Two months in: PMPS-339 +4 89 +5 69 +5.5 96 +6 76 +6.5 91 +7 70

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just got the result a couple minutes ago: 96

Would I need to test again, do you think? Or is the upward trend a good enough sign?
I think it would be ok, can you leave her some low carb food out?
If her BG number in the AM is a shootable number anytime can you get some tests in during the AM cycle so we can see how she's doing? or do you work?

EDIT . Please continue to test like Bron suggests below
@AndreaJEP
 
Last edited:
Just got the result a couple minutes ago: 96

Would I need to test again, do you think? Or is the upward trend a good enough sign?
Well done getting the test. Looks like the higher carb food has done the trick. Because you gave the higher carb food, we recommend you keep testing for up to 2 hours because once the high carb wears off, the BGs can drop again. So don’t feed any more higher carb food. You can give a snack of low carb though if you want. I would test again in 1 hour. Can you set the alarm?
 
Well done getting the test. Looks like the higher carb food has done the trick. Because you gave the higher carb food, we recommend you keep testing for up to 2 hours because once the high carb wears off, the BGs can drop again. So don’t feed any more higher carb food. You can give a snack of low carb though if you want. I would test again in 1 hour. Can you set the alarm?
I have to be up for work in 5 hours. If she is in danger, then I would obviously rather keep testing than risk her life, but if I set an alarm to wake up in an hour or two, then I am unlikely to fall back asleep.

If her BG may drop again, wouldn't it make more sense to leave the gravy lovers out for her to munch on?
 
I have to be up for work in 5 hours. If she is in danger, then I would obviously rather keep testing than risk her life, but if I set an alarm to wake up in an hour or two, then I am unlikely to fall back asleep.

If her BG may drop again, wouldn't it make more sense to leave the gravy lovers out for her to munch on?
If you want to do that, we call that aborting the cycle….it is up to you.
I can only tell you what we recommend and then it is up to you.
What you don’t want is for her to be eating high carb food in the two hours preshot that will influence the AMPS and then give a dose of insulin and leave the house.
 
If you want to do that, we call that aborting the cycle….it is up to you.
I can only tell you what we recommend and then it is up to you.
What you don’t want is for her to be eating high carb food in the two hours preshot that will influence the AMPS and then give a dose of insulin and leave the house.
She's back down to 76. :arghh:

Not sure I understand "aborting the cycle"? She's eating all this gravy lovers but her BG is back down instead of up.
 
Not sure I understand "aborting the cycle"? She's
Aborting the cycle is where you feed as much high carb food as needed to keep your kitty safe if you have to leave the hours or sleep.
It’s not ideal but is ok if necessary. However as she has dropped down again I would rather see her more stable before leaving her. It’s not unusual for the BG to wobble about a bit like this so don’t worry. Perfectly normal.


After all this, I'm skipping her AM dose entirely or just giving her a token dose, unless I hear otherwise.
OK. See how she goes. You are doing a great job keeping her safe. It is always unnerving the first few times.:bighug:
 
I tried, she's not interested in eating. To be fair, she has already eaten quite a bit compared to how much she usually eats.

Maybe I should do the corn syrup and get it over with. I have less than four hours to sleep at this point.
Try again with some food. Not a lot a teaspoon or two is all that is needed. If she won’t eat that then you could give her a drop or two of corn syrup. Not too much though.
 
For future reference, when you get a low number again…if it is above 68 you can feed a teaspoon of low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. If it is below 68 you would give a teaspoon of high carb and test again in 20 minutes. We don’t feed a lot as we don’t want to fill them up as we might have to get them to eat quite a few times to keep the BGs safe.
Over time you will get to know how carb sensitive Scully is. Some cats respond quickly to a small amount of carbs and others need more. if you write what you feed in the remarks column of the SSyou will be able to look back and see how effective the carbs were at a later date.
 
Last edited:
Ok, considering everything I had to feed her to get her to that number, I'm skipping the morning dose again.

Scully's original starting dose on Prozinc was 2 units, and the vet raised it to 3 and then 4 based on glucose curves. I feel like I should start all over again at 2 units, and only raise the dose again based on proper testing methods this time.

Thoughts?


Edit: they are placing the Freestyle on Tuesday.
 
Last edited:
Sorry I wasn't around - 3U is new dose. If you want a little more cushion, 2.5-2.75U is also ok.

2U is probably a little too low at this point, but if you want to do that you certainly can. Just be sure to check ketones, as not enough insulin is a factor in DKA.

We see this a lot, the curves done by the vet are done on days they're bouncing from lows, or BG is inflated from stress...add in the whole unit increases and you very quickly end up with an overdosed cat! Good thing you found us and started testing :)
 
Sorry I wasn't around - 3U is new dose. If you want a little more cushion, 2.5-2.75U is also ok.

2U is probably a little too low at this point, but if you want to do that you certainly can. Just be sure to check ketones, as not enough insulin is a factor in DKA.

We see this a lot, the curves done by the vet are done on days they're bouncing from lows, or BG is inflated from stress...add in the whole unit increases and you very quickly end up with an overdosed cat! Good thing you found us and started testing :)
Thank you for the advice. I will go with the 2.5, because I was so stressed at work today thinking about a repeat of last night that I almost burst into tears several times (and then actually did when I called my mom at lunch).

I will do my best to get a +4 or similar for her, then over the weekend I should be able to fill in a lot more gaps in the spreadsheet.
 
I agree with @FrostD re the dose and I would be guided by her. You don’t want to go too low and risk ketones.
It is stressful in the beginning but I’m sure it will get better, especially now you are here and can get help and support 24/7.
Always lean on us if things get tough. We have all been there and understand.
You are doing a great job helping Scully lead her best life.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top