Samantha Styles
Member Since 2024
Hi All!
Twix and I are new to this journey and are only just starting to get the hang of things. I did grab a reading from him this morning before his shot; however, it's the lowest reading I've had for a pre-shot. (The last time this happened, I had his "lowest reading" at 235, and he dropped to 66), so I have some hesitancy and want to check in regarding his morning insulin shot with his AMPS being at 188. I did feed him breakfast and I could test again in a few hours. But my normal day-to-day schedule wouldn't allow for a huge change to insulin dosing times.
Would a token dose make the most sense here?
Twix’s Background:
Twix and I are new to this journey and are only just starting to get the hang of things. I did grab a reading from him this morning before his shot; however, it's the lowest reading I've had for a pre-shot. (The last time this happened, I had his "lowest reading" at 235, and he dropped to 66), so I have some hesitancy and want to check in regarding his morning insulin shot with his AMPS being at 188. I did feed him breakfast and I could test again in a few hours. But my normal day-to-day schedule wouldn't allow for a huge change to insulin dosing times.
Would a token dose make the most sense here?
Twix’s Background:
- Age: 15 years old
- Medical History:
- Diagnosed with hyperthyroidism two years ago; was on oral meds for one year, then received I-131 treatment about a year ago.
- Post-I-131 radiation treatment:
- Approx. 6 months post-treatment, we started giving him hypothyroid meds 3 times a week, but this resulted in a very greasy and matted coat (we had to shave his coat). We decided to discontinue use. Clinically, he seemed better off the meds. However, in hindsight, we realize this probably wasn’t the best option.
- After some time, he started to look sick again and further testing and noticed high blood sugar levels, his radiation doctor had us resume his hypothyroid meds for about 1 month prior to starting insulin (started July 19).
- He is now on daily hypothyroid meds (Levothyroxine) and started ProZinc insulin injections (twice daily) on August 21.
- Insulin Progression:
- He was non-responsive to insulin for the first month and by August 30, was up to 3 units with no response on charge (always 350+). He had many signs of hyperglycemia (neuropathy started, he was drinking very large quantities, peeing every 1-3 hours, unable to hold urine, peeing outside of litter box and litter box room, etc.)
- Around this time, I began focusing more on changing his diet rather than upping his insulin again as suggested. I started by switching his soft food to Fancy Feast Naturals Pate 2x per day, while still free-feeding kibble. We noticed a response in his chart for about 4 days, then he went back to continuously high levels.
- I then removed ALL dry kibble and increased his soft food to 3x per day. Within 1.5 days of the diet change, we had to skip an insulin injection and reduced him to 2 units.
- He was on 2 units for about 2 weeks, then had a dip below 90 this week, and we reduced him to 1.75 units per the help of people on this board and via the SLGS method.
- Current Condition:
- He is currently experiencing diabetic neuropathy. I just ordered Zorbalin today (10/15), and it should arrive later this week.
- Clinically he seems to have improved, minus his neuropathy
- Monitoring:
- Twix wears a Libre3 sensor for 24/7 glucose monitoring. I also use the ReliOn sensor between Libre sensors and alongside it.
- Diet:
- He is now on Fancy Feast Naturals Pate, 3x per day.

Have a great afternoon and I will peek at Twix’s spreadsheet again later on. What time zone are you in and what is your shot time? I’m on Eastern time. I have a cat to take to the vet this afternoon, but I will be around after that.