Tucker dosing thread 4

(Just a reminded posted here from my previous thread) Thanks Deb!!
"Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the +2, pull out your hypo kit and plan on staying up to test.
Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the nadir, that is to be expected. But you don't want the drop to be much more than 50% between pre-shot and nadir with Prozinc.
Cats tend to bounce high if the drop is 50% or more from pre-shot to nadir.
So you steer those mid-cycles with food, to slow down the steep drop and stop the bounces from being too high."
 
Alright. Dropping to 1.25 u tonight due to 76 bg.. another dance with the dosage.
I feed multiple small meals throughout the day. I'm trying to hold him more steady with his drops and bounces..
 
Last edited:
Tucker earned that 0.25U dose reduction with that 76.

While you don't want the drop to be much more than 50%, sometimes you can't stop the drop.
Feeding a snack at +2, when the Prozinc insulin usually onsets (starts to work), can help to slow down that drop. Try 1 teaspoon at +2, but do a test first if you are around to do that.
 
Tucker earned that 0.25U dose reduction with that 76.

While you don't want the drop to be much more than 50%, sometimes you can't stop the drop.
Feeding a snack at +2, when the Prozinc insulin usually onsets (starts to work), can help to slow down that drop. Try 1 teaspoon at +2, but do a test first if you are around to do that.
That 76 made me so happy ! I'm off today and tomorrow, so, I'll be able to get a +2 and other
mid cycle tests in.

AMPS 236 1.25 shot. +2 144 fed tsp FF.

I didn't want to high jack Mauers thread. DANG! You were busy yesterday!! You have a lot of bulbs to plant! I would love to be able to see your garden sometime. I just have a small area in my front yard with a large white hydrangea and some daffodils or lilies, I'm not sure LOL

Edited to add +2
 
Last edited:
Baby Tucker!! Look how little.. SO adowable!
20150728_101820.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20150728_101820.jpg
    20150728_101820.jpg
    76.4 KB · Views: 291
Yes, another reduction, and looks like you are handling the lows just fine.

I'm off to garden some more.

I don't have any pictures of my cats when they were little. I adopted them all from the shelter when they were already adults.

There is a gardening thread over in the Community forum here. Lots of pictures of my gardens are in that thread.
 
Yes, another reduction, and looks like you are handling the lows just fine.
All the information you've given me has been so helpful! Thank you!
I don't have any pictures of my cats when they were little. I adopted them all from the shelter when they were already adults.
Tucker was only 2 months when I got him, my other cats Katie was 6 yrs, rescue, Friady I found him starving/stray outside and took him in. I think he was dumped.
I'll have to check out those pictures!
 
Tuckers appetite is down again. He was feeling pretty good this morning. He brought his wand toy to me this morning.. this kitty can jump! Lol. Hes been very clingy today.. wanting to be held a lot, which isnt abnormal, hes has always been a very affectionate cat. However. He wont let me put him down. Idk.. its almost test and shoot time. We'll see.
 
484 pmps.. okay? I didn't expect that high. 1.0U shot, I'm not sure if half the shot was a fur shot or not. (I'm used to people flinching from me while starting an IV or drawing blood) As soon as he jumped I stopped injecting. Then I injected the remaining juice. . His appetite is back, thank goodness. Hopefully tomorrow morning will set us on a good trend!
 
I see that Tucker earned another dose reduction this AM cycle, 8/10/20.

Glad to hear his appetite is back.
Is it hot where you are? I know that I don't like to eat when the temps are too high.
 
Looks like Chewy cancelled my order for Cerenia.. probably because I didn't have the approval from my vet, LOL! He'll probably want to see Tucker first before he prescribes the meds. I hate putting Tucker trough that stress of the car ride (even though only 5 min) and vet visit. AMPS 323 BG.
 
Yes! I have the nausea medication. Vet said it might be a low sugar incident.. I told him I checked his blood mid cycle, 55, fed, the retested 30 min later. He said. Ahh! I remember you! You're the only person that actually checks their pets blood sugar. He said, maybe reduce the dose.. lol
 
Pmps, 431. 1 u shot.
Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.
Please think about reducing the dose to 0.75U for next cycle.

Yes! I have the nausea medication. Vet said it might be a low sugar incident.. I told him I checked his blood mid cycle, 55, fed, the retested 30 min later. He said. Ahh! I remember you! You're the only person that actually checks their pets blood sugar. He said, maybe reduce the dose.. lol
Wouldn't it be nice if more vets encouraged home testing, per the AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines. Then you and Tucker would not be so infamous at your vet!
 
Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.
Please think about reducing the dose to 0.75U for next cycle.
You're right! I was really contemplating about lowering.. that 91 threw me off a little. Wasnt below 90.. but close enough ack! I just did his morning ritual. AMPS 237. I didn't see your post prior to this. I gave 1.0u. Dang. I'm working today so I cant be here to test. Hes probably going to really drop mid cycle.
Wouldn't it be nice if more vets encouraged home testing, per the AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines. Then you and Tucker would not be so infamous at your vet!
Yes it would. When I got there I saw the wall to wall shelves of prescription dry foods. Makes me sad that they dont understand about how much nutrition can change the body.

I'm so excited that we are seeing a lot more greens on his SS!! :joyful::D:woot:
 
Going with o.5 u tomorrow. Tucker is in a fun mood tonight! Brought me his wand toy, acting annoying to katie.. anyways. Hes feeling good.
 
Last edited:
I messed up twice! This morning I should have seen the amps and reduced the dose, then the 91 +5 from yesterday.. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh:

After more than 6 decades of life, I'm still striving for "perfection", the definite of which changes from day to day, hour to hour.
My point is, that we can't not always be perfect and do exactly the right thing all the time. We do the best we can.
You are doing the best you can for Tucker. Please, never forget that.

Beating your head against a wall only gives you a bad headache. You don't want to do that, as you need to take care of YOU first Jami. Tucker and Katie need you feeling good about yourself, not beating yourself up. So, go forward from here and let's see how Tucker does with no insulin tonight, 8/12/20.

A bounce is likely. But ride it out. You absolutely made the right call to skip the shot of insulin for this evening. See, you used your own judgement there!!!!

I'll bet he dropped really low today! Ugh. I had s hard time concentrating at work
Hindsight is great, isn't it! Wish I had paid more attention to the news in January and February like my friends did. I would have stocked up on some things, instead of scrambling to get t.p. and risking exposure to covid. "Risking my life for t.p. and not being sure the store would even have it" is how I think of that time in March and April. Scary.
 
After more than 6 decades of life, I'm still striving for "perfection", the definite of which changes from day to day, hour to hour.
My point is, that we can't not always be perfect and do exactly the right thing all the time. We do the best we can.
You are doing the best you can for Tucker. Please, never forget that.
Oh Deb.. Thank you, I needed to hear that.
A bounce is likely. But ride it out. You absolutely made the right call to skip the shot of insulin for this evening. See, you used your own judgement there!!!!
AMPS 302. Not that bad of a bounce! 0.5u shot. I have the guidelines taped on my cabinet for a little cheat sheet. When Tucker had that 91 +5 the other day.. since it wasn't below 90 I didn't reduce the dose. The place I work at is so text book! I swear they ruined me. *madface LOL
Hindsight is great, isn't it! Wish I had paid more attention to the news in January and February like my friends did. I would have stocked up on some things, instead of scrambling to get t.p. and risking exposure to covid. "Risking my life for t.p. and not being sure the store would even have it" is how I think of that time in March and April. Scary.
Oh my gosh.. the T.P shortage of 2020! Not even online could you buy t.p! I am now a proud owner of over 200 rolls of toilet paper :woot: If the shortage happens again I'll send you a box. Patients at work were stealing our TP.. I guess desperate times calls for desperate measures. It WAS scary! We were still taking patients daily, just screening and taking temperatures at the front door. Luckily our volumes dropped as people were paying attention to the stay at home order.
 
Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.
Please think about reducing the dose to 0.75U for next cycle.
This was your response from Tuesday.
Since I didn't drop to 0.75 on 8/11, should have I dropped to 0.75 today 8/13, OR 0.5 because he had a low pmps test of 103 with a probable drop below 90 mid cycle.
 
Last edited:
I see you dropped the dose to 0.5U. No worries. He needed to be reduced to no more than 0.75U and that dose held for several cycles, til he stopped bouncing or showed that the lower dose was not working for him. Let's see how Tucker dude dose on this 0.5U dose.

I am now a proud owner of over 200 rolls of toilet paper :woot: If the shortage happens again I'll send you a box. Patients at work were stealing our TP.
I'm stocked up now, thank you. I think I can officially be classified as a "hoarder". T.P., paper towels, facial tissues, other things that were so hard to come by. Still having great difficulty getting any disinfecting wipes, but I do DIY alcohol wipes instead. Resealable sandwich bag, folded paper towels, squirt some isopropyl 70% alcohol in the baggied with the paper towels and close. Swish around to make sure the paper towels are all wet. Keep some in my bag and make sure to put some in a pocket when I'm going out.
 
I see you dropped the dose to 0.5U. No worries. He needed to be reduced to no more than 0.75U and that dose held for several cycles, til he stopped bouncing or showed that the lower dose was not working for him. Let's see how Tucker dude dose on this 0.5U dose.
Ok, good. Thank you. Weekend coming up so I'll be able to test mid cycles again. YAY!! He's being so good about testing now! He's patient and lets me do it without much resistance. Sigh.. I'm so proud of my little buddy! LOL
I'm stocked up now, thank you. I think I can officially be classified as a "hoarder". T.P., paper towels, facial tissues, other things that were so hard to come by. Still having great difficulty getting any disinfecting wipes, but I do DIY alcohol wipes instead. Resealable sandwich bag, folded paper towels, squirt some isopropyl 70% alcohol in the baggied with the paper towels and close. Swish around to make sure the paper towels are all wet. Keep some in my bag and make sure to put some in a pocket when I'm going out.
Wow!! Thats a good diy tip! I'll be sure to use that.
 
Pmps 351 0.5u I I'm really looking forward to this weekend! Let's see how Tuckie dude does on this 0.5u.. he is in the best loving mood ever! My husband had me on speaker phone earlier today. Apparently Tucker went room to room calling for me. Thinking I was home. When I got home, nothing but hugs! Ugh.. Heaven for me!
 
I was unable to get multiple tests today. His +5 was still pretty high. My fault for skipping past the .75u and straight to the .5u. Deb should we increase or wait?
 
I was unable to get multiple tests today. His +5 was still pretty high. My fault for skipping past the .75u and straight to the .5u. Deb should we increase or wait?
I'm for waiting at least a couple more cycles.
But getting some PM cycle tests would be very helpful. More than only the pre-shot test. A consistent "before bed" test could give us a lot of data to work with.
Do you think you could do that?
 
I'm for waiting at least a couple more cycles.
But getting some PM cycle tests would be very helpful. More than only the pre-shot test. A consistent "before bed" test could give us a lot of data to work with.
Do you think you could do that?
Ok, sounds good regarding the wait! Yes I can start doing pm cycles as well.

AMPS 145 retest 134, stalled +1 321 bg 0.5u We'll see how he does throughout the day today.
 
Last edited:
Did I make the right decision with stalling and injecting? Below 150 is a no shoot, but since he rose to 321 in a hour I decided to give him his dose.
 
Whew.. I'm so happy I gave Tuck his shot! He hovered around mid 2 hundies all day. Assuming the same at +2 pmps. I was really wanting to see some greens or blues today. I have one more day off to get some good tests on him. I cant wait to quit my job! A couple more months! Fingers crossed!
 
Did I make the right decision with stalling and injecting? Below 150 is a no shoot, but since he rose to 321 in a hour I decided to give him his dose.
Yes, stalling to see a rising BG number if your cat is below your "threshold" number is always good.
Stalling without feeding of course. Retest in 20 minutes, or lather, rinse and repeat as we say.

You want a good 20% rise in the BG levels if you stall. So you know the rise in BG levels is more than meter variance.
Wouldn't suggest stalling for more than 1 hour, as that throws off your schedule too much and leaves the cat hungry.
 
Tucker was doing so good until I made the mistake of dropping him to 0.5u. I should have dropped to 0.75u. Oh well.. Deb, looking back at this week, do you think we need to have an increase? We'll see how today goes. I'm back to work tomorrow so I wont be able to get those mid cycle tests.
 
Back
Top