Turtle back on BID but numbers puzzle me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avery

Member
So, I've been slowly reducing Turtle's dose so that I can get a shootable AMPS. This finally happened yesterday with AMPS of 223. I gave her .25u. Worked all day & couldn't test. PMPS was 203, so .25u again.

PMPS 203, food, shot
+2 262
+4 283
+5 food
+7 307
+12 281

As this's morning's AMPS was 281, I'm giving her her .25u.

Do these numbers make any sense? Should I continue the .25 for a bit and see what comes out in the wash? Her body may need time to adjust to the BID.

Thanks!
 
Well that looks like a classic inverse curve to me, which usually indicates too much insulin. But you've been doing sid for a while, right? So, I suspect you're right and it's just that she needs time to adjust. Stick with it for a few days, and see if it settles.any. I wouldn't worry unless the numbers get really wonky. It usually takes Cass 3-4 days for a new dose to be effective.
 
Yep, I was getting an "inverse curve" before with 2u BID, which is why I lowered her dose in the first place. Then she was too low for several days to shoot her AM dose, so I continued to lower the dose. She finally got to a shootable AMPS yesterday, so it's back to BID.

I think I just need to be patient and give her time to settle in to this dose. The numbers aren't too scary, I'm testing for ketones, and at least I don't feel like I have to worry about hypo while I"m at work.

Thanks,
Avery
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top