? Tulip would't eat this am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim Ethier

Member Since 2017
This is a first, I could not get Tulip to eat this am so I did NOT give Insulin and I did not have time to do a BG test. I have a call in to the vet to make sure I am not going to go home and find a permanently sleeping kitty.
 

Attachments

  • 012.jpg
    012.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 60
Unless your cat is critically ill -- like with diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) -- your cat should be fine. Many of us have given a "fur shot" or had to skip an occasional shot.

I would, however, encourage you to get a test each and every time before you give a shot of insulin. From Tulip's spreadsheet, there's no way to know if you are doing a curve every so often or if you are actually getting pre-shot tests and spot checks. Testing before giving a shot is critical in order to make sure it's safe to give insulin. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot numbers so getting a test (or several) during both the AM and PM cycles is important.
 
Hi Sienne & Gabby, Tulip is not DKA, thank you for the info!
Vet called and said I did good not giving shot when Tulip had not eaten.
 
Very cute picture of Tulip. Like Sienne said, it is very important to always get a preshot number before giving insulin and also when they are in lower numbers you will need to test a bit more also. If you can get some mid cycle numbers also, that will be helpful to know how low the insulin is taking her as that is how he know to adjust the dose. Looks like back on March 26 she had a preshot number of 83 and you gave 2 unit of insulin and there were no more test that cycle. Luckily, it wasn't too much insulin for her. I am not criticizing, just want her safe as I am sure you do too.
 
Hi Tanya & Ducia, thank you for your suggestion and the info you provided, I will try that tonight if she will not eat again!
 
Hi Bobbie & Bubba, thank you for your concern, you are correct the goal is to get more numbers. As you can see we have lowered her dose of Insulin she was only on 2 units for 8 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top