Avery
Member Since 2011
OK, so I finally increased Turtle from .5 to .8 with last night's shot. This is what happened through the night:
PMPS 339 .8u
+3 335
+5 449/413
+8 392
+12 AMPS 407
So here's the deal: I started using a new meter at +5. I bought a Relion Micro to replace my Freestyle Lite to save money on strips, and I used up the last of my Freestyle strips at +3. Turtle has hardly ever been in the 400's - only once in fact when she was at the Vet.
I expected a little variation between meters, but not this much. My control solution is still on order from Relion, but I tested myself and I thought it was kinda high (111-- usually when I test myself with the Freestyle I'm around 70-80).
I was worried about rebound from the increased dosage, but I never saw where she went low to rebound from. Still, out of paranoia I decreased her dose back to .5 for her AM shot.
Another complication: Turtle had her normal morning pee, and I measured her ketones, which were negative. A few minutes later she returned to the box and produced a very tiny amount of pee. A few minutes after that, she returned to the box again and produced another teeny tiny clump of pee. Turtle *never* does this. She also seems to be licking her nether regions a bit more than usual and didn't seem to want to settle down and relax and play after her breakfast. So now I"m thinking UTI, which could be driving the BG's up.
I may order a batch of Freestyle strips so I can compare - though this defeats the whole purpose of buying the Relion, to save money! :lol:
She's got an appt with the Vet after work to look into the UTI possibility.
Any insights? All else normal: drinking, eating, pooing. alert. Should I venture back to the .8 dose? Something tells me this is not because of too much insulin.
confused_cat
Thanks folks!!
Avery
PMPS 339 .8u
+3 335
+5 449/413
+8 392
+12 AMPS 407
So here's the deal: I started using a new meter at +5. I bought a Relion Micro to replace my Freestyle Lite to save money on strips, and I used up the last of my Freestyle strips at +3. Turtle has hardly ever been in the 400's - only once in fact when she was at the Vet.
I expected a little variation between meters, but not this much. My control solution is still on order from Relion, but I tested myself and I thought it was kinda high (111-- usually when I test myself with the Freestyle I'm around 70-80).
I was worried about rebound from the increased dosage, but I never saw where she went low to rebound from. Still, out of paranoia I decreased her dose back to .5 for her AM shot.
Another complication: Turtle had her normal morning pee, and I measured her ketones, which were negative. A few minutes later she returned to the box and produced a very tiny amount of pee. A few minutes after that, she returned to the box again and produced another teeny tiny clump of pee. Turtle *never* does this. She also seems to be licking her nether regions a bit more than usual and didn't seem to want to settle down and relax and play after her breakfast. So now I"m thinking UTI, which could be driving the BG's up.
I may order a batch of Freestyle strips so I can compare - though this defeats the whole purpose of buying the Relion, to save money! :lol:
She's got an appt with the Vet after work to look into the UTI possibility.
Any insights? All else normal: drinking, eating, pooing. alert. Should I venture back to the .8 dose? Something tells me this is not because of too much insulin.
confused_cat
Thanks folks!!
Avery