Tucker update, Kiki dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tuckers mom

Very Active Member
Tucker is doing well. Bright eyed, alert and able to jump and stay in his favorite spots. Still a bit tired, but getting stronger every day. (knock wood)

We're to decrease his steroid dose, and during this time I will be watching him closely to be sure he's okay.

Kiki has transitioned well. She's claimed the couch and a chair in the living room as hers. She's also claimed DH as hers. If you can picture this, DH in his recliner with a wooden tv table next to him. On the tv table, Kiki lying there just staring at him. The two of them simply worship each other like this for hours. Well, he may be watching tv also, but we wont tell Kiki that.

Her BGs are confusing, but with more data, hopefully I figure it out.

12/11 arrived in the afternoon, PM PS 447 gave 1.5U levemir

12/12
AMPS: 322 ~1.5U lev
+4 163
+9 148
PMPS: 172 ~0.5U <--- cut dose, nervous she may go low
+3 128


12/13
AMPS: 354 ~1U <--- not sure if rebound or 1/2u just too low. Will get a +6 at lunch time

Her appetite has already started to get better. Saturday she was eating like a horse, Sunday morning the same, last night and this AM she's slowed down.
 
tuckers mom said:
12/13 AMPS: 354 ~1U <--- not sure if rebound or 1/2u just too low. Will get a +6 at lunch time

Great news about Tucker. Keep healing Tucker!!

Glad to hear that Kiki's appetite is settling down. I swore she had a hollow leg.

I am looking forward to the lunchtime number. I suspect that .5U was too low for her. The Lantus she came on was from July, so oldish at more than 4 months), but she was getting 3U am and 2U pm.

I agree with you being cautious. There's just no history (except your history of breaking diabetic cats).

Does Ron need all of the girls to fall in love with him?
 
I'm putting together her spreadsheet now. +6 is 99, I left her extra food since I had to go back to work. I'll get a +10, maybe a +9 depending on when I get home.

Ron got up during the night and says he and Kiki sat in the recliner together, when he came back to bed she put her head on his pillow. She was very happy this morning, again on the table next to him when I saw them. I have cellphone pics of them, trying to upload them to FB but it's not letting me. He does love to have the ladies around :lol:


ETA: Can someone check the link to Kiki's spreadsheet and let me know if it's viewable to everyone? Thanks.
 
I am glad Tucker is doing better. I was wondering because I hadn't seen any news about Tucker for a while. You may want to try 1 unit Levemir BID for a few days. It is always better to be a little on the high side esp. Since Kiki is still fairly new to you. Keep up the good work Tucker definately has a fan club!!! :-)
 
Based on your latest numbers, I'll agree with Jan the dosing... also, can you remind us what food you're feeding her, and if it is wet low-carb - how long has she been eating this diet?

jan ellery said:
You may want to try 1 unit Levemir BID for a few days.
 
I guess I'm more of a chicken than I thought :oops: Since I don't know Kiki well and I heard she had a hypo at the shelter, although I'm sure that was from shooting blind, I didn't up her dose yet.

Tonight if her numbers stay where they are, she will get an increase to 1U. Her spreadsheet is in my signature line.

Presently Kiki is eating Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets and did have some Merrick California Roll last night. Her treats are freeze dried chicken treats. She's only been with us a few days, I know at Venita's her diet would have been low carb only for those couple of days. Her water consumption and litterbox use is less than it was on Sunday. Overall she's improved, crankiness is gone.

Tucker jumped up onto my bed this morning, we have a very high bed, one of those extra thick mattresses, so to jump that high is awesome!!! He continues to improve, less tired than he was however at 18+ yrs old, tired doesn't suprise me. Appetite is okay, fortiflora helps with that. He's very interested in food, he just stops a bit early so we're still supplementing with A/D slurries. Very close to his old self [knock wood]:mrgreen:
 
Yes, Kiki's spreadsheet link works. I believe that Kiki's main diet at the shelter was low-carb Fancy Feast. I am glad to see that she is being less cranky. I didn't blame her for that; I would have been big-time cranky if I went through all that she had gone through. But even though she was cranky, she was still loving. My DH Jim doesn't really get involved with most of the cats that stay here, but he thought that Kiki was a delightful girl. He like cats that openly show him affection, which Kiki did.

I am so glad to hear of Tucker's continued improvement.
 
Excellent reports! I LOVE it!
It's SO sweet that Kiki and DH are BFFs. Wonderful.
And Tucker jumping on the bed??? Holy crap! He's an amazing cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top