Tuxedo and Me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Tux

Member Since 2014
Hello!

My cat, Tux, was diagnosed in March 2014. I have been viewing posts on here and FB but just recently registered. Tux is a male 7 year old Norwegian Forest Cat. He was starting to lose weight even though he was still eating normal amounts so I took him to the vet. He was completely healthy looking other than being underweight. The vet ran a full blood work up and tested his urine. His BG was 425 and there was sugar in his urine but no ketones. We immediately changed his diet and purchased a meter to start home testing. We are currently trying different foods to find a good fit for us. Tux cannot have grain and I avoid foods with by-products in them. He was doing well with the Best Friends Feline food but they only offer fish flavors so it is not a food I wanted to stick with. We just started Tux on insulin 2 units twice a day at 0900 and 2100 on the 13th. My vet is hopeful that he will be able to go into remission. I also have two other non-diabetic cats. That about wraps it up for us!
 
Hi - is your name Julie? My name is Shelly, and my cat's name is Jersey. Welcome to FDMB, although I'm truly sorry that you have to be here. It looks like you have definitely been reading up - your spreadsheet looks great, and you have the pertinent information in your signature. Great job with all of that!

I went through a lot of different foods when we first started out. Jersey, unfortunately, is a very picky eater, and we had to settle with Fancy Feast. She ate Wellness Core unenthusiastically, although my other cats liked it. Have you tried any of that yet? It is grain-free and doesn't contain any byproducts (from what I recall).

I would really encourage you to start posting on the Tight Regulation forum each day. If you'll post Tuxedo's numbers each day, the users there will be able to help you with dosing, etc. We're one of the success stories of FDMB, and I really believe it's because of them. (Jersey just went into remission a little over a month ago.)

Are there questions any questions you have for us?
Shelly
 
Yes, my name is Julie! I was just going to look into Wellness Core. Tux gets itchy and breaks out when he has grain. He can be a bit of a picky eater as well as one of my other cats. My kitten just wants to eat what the other two are eating. I just started reading up on the Insulin boards to try and see which protocol it is that I follow. I have been looking at other SS to see what others may look like. So far, I don't have any questions. Most that pop up I find the answers to on here so I'm thankful for finding this place!
 
Why, oh why, do they have to be so picky?! :lol: You might also check into Tiki Cat if you haven't already. There are a couple of varieties (Koolina Luau & Puka Puka Chicken, I believe) that my "civilian" cats really liked. Jersey, of course, didn't like them. ohmygod_smile They're actually shredded chicken. I don't know if Tuxedo prefers pate or shredded, but it's another option I thought I would mention.

Even if you decide you want to use the "slower" approach of the Relaxed Lantus forum, you can still post on the "Tight Regulation" board. (Don't let the name scare you away.) The Tight Regulation board has a lot more traffic on it, so you'll probably have more eyes on the numbers if you post there. It's whatever you're most comfortable with!

EDITED TO ADD: I just looked at your spreadsheet again. I would recommend, if you can, getting a test or two in the PM cycle. A lot of cats like to go lower at night, so grabbing a test at night might be very revealing. Also, I take back my suggestion to try Tiki Cat - I see it noted on your spreadsheet! :-D
 
Have you ever thought about making you own cat food? Vet Dr. Lisa Pierson has a good nutritionally balanced recipe over at http://www.catinfo.org/?link=makingcatfood

The advantages are it would not have any byproducts in it, nice and fresh, good quality. Sounds like just what you may be looking for.

The main disadvantage is in the time it takes to make your own raw food and the cleanup. Still, if you have the freezer space, you could whip up larger batches and freeze them.
 
After filling out the spreadsheet today I also noticed the lack of PM checks and saw his numbers are a bit lower each morning so I plan on checking him tonight as well. He's been a real trooper about all the pokes. All three ate the Tiki Cat no problem but I could tell it's not their favorite so I can see them getting bored eventually. I've considered making my own food a few times and I saw it again on Dr. Lisa's page earlier today so I think I will look into it a bit more. Thank you both for the tips and suggestions!
 
Welcome Julie. Your cat is beautiful, from his picture. To get the spreadsheet to show up differently, go to your signature, then click on the URL box, then use your cursor to back up to the URL and put an equal sign (=),
then paste in your link. Then cursor forward to the space between the brackets, ] [, and type the name you want for the spreadsheet. Then Preview to make sure it looks good.

I hope that makes sense.
 
Hi Julie!

In regards to food options, if you liked BFF, except that it's primarily fish, you might look at Cats in the Kitchen brand also made by Weruva (who makes BFF). We feed Chicken Frickazee which is 2%, and there is also Fowl Ball (chicken and turkey) which is 4%. It's also a bit more economical than the Tiki cat as well.

Welcome to FDMB. This is truly an amazing place. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top