? Tuxie AMPS 164 +2-347 +6-90 +8-146 dose reduction for PM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
This morning Tuxie's AMPS was 164 on the AlphaTrak2 pet meter and 120 on the FreeStyle Lite meter. I shot 5 units which is .25 less than his usual because of the lower number.

This is definitely the lowest PS number he has ever had and a really good number for Tuxie in general. Was this the right things to do?? I will be monitoring him as needed today.
 
It's okay, if you're worried, to give a one time reduced dose. Unless he earns a dose reduction today, I would go right back to his regular dose tonight.
I would start the testing today with a +2. It looks like he's coming down from his bounce.
 
It's okay, if you're worried, to give a one time reduced dose. Unless he earns a dose reduction today, I would go right back to his regular dose tonight.
I would start the testing today with a +2. It looks like he's coming down from his bounce.

Thanks for the quick reply. When I look at his numbers yesterday I am pretty sure the morning was a fur shot since he never has no drop from his insulin even with bouncing. The last test I did was at +5 last night and it was 268 AT2 meter so he obviously dropped lower during the night. His nadir is usually between +5 and +7, I wish I had tested at a later time but I was so exhausted. He was 1/2 hour late this morning and this is the first morning in months that he hasn't been howling for food an hour before shot time.
 
Nice Shooting! It is always hard to decide what to do when you get a lower than you expect PS. As long as you will be available to monitor and treat I think you did the right thing.
 
Nice Shooting! It is always hard to decide what to do when you get a lower than you expect PS. As long as you will be available to monitor and treat I think you did the right thing.

Since lower PS numbers are new to Tuxie this threw me a bit. I tested twice with the AT2 pet meter and once with the FSLite human meter and the readings were good. Now at his +2 he seems to doing a bounce...+2-347. This boy sure keeps me on my toes at all times :)
 
So it was really good that you went ahead and gave insulin even if it was a slightly reduced dose. Bounces happen and you just never know when they are going to happen, or when the kitty is going to dive. At least you won't have to heavily monitor today like you thought you might.
 
Tuxie started off low (for him) today and after a higher+2 has been staying in decent numbers. This is the first time I got a negative reading for glucose in his urine since I started over 4 months ago. I did a .25 unit reduction because of his lower starting number this morning. Should I continue with the same dose or decrease it .25 units?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top