AndreaJEP
Member Since 2022
I feel like I have a ton of questions and all the information is kind of overwhelming right now, so I'm going to try to keep this organized, but I don't know if I'll succeed.
My kitty, Scully
My own background
I have been type 1 diabetic myself for almost 10 years. I was on Lantus once daily plus meal-time rapid-acting insulin for several years, then switched to pump + CGM.
The current problem (?)
I was researching how to switch Scully over to wet food given that she is already on insulin, found this forum in the process, and discovered that you all test your cat's glucose at least twice per day, before each injection.
I have had a lot of difficulty testing Scully's blood sugar. She's fussy about being handled even under the best of circumstances. She will tolerate one prick from the lancing device, which would be fine...except that more often than not, I get no blood out at all, even when I warm her ear first and put some vaseline on. I actually have more luck lower on the ear than guides online suggest, but even so, I'm more likely to come up dry than to actually get a drop of blood. Her paws are a no-go as she does not allow anyone to touch them without having a second (or third) person to restrain her.
I've tried pricking with just the lancet, and will never do that again. It didn't work, and having had to poke myself that way before, I know it hurts far worse than using the lancing device. I have ordered a lancing device with a clear tip to see if that helps.
When I found this forum a few days ago, I decided to take the advice and check her BG before her PM injection, and it was only 143, so I skipped the dose. The next day, I was unable to get blood from Scully's ear until around noon, and since I am now unwilling to dose her without seeing her BG reading, that means she missed her morning dose as well. The noon reading was 224.
Since then, every pre-shot reading has been in the mid-200s to low 300s. With that 143 she had, I thought maybe she was going into remission, but maybe not. Maybe it was a fluke. I believe I managed to catch her nadir around 9 hours a few weeks ago, and at that time, it was 127. I understand I need to test more often, but I need help figuring out how to actually get blood out of her reliably.
I also understand that to switch her to wet food, I need to be able to test her BG frequently, but...well, see above.
I did read the page with the big spreadsheet of wet cat foods and their macronutrient contents, plus the advice on switching a diabetic cat to wet food, but all that seemed to do was stress that lower carbohydrate intake means less insulin is needed immediately which...yeah, I've known that for a decade now. But I need to know how much to reduce the insulin before I give her a meal of wet food, not just dose her as usual and keep testing to hope I catch the low! Was that information there and I just missed it?
I've read recently that CGMs are available for cats. Maybe I should talk to the vet about getting one for the food transition? Scully really hates the vet's office and gets very stressed out every time we go, but maybe it's worthwhile?
Choosing a wet food
I got some Tiki Cat After Dark variety pack and have given her just a taste of a few flavors to see what she will like, but unfortunately, so far she only seems interested in licking up the liquid, and doesn't really eat much of the shredded meat. But most of the high-protein, moderate fat, under 10% carb foods seem to be the shredded kind. I've looked at the pates too, but they seem to be mostly higher in fat.
Plus, the feeding guidelines seem kind of insane. For instance, Tiki Cat says something like 3 cans per 7 pounds of body weight, which means 6 cans a day for Scully. That's half the box! That can't be right??
I hope this wasn't too disorganized to read, but I feel like I have both too much information and not enough, and I need someone to set me straight. Please. I'll take any ideas or advice you might have. I'm a bit too stressed out to sleep right now, anyway.
My kitty, Scully
- Female, spayed
- Age 13
- Weight has been yo-yoing for years, and have tried to control it using her vet's advice, but nothing seems to work. I hope wet food will. Last night, she weighed in at 14.2 pounds, which is one of the highest weights she has been at.
- Dx'ed late September 2022, after going to the vet for a suspected UTI and finding sugar in her urine. Her BGs around that time and when I first started home testing were in the 300-500 range.
- ProZinc insulin, 4 units twice daily (up from an initial dose of 2 units twice daily)
- Current food is prescription DM dry food, which I've found out is not good for her despite what the vet said.
- Very compliant with insulin injections - no issues there.
- BG testing so far has been fairly difficult.
- Spent one overnight in the animal ER a few weeks after starting insulin due to diarrhea, vomiting, and lack of appetite. This occurred a couple of days after Scully's usual vet did a glucose curve in the clinic and raised her dose from 2 units to 3 units twice daily. The ER docs thought she was having rebound highs from too much insulin. Her own vet and a substitute vet at our usual clinic thought her insulin still wasn't high enough. Her usual vet ordered me a meter at that time and had me do a glucose curve at home, which seemed to confirm that Scully's dose wasn't high enough, and had me raise it to the current 4 unit twice daily dose.
- Scully's vet advised me to do the occasional glucose curve, and gave no other instructions as far as testing her BG.
My own background
I have been type 1 diabetic myself for almost 10 years. I was on Lantus once daily plus meal-time rapid-acting insulin for several years, then switched to pump + CGM.
The current problem (?)
I was researching how to switch Scully over to wet food given that she is already on insulin, found this forum in the process, and discovered that you all test your cat's glucose at least twice per day, before each injection.
I have had a lot of difficulty testing Scully's blood sugar. She's fussy about being handled even under the best of circumstances. She will tolerate one prick from the lancing device, which would be fine...except that more often than not, I get no blood out at all, even when I warm her ear first and put some vaseline on. I actually have more luck lower on the ear than guides online suggest, but even so, I'm more likely to come up dry than to actually get a drop of blood. Her paws are a no-go as she does not allow anyone to touch them without having a second (or third) person to restrain her.
I've tried pricking with just the lancet, and will never do that again. It didn't work, and having had to poke myself that way before, I know it hurts far worse than using the lancing device. I have ordered a lancing device with a clear tip to see if that helps.
When I found this forum a few days ago, I decided to take the advice and check her BG before her PM injection, and it was only 143, so I skipped the dose. The next day, I was unable to get blood from Scully's ear until around noon, and since I am now unwilling to dose her without seeing her BG reading, that means she missed her morning dose as well. The noon reading was 224.
Since then, every pre-shot reading has been in the mid-200s to low 300s. With that 143 she had, I thought maybe she was going into remission, but maybe not. Maybe it was a fluke. I believe I managed to catch her nadir around 9 hours a few weeks ago, and at that time, it was 127. I understand I need to test more often, but I need help figuring out how to actually get blood out of her reliably.
I also understand that to switch her to wet food, I need to be able to test her BG frequently, but...well, see above.
I did read the page with the big spreadsheet of wet cat foods and their macronutrient contents, plus the advice on switching a diabetic cat to wet food, but all that seemed to do was stress that lower carbohydrate intake means less insulin is needed immediately which...yeah, I've known that for a decade now. But I need to know how much to reduce the insulin before I give her a meal of wet food, not just dose her as usual and keep testing to hope I catch the low! Was that information there and I just missed it?
I've read recently that CGMs are available for cats. Maybe I should talk to the vet about getting one for the food transition? Scully really hates the vet's office and gets very stressed out every time we go, but maybe it's worthwhile?
Choosing a wet food
I got some Tiki Cat After Dark variety pack and have given her just a taste of a few flavors to see what she will like, but unfortunately, so far she only seems interested in licking up the liquid, and doesn't really eat much of the shredded meat. But most of the high-protein, moderate fat, under 10% carb foods seem to be the shredded kind. I've looked at the pates too, but they seem to be mostly higher in fat.
Plus, the feeding guidelines seem kind of insane. For instance, Tiki Cat says something like 3 cans per 7 pounds of body weight, which means 6 cans a day for Scully. That's half the box! That can't be right??
I hope this wasn't too disorganized to read, but I feel like I have both too much information and not enough, and I need someone to set me straight. Please. I'll take any ideas or advice you might have. I'm a bit too stressed out to sleep right now, anyway.
Her ear was warm so I skipped the sock, but maybe I shouldn't have skipped it. She's pretty annoyed with me right now, so I'm going to let her calm down for 10 or 15 minutes and then try again, with the sock this time.

