Ale told me to ask for Cerenia. My vets office is closed today. I'll call tomorrow to see if I can get the prescription.Hey Tucker, glad to read in your previous thread that you are feeling better today.
Perhaps your mom Jami should ask about some anti-nausea meds just in case.
That 76 made me so happy ! I'm off today and tomorrow, so, I'll be able to get a +2 and otherTucker earned that 0.25U dose reduction with that 76.
While you don't want the drop to be much more than 50%, sometimes you can't stop the drop.
Feeding a snack at +2, when the Prozinc insulin usually onsets (starts to work), can help to slow down that drop. Try 1 teaspoon at +2, but do a test first if you are around to do that.

All the information you've given me has been so helpful! Thank you!Yes, another reduction, and looks like you are handling the lows just fine.
Tucker was only 2 months when I got him, my other cats Katie was 6 yrs, rescue, Friady I found him starving/stray outside and took him in. I think he was dumped.I don't have any pictures of my cats when they were little. I adopted them all from the shelter when they were already adults.
Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.Pmps, 431. 1 u shot.
Wouldn't it be nice if more vets encouraged home testing, per the AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines. Then you and Tucker would not be so infamous at your vet!Yes! I have the nausea medication. Vet said it might be a low sugar incident.. I told him I checked his blood mid cycle, 55, fed, the retested 30 min later. He said. Ahh! I remember you! You're the only person that actually checks their pets blood sugar. He said, maybe reduce the dose.. lol
You're right! I was really contemplating about lowering.. that 91 threw me off a little. Wasnt below 90.. but close enough ack! I just did his morning ritual. AMPS 237. I didn't see your post prior to this. I gave 1.0u. Dang. I'm working today so I cant be here to test. Hes probably going to really drop mid cycle.Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.
Please think about reducing the dose to 0.75U for next cycle.
Yes it would. When I got there I saw the wall to wall shelves of prescription dry foods. Makes me sad that they dont understand about how much nutrition can change the body.Wouldn't it be nice if more vets encouraged home testing, per the AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines. Then you and Tucker would not be so infamous at your vet!











I messed up twice! This morning I should have seen the amps and reduced the dose, then the 91 +5 from yesterday..![]()
Hindsight is great, isn't it! Wish I had paid more attention to the news in January and February like my friends did. I would have stocked up on some things, instead of scrambling to get t.p. and risking exposure to covid. "Risking my life for t.p. and not being sure the store would even have it" is how I think of that time in March and April. Scary.I'll bet he dropped really low today! Ugh. I had s hard time concentrating at work
Oh Deb.. Thank you, I needed to hear that.After more than 6 decades of life, I'm still striving for "perfection", the definite of which changes from day to day, hour to hour.
My point is, that we can't not always be perfect and do exactly the right thing all the time. We do the best we can.
You are doing the best you can for Tucker. Please, never forget that.
AMPS 302. Not that bad of a bounce! 0.5u shot. I have the guidelines taped on my cabinet for a little cheat sheet. When Tucker had that 91 +5 the other day.. since it wasn't below 90 I didn't reduce the dose. The place I work at is so text book! I swear they ruined me. *madface LOLA bounce is likely. But ride it out. You absolutely made the right call to skip the shot of insulin for this evening. See, you used your own judgement there!!!!
Oh my gosh.. the T.P shortage of 2020! Not even online could you buy t.p! I am now a proud owner of over 200 rolls of toilet paperHindsight is great, isn't it! Wish I had paid more attention to the news in January and February like my friends did. I would have stocked up on some things, instead of scrambling to get t.p. and risking exposure to covid. "Risking my life for t.p. and not being sure the store would even have it" is how I think of that time in March and April. Scary.
If the shortage happens again I'll send you a box. Patients at work were stealing our TP.. I guess desperate times calls for desperate measures. It WAS scary! We were still taking patients daily, just screening and taking temperatures at the front door. Luckily our volumes dropped as people were paying attention to the stay at home order.This was your response from Tuesday.Yes, but he got down to 91 at +5, so it's likely he was even lower.
Please think about reducing the dose to 0.75U for next cycle.
Oh! No I didn't! I think.. 1. I was just so excited that he didn't have to get a shot and 2. He jumped up on the test spot and let me test him with no struggle. Like he KNEW his bg was in a good spot.. LOLI'm sorry I missed that yesterday. Did you test twice just to be sure that number was accurate?
I'm stocked up now, thank you. I think I can officially be classified as a "hoarder". T.P., paper towels, facial tissues, other things that were so hard to come by. Still having great difficulty getting any disinfecting wipes, but I do DIY alcohol wipes instead. Resealable sandwich bag, folded paper towels, squirt some isopropyl 70% alcohol in the baggied with the paper towels and close. Swish around to make sure the paper towels are all wet. Keep some in my bag and make sure to put some in a pocket when I'm going out.I am now a proud owner of over 200 rolls of toilet paperIf the shortage happens again I'll send you a box. Patients at work were stealing our TP.
Ok, good. Thank you. Weekend coming up so I'll be able to test mid cycles again. YAY!! He's being so good about testing now! He's patient and lets me do it without much resistance. Sigh.. I'm so proud of my little buddy! LOLI see you dropped the dose to 0.5U. No worries. He needed to be reduced to no more than 0.75U and that dose held for several cycles, til he stopped bouncing or showed that the lower dose was not working for him. Let's see how Tucker dude dose on this 0.5U dose.
Wow!! Thats a good diy tip! I'll be sure to use that.I'm stocked up now, thank you. I think I can officially be classified as a "hoarder". T.P., paper towels, facial tissues, other things that were so hard to come by. Still having great difficulty getting any disinfecting wipes, but I do DIY alcohol wipes instead. Resealable sandwich bag, folded paper towels, squirt some isopropyl 70% alcohol in the baggied with the paper towels and close. Swish around to make sure the paper towels are all wet. Keep some in my bag and make sure to put some in a pocket when I'm going out.
My favorite times!Lucky you!!!
I'm for waiting at least a couple more cycles.I was unable to get multiple tests today. His +5 was still pretty high. My fault for skipping past the .75u and straight to the .5u. Deb should we increase or wait?
Ok, sounds good regarding the wait! Yes I can start doing pm cycles as well.I'm for waiting at least a couple more cycles.
But getting some PM cycle tests would be very helpful. More than only the pre-shot test. A consistent "before bed" test could give us a lot of data to work with.
Do you think you could do that?
Yes, stalling to see a rising BG number if your cat is below your "threshold" number is always good.Did I make the right decision with stalling and injecting? Below 150 is a no shoot, but since he rose to 321 in a hour I decided to give him his dose.