LoveforTucker
Active Member
Previous thread Tucker dosing thread 2
Last edited:
Perfect! Thank you Deb!See if any of this helps you Jami.
You are NOT failing Tuckie. Absolutely, unequivocally, no way, no how are you failing him.I feel like I'm failing Tuckie!
Thank you! I appreciate you!@Deb & Wink is pretty amazing. She got Max into remission. Baby steps, you’re doing great!
Lol! Love them all!How many more analogies would you like ma'am?
I cant believe that ppl put their cats to sleep because of diabetes! Would they do that to their kids or parents! Really angers me! Or do what they did to Wink! Put them in a shelter. Makes me so sad!![]()
Hes acting very well! Jumping ,running, playing, cuddling. Love it!But how are his diabetes symptoms? The 5 P's (peeing, pooping, playing, purring, preening) and appetite are a good assessment tool.
Rebecca, you did an amazing job with Max! I looked over your process with him. Plus all the support you had was indescribable! I haven't had any hypo experiences with Tucker, but I'm ready just in case. However I'm so happy for you, again that max is ofj!
That’s great!!! Keep up the good work!I'm so excited!! +5 122 BG!! YAY! Or.. oh ooh? 2 color drops, but not from the amps Hmm.. never the less. Its exciting to see some blues again.Fed 1/2 can ff. Hoping that he wont bounce too high later this afternoon.
"nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose"
Looks like we'll keep the dose at 1.5u?
(Just a reminded posted here from my previous thread) Thanks Deb!!
"Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the +2, pull out your hypo kit and plan on staying up to test.
Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the nadir, that is to be expected. But you don't want the drop to be much more than 50% between pre-shot and nadir with Prozinc.
Cats tend to bounce high if the drop is 50% or more from pre-shot to nadir.
So you steer those mid-cycles with food, to slow down the steep drop and stop the bounces from being too high."
Thank you!! Bigger thanks to Deb!!That’s great!!! Keep up the good work!
Last night I shot 1.75. Not 1.5 That was a mistype!SS says that Tuckie got 1.75U this AM, 8/2/20.
If it were me, I would have left the dose at 1.75U. Your reply in post #22 says it all. Nadirs were >50 and < 149.
LOLOLOLAwwww shucks ma'am. You're embarrassing me.![]()
OH goodness!! Be safe!Just a heads up for you, in case tropical storm Isaias hits the east coast hard with winds, the power may go out and I won't have any internet either. So a reminder to post on the Feline Health forum if you don't hear from me.
an I also say that this is the most beautiful day we had here in MO! This is the time of year its usually in the 100's.. Its 72 sunny not humid at all. Perfect day!
One suggestion that I've seen other people mention. Put 2 insulin syringes into a mug or cup near your testing area each day. That way, you can check the mug for the number of syringes remaining, to see if you gave the shot.I had a dream last night that I forgot to give Tuck his shot. I woke up at 3 am in a panic, LOL Then, I honestly couldn't remember if I gave him he shot or not!
Great idea!! Thank you! I did see the orange cap from the syringe that I left on the counter. Then I went through this memory rewind and I remembered.. I swear, I have a memory of a banana sometimes!One suggestion that I've seen other people mention. Put 2 insulin syringes into a mug or cup near your testing area each day. That way, you can check the mug for the number of syringes remaining, to see if you gave the shot.
Hindsight is great isn't it?Editing to add.. I should have given a reduced dose last night due to lower than normal preshot levels.
Its definitely a learning tool!Hindsight is great isn't it?![]()
Right!! BUT, those days and nights hopefully will lead into remission.. Its just like having a newborn baby all over again. Le sigh..If we could only have that working crystal ball, we wouldn't have those sleep deprived nights and worrisome days.
When I saw that 500 my eyes felt like THEY bounced out of my head.. LOL But, I was expecting to see highs again. HAHA "Patience pants" So many pants we have to wear at a given moments!Tuckie did earn that dose reduction. But boy is he BOUNCING like he is on a trampoline. Hold steady with the reduced dose. Let the bounce clear. Patience. Patience pants in green, to celebrate those low BG levels, even if Tucker isn't used to them.
Thank you Rebecca! I'm definitely learning some good information!!Love your confidence! Keep up the good work!
BTW.. How are you holding up with hurricane Isias?
Oh my goodness!! That's terrible! Especially with those with small children and the elderly.We had fierce winds, torrential downpours but little actual rain. No power loss here, but there were 225,000 people in Massachusetts alone that lost power, and there are still 31,000 without power for at least several more days.
EEk!! That is scary! Tornados can just drop out of the sky so quickly. During the summer here, we have the sirens go off quite a bit, however, this summer we hardly had any severe weather, which is odd for Missouri. I'll take it though!The scariest part, was our state was under a tornado watch. That simply doesn't happen where I live. So, I spent some time scrambling to set up emergency supplies for myself and my cat in a sheltered spot in my basement, just in case. Very glad when the tornado watch was cancelled early, and could breath a sigh of relief.
Good! I'm glad it didn't wreak havoc on you and your home! Glad you survived!!Day after the storm was some branch cleanup. Still picking up small branches and twigs here and there 2 days post Isiasis, but the driveway is clear.
If the sirens go off here, it's a warning that the nuclear power station 20 minutes away is either having a test, or a nuclear meltdown.we have the sirens go off quite a bit
Holy cow!! A nuclear meltdown!? EEEEK!! I have been watching the Chernobyl series on Netflix. Those poor people had such little knowledge about radiation, and that was in the 80's! Just blows my mind.f the sirens go off here, it's a warning that the nuclear power station 20 minutes away is either having a test, or a nuclear meltdown.
That station is why I have "grab and go bags" already to tote to the car and drive to the evacuation point. Never thought I'd need to haul them down to the basement with me, but I did!
I usually give him tuna. Last night he smelled it, looked at me and hissed. This morning usually he meets me at the bedroom door with a present (usually one of my balls of yarn, a sock, toy etc) then he gives me hugs and kisses. This morning, no present, he sat at the end of the hallway and growled at me.Bribes, be sure to give Tucker bribes for letting you test him. Food treats, petting, pats, playtime, brushing, telling him what a "pill" he is while sweet talking him while you silently curse under your breath. Something he really likes.![]()
He has pink ears, so I can see that vein that runs along the edge. Normally he can bleed pretty good, like this morning. Thank you for the advice though!!!Try 2 double pokes, right next to each other. Flashlight to let you see the "sweet spot"
LOL Those chipmunks!! What little stinkers! I have Sun Gold, Roma, Celebrity and Early Girl. They sure are tasty!! Have a few in my window sill right now finishing up on ripening.Or gardening!Nothing like having your own homegrown tomatoes. Wish there weren't so many chipmunks that eat the tomatoes here before they are even ripe. I gave up on growing cherry tomatoes (Sun Gold, Sweet Million) years ago.
![]()
That was a good read!! Thank you!I like to do mindfulness breathing, to de-stress and calm down. Deep breath, hold, release, clear your mind, deep breath, hold, release, clear your mind, ...........
https://theconversation.com/why-we-...-to-calm-down-127674?utm_source=pocket-newtab
I've read enough to know that this is a concern but can't with confidence offer any suggestions.Tucker wont eat today. Not even tuna..
Hey, we all need to laugh. It helps us to make it through stressful situations and keeps our spirits up.Thank you for the distraction Deb! LOL!
He would just smell the food and turn away from it. All he would eat was temptations treats and half a can of Purina beyond, he threw up the beyond a little later. He vomited off an on throughout the day. He hasn't had pancreatitis, but, That thought popped into my head. He's much better today. Playing, eating and acting like his spunky self again.Is Tucker turning his head away from the food, like he is nauseous?
Has he had pancreatitis before?