Hi! Youre welcome, thanks for the reminder. I try to keep my eye on the reply count. You're absolutely right. I haven't been very good at testing in the pm cycle. I def need to be better at that. This week has been absolute chaos as work. We were so busy yesterday and short staffed. I got home last night and just wanted to go to bed. I will get some extra tests tonight!Hi Tucker! Thanks for the new thread.
Wanted to make sure I replied, so I'll get alerts with new replies.
Any way for you to get a consistent +2 test in the evening (PM) cycle? Or even one a bit later? I'm thinking that Tucker is dropping lower at night, and then bouncing high in the morning.
Life does happen, doesn't? Interfering with the best of intentions.This week has been absolute chaos as work. We were so busy yesterday and short staffed. I got home last night and just wanted to go to bed.
Yes! It does happen! Wow.. You're so nice for helping those around you, plus, all of us on FDMB! You are appreciated! We are ramping up on our busy season now. 4th quarter. Everyone is rushing in because their deductibles are now reached. Which is good for business.. bad on my feet and brain. lolLife does happen, doesn't? Interfering with the best of intentions.
Oh my goodness!Exhausted? Welcome to the club. Pour me into bed at night, after a quick 2 minute shower to wash off the bug spray has been my routine for the last 3-4 weeks.
Is your friend ok? Its good of you to offer your gardening expertise!Taking care of my friends place
She's fine, off sailing for a month, along the coast of Maine. Her husband retired July 1st so they set sail early this year.Is your friend ok? Its good of you to offer your gardening expertise!
Yes, more blues and greens please! I am off today thru Tues. I'll be able to get a lot more tests when I'm not working thank goodness!I see that Tucker is still in the yellows and pinks.
You may need to increase the dose back to 1U again soon.
Working this weekend?
If not, a bit more testing would be greatly appreciated.
Need to see some blues and greens again on Tucker's SS.
Off sailing!! Wow.. that would be nice! I cant wait to have a better vegetable garden! We just need more land and a bit more privacy.She's fine, off sailing for a month, along the coast of Maine. Her husband retired July 1st so they set sail early this year.
Been taking care of her garden for years, while she is off sailing.
We share plants, and she is as good or a better gardener than I am!
Same here!! Normally this time of year we have a lot of thunderstorms. Not so much this year.. Dear 2020, what else are you going to throw us?Of course, it doesn't help that we are in an extended drought here this spring and summer
OH my goodness.. Youre such a great friend/neighbor!t was worse the year she and a friend went to Portugal and we had a heat wave! I was watering 3 gardens then.
Its the internet!! At work it was terrible. The connection was terrible! I heard we are having a lot of solar flares which could indeed mess with the satellite connectivity.p.s. Anyone else having horrible response from the message board?
Yes ma'am!! Thank you!Up to 1U for tonight's dose, 8/22/20 I see per your SS. Good for you on doing that dose increase. Tucker needs "more juice", insulin being the juice.
Wow.. If someone wasn't aware of that variance it could really throw them off. With the 188 yesterday and the 244 retest, that was a 30% change. It just seemed a big variance to me.. but your right, the cost is great! Those color codes on the SS really helps.Yes. the Relion Prime meters have a bit more variance than some meters.
OH MY GOSH!! That's insane!! Just because its specifically for an animal makes it ok the have an increase in price. But... the little paw on the test strip is pretty cute!Alphatrak strips run $1-2 each, so you can test a whole bunch of times with the Relion Prime for the cost of 1 Alphatrak test strip.
Yes, looks like Tucker could use that increase you suggest.lots of reds and yellows this week. @Deb & Wink, Do you think we need to increase to 1.25?
Great! Thank you. I increased him to 1.25 tonight.Yes, looks like Tucker could use that increase you suggest.
You want to get him out of those pinks and yellows.
More blues and greens, to give his pancreas time to heal.
I hope so!Keeping our paws crossed, that Tucker does better after a few cycles on the increased insulin dose.
Yeah Tucker!I went over to the 'Tucker Cabinet" last night, he jumped up on the counter and squatted down ready to test. I didn't even have to get the bribe out! LOL These moments make me proud!
That's so cool! I guess with all the kitties I've had, I never thought to train them to do anything. I just wanted them to be cute and they really understood that concept LMBO.Cats can be trained, to come for those treats (aka "Bribes") and learn to come to their testing spot.
It's called behavior modification or conditional behavior modification.
Condition 1, is the "bribe", condition 2 is the test, then another "bribe" if needed.
Those "bribes" can be food, petting, brushing or something else your cat really likes.
Yes ma'am! I'll increase tonight. I just gave him his shot amps 367 1.25u.I think that Tucker is going to need another dose increase soon. The 1.25U dose doesn't seem to be enough for him.
I hope the increase will help too. I know it takes some time to regulate. I need to wear those patience pants you mentioned once a time ago.. do you think they sell them on Amazon?? LOL !Let's hope the dose increase does Tucker some good.
I'm sure you'll be happy to have 5 days off, to spend as you like. Tucker will be a good boy and let you do some things, right Tucker?
OH NO! I'm in zones 5-6a as well.. I bought these bulbs at Tuesday Morning. I guess I should have read the box. They grow in zones 8-9. Oh well.. The box was only $2. I guess I'll just plant them in the spring when it warms up and hope they grow ok for some summer pretties!Dahlias are only winter hardy in zones 8-11 and since I'm in zone 5 or 6, depending on the harshness of the winter, I don't plant dahlias here.
They threw me off too! This past month has been hard getting him into the greens and blues.Those blacks yesterday are a bit of a surprise. Whatcha up to Tucker??
Just because Tucker got into the green BG ranges, doesn't mean you need to decrease the dose.Ok.. 91 bg last night. That was a surprise! So back down to 1.5u this am.
Amps 415 1.5u
No hard and fast rules no doubtThere are no hard and fast rules. The general dosing protocol guidelines are a good place to start, but then you tailor them for your cat and your situation.
Current meaning the 1.5u?you should/could keep the current dose going if possible.
LOL Sure is!!Yeah, I know, confusing as all get out.
So true!! Anything in terms of healthcare and medicine dosing is a custom deal. I definitely can play more with the dosing on my 3 day weekends. I should have another long weekend coming up beginning of November. (Trying to use up the rest of my Paid time off before the end of the year)then you tailor them for your cat and your situation
I have a branch of cousins in the USA. Their father played professional hockey many, many moons ago and one of my cousins literally just moved back to Canada around the corner from us after 50+ years cuz they love it so much too!@Shelley & Jess I just saw where you lived! I LOVE Canada! My cousin used to live in Toronto. He played for the Blue Jays a while back.
His name is John Olerud. He retired back in 2005-ish? I think he retired after he played for the Yankees.. IDK.. Time is so weird LOL! I spent every summer at/around a baseball diamond as well! Wow.. your mom is amazing!! How cool that she is still so active!I betcha my mom would know your Toronto Blue Jays cousin. She's a SERIOUS fan and lover of all things baseball....I grew up on a ball diamond, I can never remember a time when she didn't coach, play, convene or umpire. She's 77 this fall and up until covid still played in senior softball leagues - outdoor summer league and indoor winter league.
The stitch I used for tuckers afghan is call the Kitty Cat crochet stitch, if you look close the stitches look like kittiesafghan is done different than most of the granny square ones she's seen

Oh my goodness - one of moms all time favorites!His name is John Olerud
Sher too, but still lots of other stuff that I get to sewI mostly enjoy working the project in a solid block,
She crochets all the pieces and I get to put 'em together.Did you sister make him?

She's on Ravelry (FB for knitters and crocheters for lack of a better term) and a few other FB groups.Are you or your sister part of any groups?
LOL - Sher picked up on the different stitch right away!The stitch I used for tuckers afghan is call the Kitty Cat crochet stitch, i
446 this morning. Le sigh.. I had intended to get more tests in last night after his shot. My hip is bothering me a lot.. the other night I probably had a couple hours of sleep due to the pain, then yesterday at work I ran my tush off. I got home and crashed around 730pm.Bouncing and now back to a more "normal" BG level for Tucker.
Really!! Johnny is such a sweet man! His daughter Jordan passed way in March of this year, she was 18 and had special needs. They have an organization dedicated to her!Oh my goodness - one of moms all time favorites!
Yay for you!! LOL! Lately I've been getting a lot of orders for Amigurumi things, like the baby Yoda, Pokemon and things like that. Sewing on the heads and arms feet etc. I recently just made a baby outfit for a customer, Harry potter sorting hat with the gryffindor scarf and diaper cover. Its been slow this year with orders but its finally picking up again!Sher too, but still lots of other stuff that I get to sew
HA!!! OF course she did! I thought that afghan would be super appropriate for his kitty couchLOL - Sher picked up on the different stitch right away!

I dont have FB anymore.. I'll have to see if I can find her goodies on Ravelry!She's on Ravelry (FB for knitters and crocheters for lack of a better term) and a few other FB groups.
Hurting bad enough for a steroid shot? Although, those shots hurt almost as much as the hip bursitis I had a few years ago. Now I do hip stretching and strengthening exercises and keep flexible by gardening so much. Makes the sciatica better too.My hip is bothering me a lot.. the other night I probably had a couple hours of sleep due to the pain, then yesterday at work I ran my tush off.
Geez, Its getting there! I think I might have a torn Labrum. The symptoms I'm having match the diagnosis.. I need to see my Dr to get an order for a MRI. Luckily I can have that done for free where I work.Hurting bad enough for a steroid shot? Although, those shots hurt almost as much as the hip bursitis I had a few years ago. Now I do hip stretching and strengthening exercises and keep flexible by gardening so much. Makes the sciatica better too.
I think its time for a new thread! This is #50