He got a nice low and didn't jump up too much but I wish that PMPS hadn't been that high. See what tomorrow brings.
Yes that nadir was puzzling, I wish his PMPS wasn't that high, when I saw it I said , Oh come on now Tyler lol, Can't wait to see where his nadir lands tonight. Hope you enjoyed your day out today, did your kitties miss you @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
SATURDAY 6-29-19
PMPS - 217
+2 - 119 fed him FF
+3 - 134 didn't feed any food
+4 - 134. (stayed the same) gave a little bit of Dr Elseys Clean Protein Dry
-7 - 150
Done testing until his PMPS @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom morning Linda
Tested Tyler this am and got a 241 BG. Did it again in the other ear it was 224
SUNDAY 6-30-19
AMPS -224. I guess it's the FAT 0.5 u again @MrWorfMen's Mom
How about last night's numbers? Should I feed him everytime I test him after he eats? I always feed him after +2 , let's say his BG stays the same like it did last night at +2 and +3 do you normally feed him again and then maybe after that? @MrWorfMen's Mom I am going to go with the FAT 0.5 u now @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
I love that he surfed in the blue for quite some time last night and 0.5u fat is fine this morning.

Tomorrow if he is high AMPS you might want to try a skinny 0.75u if you can monitor. I'd love to see a few high dark greens mixed in with those nice blues. Feeding is kind of a puzzle unique to each kitty. Whatever you did last night seems to have worked well and kept him surfing. Feeding can use up the insulin you give in some kitties while in others it seems to encourage their pancreas to pump out their own insulin to supplement what you give. Only by experimenting with feeding times can you find the optimal times for your kitty. I'd definitely stick with the feeding at +2 to slow down the drop and avoid feeding too late in the cycle (roughly +7 or 8 on) but otherwise you can experiment a bit to see what works best.
 
I love that he surfed in the blue for quite some time last night and 0.5u fat is fine this morning.

Tomorrow if he is high AMPS you might want to try a skinny 0.75u if you can monitor. I'd love to see a few high dark greens mixed in with those nice blues. Feeding is kind of a puzzle unique to each kitty. Whatever you did last night seems to have worked well and kept him surfing. Feeding can use up the insulin you give in some kitties while in others it seems to encourage their pancreas to pump out their own insulin to supplement what you give. Only by experimenting with feeding times can you find the optimal times for your kitty. I'd definitely stick with the feeding at +2 to slow down the drop and avoid feeding too late in the cycle (roughly +7 or 8 on) but otherwise you can experiment a bit to see what works best.
Hey Linda, yes, I liked the blue also , will see what his AMPS tomorrow and if it's high will try the skinny 0.75. About the feeding I just assumed that every time you test them you have to feed them. I will keep doing what I'm doing and see what happens, will talk later @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
I think you could give him 0.5 on the line. Last night and this AM were the first yellows Tyler's had for a while. Let's see what he does tomorrow AM. I think those are just par for the course and they certainly aren't way up and he is spending much of his time at good blue levels. :D
 
I think you could give him 0.5 on the line. Last night and this AM were the first yellows Tyler's had for a while. Let's see what he does tomorrow AM. I think those are just par for the course and they certainly aren't way up and he is spending much of his time at good blue levels. :D
Ok will do 0.5 on the line, and of course check him tonight. Hope you had a good day and your kitties are doing ok @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
All's copacetic here. A bit tired from all the driving yesterday. Traffic was horrendous on my way to Niagara-on-the-Lake (holiday weekend :rolleyes:) but had a lovely lunch and visit with US friends. Thank goodness traffic was better on my way home or I'd be really bushed.
 
All's copacetic here. A bit tired from all the driving yesterday. Traffic was horrendous on my way to Niagara-on-the-Lake (holiday weekend :rolleyes:) but had a lovely lunch and visit with US friends. Thank goodness traffic was better on my way home or I'd be really bushed.
Glad you had a good time, I've never heard of Niagara-on-the-Lake , so I looked it up. It sounds like a beautiful place and lots to see and do there. It also talked about traffic , it said if you didn't want to sit in traffic you should leave by 8:00. Now I can see why you were in traffic. Glad it was better for you on the drive back. I'm dreading the 4th of July because of all the fireworks, my cats hide under the bed. I can just see me trying to drag Tyler out to test and feed him, besides that the noise just kills Ashley. Will most likely have to leave the house and park some where until neighbors are done with this crap. Do you have fireworks going on by you? @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Yes we have the fireworks too.......tonight. My cats tend to get a bit more clingy or hide out laying on the chairs tucked in under the dining room table! A neighbour kitty corner to my property shoots off a pile of them at every holiday opportunity. Last year I found spent cartridges from some fireworks in my backyard which struck me as odd given how large our lots are here compared to most areas in the city. Thank goodness I don't have a dog that could have been out in the backyard for a pottie break! :eek:. Don't even want to imagine what it must be like closer to downtown where the lots are tiny. :nailbiting:
No doubt something you've tried for Ashley......noise protection ear muffs....or perhaps they would aggravate the pain from pressure rather than noise?:blackeye::(
 
Yes we have the fireworks too.......tonight. My cats tend to get a bit more clingy or hide out laying on the chairs tucked in under the dining room table! A neighbour kitty corner to my property shoots off a pile of them at every holiday opportunity. Last year I found spent cartridges from some fireworks in my backyard which struck me as odd given how large our lots are here compared to most areas in the city. Thank goodness I don't have a dog that could have been out in the backyard for a pottie break! :eek:. Don't even want to imagine what it must be like closer to downtown where the lots are tiny. :nailbiting:
No doubt something you've tried for Ashley......noise protection ear muffs....or perhaps they would aggravate the pain from pressure rather than noise?:blackeye::(
Yes you are correct about the noise protection ear muffs, she can't even wear them , if snythany touches or presses against her ears, the pain just gets worse immediately, I wish she could use them. Last night the town next to us did their fireworks and you could hear it from there, we had to leave for awhile until they finished. It's just so tiring for her, in and out of the car. So can't wait for July 5th. What did you think of Tylers numbers last night?
Tested him this morning
MONDAY 7-1-19
AMPS - 177 0.5 on the line or FAT 0.5 @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
His numbers are good but they still could come down a bit. I'd stick with at least 0.5 fat but given his recent activity, I think you could try 0.75 skinny with usual monitoring. It might just coax him down to a high dark green. :)
 
His numbers are good but they still could come down a bit. I'd stick with at least 0.5 fat but given his recent activity, I think you could try 0.75 skinny with usual monitoring. It might just coax him down to a high dark green. :)
Ok I'm going to give it a try this morning with the Skinny 0.75 and with the usual monitoring. I will be heading to my vets office today for more test strips, I have 4 left right now. Even if I order them off the internet , it comes out to be the same amount my vet charges , with what they charge for shipping off the internet @MrWorfMen's MomSo using the 1/2 marking syringes I would try to eye ball under the 0.5 mark, but above the 1 unit mark? I'm about to shoot now @MrWorfMen's Mom Ok just shot
 
Last edited:
YEs you'd be just a smidge above half way between the full and half unit marks. Tough I know but if it's a bit more than a 0.5 fat, that's close enough. Are you sure your vet has AT2 strips on hand? Mine ordered them in for me....I couldn't just pick them up any time I wanted.
 
YEs you'd be just a smidge above half way between the full and half unit marks. Tough I know but if it's a bit more than a 0.5 fat, that's close enough. Are you sure your vet has AT2 strips on hand? Mine ordered them in for me....I couldn't just pick them up any time I wanted.
We shall see if I eye balled it close enough, yes my vet always has the Alpha Trak test strips in stock, now I'm counting down the hours until it's time to test at +2 lol Oh by the way do you think it's time to start another thread which would be TYLER'S JOURNEY #4?
It's getting kind of long right?
 
Back
Top