Turtle: New insulin, more insulin, NO change!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery

Member Since 2011
OK, so I guess it was not the insulin after all.
Started Turtle on the new vial with a .25 with AM shot yesterday. Started there since I wasn't sure if the old insulin had pooped out.

12/10 AMPS 270 .25U brand new insulin
+4 287
+8 314
PMPS 275

These are the same numbers I've been getting on fat .25 of old stuff. So I knew it wasn't the insulin. Upped dose to .5U for her PM shot.

12/10 PMPS 275 .5U of brand new insulin
+3 320
+5 297
+8 325
12/11 AMPS 292.

Again, nothiing.
She was going into the mid 100's when she was on .25 back in Nov, so why is .25 seeming to have absolutely no effect whatsoever now? Notto mention the .5??

The shots are all going in. I'm shooting her on her side, midway between spine and belly. Rotate sides and sites. Brand new insulin. Food has been the same for weeks (FF Classics w/ 4% carbs).

Edit to Add: By the way, Turtle seems to be feeling fine. The 5 P's are all present. Her urine clumps are a big larger than they were back in Nov. when she was getting lower numbers, but she's not drinking overly much, good appetite. Ketone strip tests have been coming back neg.

Does anyone have any ideas of what to try next?
Thanks!
-Avery
 
Sort of looks like an inverse curve. Interesting that she goes up and then back down (or flat with the 20% variance) the last 4 hours.

Let's see what others think. We have been thinking we may be too conservative with some cat's dosing but I am not sure that applies in Avery's case. Let's get Carl to weigh in.

Meanwhile maybe a second dose of .5 will bring some better numbers today after she settles into the dose.
 
The curves do look upside down.....but I don't think it means too much insulin for sure. I'd stay at .5 for one or two more cycles to see if you see something different.
What troubles me is not knowing for sure that she is "rising" at AMPS and PMPS. Really the only way to know that is if you get a +11 test to check. But you would think that if she wasn't climbing at shot time, you'd see more of a quick drop after the shot, and that isn't happening.
I'd stay with .5 today, and maybe think about a step up tomorrow if you don't see a decent curve today or tonight.

Carl
 
I couldn't get a +11 today but I did get a +10. Here were today's numbers:

AMPS 292 .5u
+3 331
+5 275
+8 298
+10 265
PMPS 294.

I'm just about to shoot....guess I'll do the .5u and get some more numbers tonight. This is so frustrating. How much should I up her by tomorrow morning if the nights numbers are the same? Work tomorrow, so I won't be home to test during the day.

Thanks!
Avery
 
I hesitate to advise an increase when you won't be around to observe....Not only won't you be there, but you also won't be able to tell what kind of results you got from the increase. Just a quick glance makes it look like .4 were the "best days", but they aren't really. Yes, those were the days you saw "blues", but if you look at the drop in BG on those days, it wasn't much. The different colors just make it look that way.

I think .75 would be okay, but you need to be comfortable with that. I'd love to see a dose that would make here drop a hundred points or more when you see those 200s.

Carl
 
Hmmm, what I could do is wait until tomorrow night to increase the dose, then I could observe her during the night. I think that's what I'll do.

Thanks!
Avery
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top