Turtle's Numbers: new dose, new meter, UTI? Halp!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery

Member
OK, so I finally increased Turtle from .5 to .8 with last night's shot. This is what happened through the night:

PMPS 339 .8u
+3 335
+5 449/413
+8 392
+12 AMPS 407

So here's the deal: I started using a new meter at +5. I bought a Relion Micro to replace my Freestyle Lite to save money on strips, and I used up the last of my Freestyle strips at +3. Turtle has hardly ever been in the 400's - only once in fact when she was at the Vet.

I expected a little variation between meters, but not this much. My control solution is still on order from Relion, but I tested myself and I thought it was kinda high (111-- usually when I test myself with the Freestyle I'm around 70-80).

I was worried about rebound from the increased dosage, but I never saw where she went low to rebound from. Still, out of paranoia I decreased her dose back to .5 for her AM shot.

Another complication: Turtle had her normal morning pee, and I measured her ketones, which were negative. A few minutes later she returned to the box and produced a very tiny amount of pee. A few minutes after that, she returned to the box again and produced another teeny tiny clump of pee. Turtle *never* does this. She also seems to be licking her nether regions a bit more than usual and didn't seem to want to settle down and relax and play after her breakfast. So now I"m thinking UTI, which could be driving the BG's up.

I may order a batch of Freestyle strips so I can compare - though this defeats the whole purpose of buying the Relion, to save money! :lol:

She's got an appt with the Vet after work to look into the UTI possibility.

Any insights? All else normal: drinking, eating, pooing. alert. Should I venture back to the .8 dose? Something tells me this is not because of too much insulin.
confused_cat
Thanks folks!!
Avery
 
I have heard that freestyle lite runs lower so I am sure that is what happened
I know someone recently changed and said that freestyle ran about 100 points lower than the new one....

Keep us possted on what the vets says as it does sound like a uti
 
Well, you have a lot of variables at once - a potential UTI which can raise numbers, a meter that can run high and an inverse curve. As soon as you get the meter and UTI settled, let's look at it again?
 
Not to much to report, since they had to do a urine culture on her which takes a few days to come back from the lab. Vet did give her clavamox in the meantime. She's not big on throwing antibiotics at this kind of stuff unless she knows for sure they're needed, but she said the clavamox is gentle and is good to put her on until the results come back and she knows exactly what we're dealing with. So Turtle is enduring twice daily squirts of Clavamox into her mouth, which she's actually tolerating pretty well. She had some diarrhea yesterday, I'm pretty sure that's from the Clavamox.

The big news is that I officially have a new vet who is great. She apparently specializes in diabetes, enjoys the challenge. She's had about a dozen diabetic cats in the last year, 4 of whom went into remission. She prefers Lantus, but is willing to work with me on the PZI. If she's not satisfied with the results she'd like to switch her over to Lantus, which would be fine with me. I really trust this one....she really seems to know what she's doing and is willing to work with me.

She's jazzed about home-testing. Said she prefers the Alpha-Trak but will work with whatever meter I have already. Also very concerned about a low-carb diet-- she whipped out a copy of Janet & Binky's list, and I was happy to be able to tell her I already had that covered! Never once suggested the Rx diet! Hah!

She did scold me a little for messing around with her dose without veterinary supervision. I did have an opportunity to vent about my last Vet experience-- basically made me feel like I was wasting her time -- and she totally understands why folks sometimes give up on their vets & seek advice elsewhere. She said she wants us to work together on this.

She said Turtle can stay at the .8u BID, but she was very firm about Turtle staying on that dose for 10 days, no matter what. For this reason she said don't obsess too much about testing right now, but do a full curve in 10 days, e-mail her the numbers, and we'll take it from there. She dislikes doing glucose curves in the office. Yay!

So we'll see what happens...I'll be back with an update!
 
Hurrah for a new vet that supports home testing and wet lo carb! We like to see a dose for 5 days max and a change if nothing is happening, but understand you need a vet that will support you. I would definitely always test before each shot to make sure it is safe to give the dose.
 
Yes, now that Turtle's had a day to recover from the stress of 2 trips to Vet (couldn't get urine sample the first time so I had to take her back) and is into her antibiotic dose I'm definitely going back to pre-shot testing at least. I think I'm suffering from testing withdrawal -- though I'm sure Turtle isn't! :lol:
 
So glad you have a supportive vet! That means so much!

Just wanted to throw a couple things out there. Almost a year ago we started out with an AlphaTrak meter, but pretty quickly switched to a Freestyle light. We found it ran about 30 points lower than our AlphaTrak, but liked it so much better since it took a smaller blood sample, less errors, and the cost of the strips was so much more affordable. Best price we find on strips is usually American Diabetes Wholesale online.

Our diabetic cat Asher was a UTI prone kitty too. What has helped us (touch wood) is mixing water with his wet food. Our vet suggested it, and I know some others here on FDMB do it also. Keeps things flowing smoothly :)

My Mom also has a UTI prone kitty, and he has to go on a stronger ab when he gets an infection. The normal ones just don’t fully take the UTI away. It does cause diarrhea, but the vet gives him something to stop that. It came in a syringe to put in the kitty’s mouth and squeeze a small amount in. If you continue with those problems, let me know and I can find out what they used. Or I am sure you vet will know something too.
 
Thank you!! I just got good news....Turtle does *not* have a UTI. Culture came back negative. Her symptoms have ceased, too. Yay! So Dr. said I can stop with the antibiotics, and I'm really happy about this because Turtle's back legs are kind of weak and I've been having to sponge the diarrhea off her legs, poor li'l thing.

The Vet said they use a Freestyle Light at their practice as well as the Alpha Trak, and I also have the Freestyle Lite, so she said to continue montoring her with that for now. I'm glad she's willing to work with me on the meter I already have! I've been getting the FL strips from Amazon for about $30 for a box of 50. I'll check out DWS and see if I can get them cheaper there.

Thanks!
Avery
 
As far as adding water to her food, I started doing that awhile back as advised here...I think it helps with both peeing and pooing! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top