Tyer & M: AMBS= 41 . Yup. That was 41. Next 2 hrs = 77 : +4=113 : Reduction - PMPS=270 : +2=200

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
In the dim and dusty past - Two weeks ago. :oops:

I thought it was time I stirred my stumps with a bit of an update. :oops: There fore this is the :oops: condo.

As you will have realised I have rather fallen by the wayside with the daily threads . :oops: Mainly because I found myself hanging in here rather than doing......worky type stuff. No self-control :oops: Also that there was not too much for me to say that wasn't explained by looking at Tyler's SS.

We recently had the return of the indignant bum :oops: leaving dumps in all manner of places other than one of the many litter trays. I have been really puzzled by this & concerned for Ty's geriatric liver. There has been much close inspection of the colour, size and consistency. Not a good look for my elderly gent. :oops:

Just now, thanks to @Phoebes I had a *lightbulb* moment and realised that for some reason with the last two injections, I was giving Ty just .15 of the B12 instead of .25ml. Goodness knows why as I do know different. I suppose just used to shooting the 1.5 for the insulin & my one remaining brain cell having a malfunction. :oops: No excuse though. :oops:

I am concerned for his weight . He is now just 4.6kg = 10lbs. He should really be over 5kg. The weight is slowly melting away despite my best efforts.

For the most part the BG numbers have been lolloping along despite the weird nasty high carb diet. There is everyone else giving their pusscats all manner of lovely low carb good stuff and there is me feeding him :oops: stuff.

Except for this morning's AMPS ! :nailbiting: In my last condo I wrote that a lime green was the very last thing I would ever wish to see for Ty now, yet there all creepity creep creeping in overnight, was a blasted lime green to greet me this morning. He showed no symptoms at all except for being a hungry horace today and I can say that he was perfectly fine at 2am this morning when I creepity creeped in on him to check he was OK as I thought I had heard a noise. I had . It was the noise of him getting comfy and going back to sleep after a poop hit the deck. He gave me such a look :oops:

I must try harder to keep up to date in here about Ty. :oops: He's one of the group after all.

To follow -------
 
Last edited:
Oh, poor sweet boy. Look at that shaved belly :kiss:!

Is he maybe having trouble getting into the litter box? I had to cut down a box in the front so there was almost no lip so my tripod civvie, Sasha, could get in and out.

So close to earning a reduction - makes you wonder if he went lower than that and was on his way up?
 
Wow on that 41. It's funny how they can seem fine and we panic. I hope he comes up and surfs safely for you. I hope you can figure out the lb and weight issues. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh, poor sweet boy. Look at that shaved belly :kiss:!

Is he maybe having trouble getting into the litter box? I had to cut down a box in the front so there was almost no lip so my tripod civvie, Sasha, could get in and out.

So close to earning a reduction - makes you wonder if he went lower than that and was on his way up?


Oh . He gets the reduction regardless. He would definitely have dipped below IMO.

Nah! He can poop into any one of those trays when he chooses. Tonight he was headed for behind the log burner. That is a bit of an obstacle course. Husband took him outside and he happily did a mega dump onto the mulch in a shrubbery bed. He has to step up into that one.

He's flaming well bounced. I dithered over a reduced dose too but had to go out.


.....wah... I can smell . He just had another moment. 11pm
 
for a moment there I thought you had shot a 41 :eek::eek::eek: (it's AMBG if you skip;))
He's a real cutie, sorry about the pooping issues.

I remember reading somewhere that elderly cats benefit from a high quality protein diet(of course that only works if they eat it), lessens muscle wastage, I'll try and find the info for you, it might have been on Tanyas site. I am rather busy today so it me be quite a bit later, but I will look at it for you.
 
Awww, Tyler is a handsome and determined fellow.

Some thoughts about some ways that I’ve found helpful to bump up protein intake from easily digestible and assimilatable sources for our senior sweeties:

Egg white powder or mashed cooked egg white adds easily digestible protein, albumin, amino acids potassium and is the low phos part of the egg. A tsp or so a day in meals.

Egg yolk powder, or mashed cooked egg yolk (some feed it raw) also includes very digestible protein but is higher in phos. A tsp or so a day.

Bone broth (meat broths with bones removed earlier in the making is lower in phos) a goody too.

Tyler: you’ve come a long way, baby, thanks to your mom!❤️
 
:bighug::bighug: Good to see you!! :bighug::bighug:

I thought Ty looked good at that weight. Does he have bony hips or you can feel his spine easily?

I hope once you fix the B12 doses, Ty won't continue with the poop issues. His numbers are looking lovely!

happycat.jpg
 
Nice to see Ty out enjoying some fresh air. Hope the increased B12 helps him feel better and put on some weight... and return to normal poos IN the box. :bighug:
 
Such a handsome fellow! :cat: :cat:

Has he had his potassium level checked? Low potassium is not uncommon in cats with FD and can cause symptoms that are easily confused with, or mistaken for, neuropathy.

Here is the link to the powdered fat supplement I told you about. They do ship outside the US, but you might have to contact them about it. Squallie has that same type of muscle wasting around his hind end, but he's got a big, chubby belly (weighs 13.9 lbs). I don't know that there is a lot to be done about the wasting, at their ages. :( I hope increasing the B12 helps Tyler. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug: Good to see you!! :bighug::bighug:

I thought Ty looked good at that weight. Does he have bony hips or you can feel his spine easily?

I hope once you fix the B12 doses, Ty won't continue with the poop issues. His numbers are looking lovely!

happycat.jpg
That smiling face is just too much! Even his eyes are smiling! What a cutie! :cat: :):bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug: Good to see you!! :bighug::bighug:
I thought Ty looked good at that weight. Does he have bony hips or you can feel his spine easily?
I hope once you fix the B12 doses, Ty won't continue with the poop issues. His numbers are looking lovely!

I know . The numbers are astonishing given the diet.
Yes. He is a right bag of bones. Sunken around the rear end. Nobbly spine.

I am giving him cooked egg white , pumpkin and some poached/grilled chicken or lamb with his food. I would have to check about importing any powdered supplement as often this type of thing is either held up or thrown away at customs. If the fat supplement is from meat then likely it would not be allowed in.

Cannot remember about the potassium levels at the mo without digging around in an untidy mess of paperwork. For us , the neuropathy which was very bad to the degree he had sores on his hocks has gone. He is on his toes.

Thanks. I shall have a look at the protein diet link. My probs have been to give some sort of diet that does not open his rear end sluice gate. Ty would eat a scabby donkeys twizzle if he could. Food is still a pleasure. He's turned pooping into an Olympic sport.

Yes . Definitely @Phoebes . You helped me. I would not have realised what I had done if you had you not posted your dosage to me.
 
Whoa Ty! That was a surprise! Glad you caught it and he didn’t seem bothered. Thanks for sharing the video, he does look like he’s having a good time being out in nature and watching all the bugs fly around and critters be crittery. :cat:

Isn’t it funny how stubborn they are? You have a plump kitty and it’s tough to get the weight off, you have a skinny one and it’s tough to put the weight on! Sheesh! I hope you can find something to fatten him up a bit and he enjoys the process at the same time. Sending good poop vines as always, Ty. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top