Turtle PMPS 146! What happened?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery

Member Since 2011
Well, I was going to up her dose to .75 this evening, and I find her PMPS is 146. I didn't believe it so I tested again, 152.

She's been on the .5 for two days now, shouldn't it have had an immediate effect? I upped to the .5 because I was going to be home at the weekend to monitor her in case the insulin started having an effect. It is scary that it waited until today to drop when I wasn't here. Who knows how low she went today?

No shot, gave her dinner. Husband said she ate lunch about 1:00 a little while after her automatic feeder opened. He was in and out of the house today and didn't see her much, but when he did see her she didn't seem to be acting sick or anything.

I'll measure her again in a bit. It is usual for an increased dose to take a few days to have an effect?
 
Yes, it can take a while. This is why you should wait 3-5 days between dose changes unless something drastic happens.
 
My understanding is it can take from several days to a month and a half to settle into a consistent response with ProZinc. Tomorrow could wind up sky high. Your mileage may vary, .... etc, etc.

Good thing you're able to home test!
 
She went up to 208 an hour after she ate (with no shot), and to 283 two hours after that.

Should I go ahead & give her her normal .5 in the morning?
 
if she's over 200 at pre-shot, I would consider the 0.5, or maybe a skinny 0.5. Are you using U-40 syringes or U-100?
 
With no shot tonight, it should be a pretty good bet you'll see a number in the AM that you can shoot that .5 into.
Today, for whatever reason, the insulin worked "better" or "longer" than normal. Up until today, it didn't look like that dose had been doing too much. Just a "good day" for Turtle. No way to tell for sure how low she went, but it wasn't "too low" I don't think.
Carl
 
She uses the 100 syringes...think I'll stick with the .5 tomorrow. Nice to finally see some action...
Thanks y'all !
Avery
 
...354 this morning at AMPS. Shot .5u. I can test around +5 today before I go to work....showing hubby how to test so he can do her PMPS tonight. Fingers crossed that numbers start evening out but stay low. Probably shouldn't get my hopes up... :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top