Tuesday in Asher-land

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Morning folks: ~O)

Thanks again for all your help last night. The gray fur man always makes it exciting :shock:

Overnight we got numbers since we shot 1.4 into 138. Here are the results, high as usual...
+3 300, +6 291, +8 245
Almost seems like when we shoot a reduced dose at night he jumps high. What’s up with that 300?

This morning we had an amps of 283. Since it was so high we shot 1.8 units this morning.

We’ll keep ya posted.
 
Morning, Donna! Maybe that 300 was his reacting to the lower numbers and the PM insulin had not kicked in yet. Anyhow, the 1.8 seems like a good choice. Paws crossed for a good day.
 
Thanks Judy. Our paws are crossed too :)

Trying to put a photo here. If I figure out how to do this you guys might get sick of me ;)
 

Attachments

  • _MG_8459.jpg
    _MG_8459.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 1,290
Love the picture. Kitties make me laugh at what position they think is comfortable for sleeping. :lol: Paws crossed for some nice numbers on the 1.8u.
 
So end of day, here we are:
amps 283
+6 195
+8 173
+11 136

So on 1.8 today he is a little higher than yesterday but still low at the end of the day.

Here we go again, we’ll try to get the kitties to hold out on food for another hour and see if he starts to come up.

Do we try 1.6 tonight and tomorrow to try to even this out a bit? He was high overnight night on 1.4 but 1.8 today keeps him high into the evening.
 
Yeah for some blues today! Interesting curve with the late nadir on the 1.8u. Will be interesting to see where the PMPS ends up. It's so hard to hold them off on meal time when you get a low PS. I don't have the experience to advise on dose, but 1.6u would be tempting based on last night. Are you ready for another night of testing?
 
I have this feeling we are gonna be higher than last night’s pmps but still under 200. I am guessing the late nadir is too much insulin? But his numbers are still high. So I am a bit confused as to what to do...
It seems with Asher we have to find a place we can hang out and stay at a dose for awhile?
 
This is similar to what happened with Squamee and it drove me crazy---these very late nadirs with numbers too low to shoot. I am not sure that anyone is really clear on what it is. Perhaps too much insulin (tho the nadirs are not that low). And maybe it is worth it to hold a dose a few cycles and study the effect. This is all trial and error, so you state your "hypothesis" Or game plan, and then study and see the results.
 
There are late nadir kitties, but Asher isn't consistent about it. A fat 1.6? It would be nice to find a dose he liked for a little while.....
 
Well, now I am thinkin’ 1.8 again tonight since we just got his pmps and its 233.
What do you guys think?
 
We just decided on 1.8. Hope that is good. We’re tryin hard to keep him on a schedule if at all possible.
 
233 isn't a bad PMPS, especially with the blues you got today. I'll be interested to see the night time numbers tomorrow. Paws crossed for some more nice blues at 1.8u. Seems like there is definitely something to the BAM dose helping to bring the numbers down in general. Yeah!
 
First, love the pic!

Second, I think you made a good choice with the dose. The late nadir thing is so hard to figure out. I wish they made it easier on us.
 
I don't know if this is accurate (so why am I saying it, LOL?), but I picture the late nadir thing like when the insulin is actually at peak (so say +6), their body recognizes it is too strong so resists it, and then once they are past that point their body says "ok, NOW I can use this insulin w/o being in danger" and then you see the better #s late in the cycle, once the "danger zone" is past. I realize this is totally made up in my head, I really don't understand what is *actually* going on, but the mental picture helps me make sense of it in a way that doesn't drive me screaming from the room. Then if you ease off the dose a hair and get a nadir at like +6 of 55 or something, and a more normal curve, it confirms that kind of thinking (for better or worse, LOL).

As for the jump from a shot at 138 to a +3 of 300, PZI is known for its dramatic "poop out", so if you are getting good duration like you are, you can have good #s up til whenever, +13 or so, and then when it's done it's done, and you can see mega-zoom after that. With the lowered dose it will be more dramatic than on a higher dose, and also if you shot later than +12 you'll probably see more drama zoom before the next shot kicks in.

Evaluating the data to some extent depends on when you gave the shots - sorry I am too brain dead to get my mind around the details right now of when you actually shot. But basically if you shot the 1.4 at say +13, you can figure it will have a slightly stronger effect when shooting at a regular +12. Often normal-ish doses shot at +13 or +14 will at best keep the #s flatish. It's hard to get a drop down to a good nadir on a late shot, you can lose overlap pretty fast, and then the insulin has to work harder. Usually on a late shot if you want to hit a good nadir you would raise the dose by maybe 0.2 or so, or if you just want to maintain the #s til the next shot and then get back on schedule, you would shoot your regular dose and settle for a flattish cycle.

So off the top of my head I'm not sure what I'd recommend for your "regular" dose right now. 1.4 definitely looked too low, but then if it was a late shot it might not be so bad on a +12. 1.8 looks like you may be getting more low PSs, but see how tomorrow looks. I would view your current situation as data gathering - try some different things ranging between 1.4 and 1.8 and see what results you get. If PSs creep higher raise a bit, if they creep lower, lower the dose a bit, and of course looking at nadirs too, at least when you get them at more normal times. Late nadirs I would kind-of ignore in terms of the #s themselves, and just ease off the dose a hair and see if that gives you a better U-curve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top