Tucker dosing thread 3

@Deb & Wink I have been giving Tucker his injections on the rump area, like above his Ilium. That's where the vet said to do so. It seems as though Tucker is more sensitive "painful" when I inject the scruff of his neck. Will this make a difference with the effect of the insulin?
 
See if any of this helps you Jami.

There are many spots on the body where you can inject the insulin. There is some "anecdotal " stories of insulin being absorbed more slowly in the scruff of the neck.

This info is quoted directly from the thread in the Sticky INDEX: Health Links/FAQs
within the Hometesting Links and Tips - includes numerous links, instructions, pictures, & videos


specifically, Marje and Gracie's Testing and Shooting Tips
Shooting
We all have our own techniques for shooting but just a few thoughts and others may bring some of their ideas in as well.
  • Injection sites:
You can shoot the scruff, side of chest, side of belly, side of flank....wherever your kitty is comfortable and you have the least chance of doing a fur shot.


  • Site Rotation is a good idea too.
It's actually a great idea to rotate sites in order to prevent development of a lipoma or scar tissue. A lipoma is just a thickened area of fatty cells right under the skin. If you shoot in the same place repeatedly and your kitty develops one, they often will go away on their own if you switch to another site. However, if you change injection sites every day (if possible), there is a much decreased chance in developing either a lipoma or scar tissue. Both of these can affect absorption negatively. If your cat prefers scruff shots only, you can shoot one side in the morning and the other side at night; you can also move the scruff site so the first day, you shoot at the inner scruff on one side, the next day, the middle scruff, and the third day, the outer part of the scruff. Or, if kitty is tolerant of any injection sites, you can shoot one side in the mornings and shoot the scruff the first day, the chest the next, the flank the third day. In the evenings, you can shoot the other side of the kitty but in the same order.
  • Absorption Rates
Theoretically, shots absorb slower when given in the scruff area as opposed to the chest, belly, or flank. This does not mean the BG numbers will be different. It just affects the absorption rate....faster or slower. But, ECID and you can keep track of where you shoot and see if the absorption rates vary for your kitty depending on shot site.
 
AMPS 434. I'm guessing he bounced from a lower BG last night while he was having his evening kitty crazies. I really need to have more time off work. Luckily I have another long weekend coming up where I can do more testing during the day and evening.
 
Ugh.. I normally have the auto feeder go off at 2am, I checked it this morning and the food was still in a covered spot, So, Tucker didn't eat last night. That could explain the bounce to 434.
 
Curve day!!!
Unless Tucker throws you a low PMPS, I think it's time to increase the dose.

Not sure if any information in this thread would be useful to you. It's from the Lantus ISG (Insulin Support Group) about using the TR protocol for lantus and working a full time job. You are using the SLGS method. The Prozinc MPM method (protocol) is closer to the Lantus TR (Tight Regulation) protocol.

IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!
You never know when ideas will be useful. So check it out.
 
@Deb & Wink I'm so glad you're here! I feel at a loss today! We increase, decrease, skip.. ugh! I feel like I'm failing Tuckie! I'll increase to 1.75 and I'll check that thread out! Thank you Deb!
 
I'll increase to 1.75 tomorrow and do another curve.. thankfully I'm off on Monday so I can keep checking him.
.you're such a blessing to us Deb! Thank you!
 
I feel like I'm failing Tuckie!
You are NOT failing Tuckie. Absolutely, unequivocally, no way, no how are you failing him.

Do you realize how many people on learning of the feline diabetes diagnosis, put their cat to sleep? YOU DID NOT DO THAT! and I bet you never even considered it. (Sorry for shouting at you a bit.)

It takes time to regulate a cat. Then it takes time to get the BG levels better and better. You are working very hard at that, and helping Tucker immensely. Never forget that, ok? Less than a month from diagnosis to where you are today? "One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind."

Marathon, not a sprint. Long trip sailing the coast, not a day trip out and back in a few hours. Growing an oak tree from an acorn. How many more analogies would you like ma'am?

His BG numbers are a bit wacky.
But how are his diabetes symptoms? The 5 P's (peeing, pooping, playing, purring, preening) and appetite are a good assessment tool.

Jami, give it time. Be kind to yourself and take care of yourself too. We forget to do that, especially if we are the main caregiver for our families.
 
Sigh. Thank you! I needed that! Loving shouts and all that! Lol. Thank you for being my cheerleader! I'll do ANYTHING for him! Baby steps! We will get there!
 
I cant believe that ppl put their cats to sleep because of diabetes! Would they do that to their kids or parents! Really angers me! Or do what they did to Wink! Put them in a shelter. Makes me so sad!:(
 
I cant believe that ppl put their cats to sleep because of diabetes! Would they do that to their kids or parents! Really angers me! Or do what they did to Wink! Put them in a shelter. Makes me so sad!:(

Max is my second sugar kitty. Part of me wants to give people the benefit of the doubt. It is VERY overwhelming when your cat is first diagnosed and I think some people feel so helpless and un-empowered. My vet really made me feel like I could do this, however, the second time around I learned so much more about the disease and learned just how much I could control Max’s BG just by food and insulin dosage (through this site), especially during hypo events. I’ll admit the first time he went near hypo, I was scared and in tears, but it got better with every hypo event.

Now, the people who euth or drop their cat off at the shelter because FD is an inconvenience, shame on them!
 
Rebecca, you did an amazing job with Max! I looked over your process with him. Plus all the support you had was indescribable! I haven't had any hypo experiences with Tucker, but I'm ready just in case. However I'm so happy for you, again that max is ofj!
 
Rebecca, you did an amazing job with Max! I looked over your process with him. Plus all the support you had was indescribable! I haven't had any hypo experiences with Tucker, but I'm ready just in case. However I'm so happy for you, again that max is ofj!

Thank you The support I got was awesome. Lots of smart and compassionate people on this board.
 
I'm so excited!! +5 122 BG!! YAY! Or.. oh ooh? 2 color drops, but not from the amps Hmm.. never the less. Its exciting to see some blues again. :joyful: Fed 1/2 can ff. Hoping that he wont bounce too high later this afternoon.
"nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose"

Looks like we'll keep the dose at 1.5u?

(Just a reminded posted here from my previous thread) Thanks Deb!!
"Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the +2, pull out your hypo kit and plan on staying up to test.
Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the nadir, that is to be expected. But you don't want the drop to be much more than 50% between pre-shot and nadir with Prozinc.
Cats tend to bounce high if the drop is 50% or more from pre-shot to nadir.
So you steer those mid-cycles with food, to slow down the steep drop and stop the bounces from being too high."
 
Last edited:
I'm so excited!! +5 122 BG!! YAY! Or.. oh ooh? 2 color drops, but not from the amps Hmm.. never the less. Its exciting to see some blues again. :joyful: Fed 1/2 can ff. Hoping that he wont bounce too high later this afternoon.
"nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose"

Looks like we'll keep the dose at 1.5u?

(Just a reminded posted here from my previous thread) Thanks Deb!!
"Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the +2, pull out your hypo kit and plan on staying up to test.
Your cat drops 2 color ranges between pre-shot and the nadir, that is to be expected. But you don't want the drop to be much more than 50% between pre-shot and nadir with Prozinc.
Cats tend to bounce high if the drop is 50% or more from pre-shot to nadir.
So you steer those mid-cycles with food, to slow down the steep drop and stop the bounces from being too high."
That’s great!!! Keep up the good work!
 
Awwww shucks ma'am. You're embarrassing me.:oops:

SS says that Tuckie got 1.75U this AM, 8/2/20.
If it were me, I would have left the dose at 1.75U. Your reply in post #22 says it all. Nadirs were >50 and < 149.

Just a heads up for you, in case tropical storm Isaias hits the east coast hard with winds, the power may go out and I won't have any internet either. So a reminder to post on the Feline Health forum if you don't hear from me.
 
SS says that Tuckie got 1.75U this AM, 8/2/20.
If it were me, I would have left the dose at 1.75U. Your reply in post #22 says it all. Nadirs were >50 and < 149.
Last night I shot 1.75. Not 1.5 That was a mistype! :facepalm:
Awwww shucks ma'am. You're embarrassing me.:oops:
LOLOLOL :)
Just a heads up for you, in case tropical storm Isaias hits the east coast hard with winds, the power may go out and I won't have any internet either. So a reminder to post on the Feline Health forum if you don't hear from me.
OH goodness!! Be safe! :nailbiting:
 
nadir +5 151. I had a dream last night that I forgot to give Tuck his shot. I woke up at 3 am in a panic, LOL Then, I honestly couldn't remember if I gave him he shot or not! Ok, off subject.. Can I also say that this is the most beautiful day we had here in MO! This is the time of year its usually in the 100's.. Its 72 sunny not humid at all. Perfect day!
 
an I also say that this is the most beautiful day we had here in MO! This is the time of year its usually in the 100's.. Its 72 sunny not humid at all. Perfect day!

Perfect weather days are to be treasured.
I had a dream last night that I forgot to give Tuck his shot. I woke up at 3 am in a panic, LOL Then, I honestly couldn't remember if I gave him he shot or not!
One suggestion that I've seen other people mention. Put 2 insulin syringes into a mug or cup near your testing area each day. That way, you can check the mug for the number of syringes remaining, to see if you gave the shot.
 
One suggestion that I've seen other people mention. Put 2 insulin syringes into a mug or cup near your testing area each day. That way, you can check the mug for the number of syringes remaining, to see if you gave the shot.
Great idea!! Thank you! I did see the orange cap from the syringe that I left on the counter. Then I went through this memory rewind and I remembered.. I swear, I have a memory of a banana sometimes!

APMS 509 He must have dipped low last night! With the high amps lately, I'm going to have to set my alarm to do another test during the night.
 
+3 pmps 77 bg fed 1 tbs ff
20 min later 74 BG fed few licks of FF gravy. I was afraid he would dip lower and I wouldnt catch it because I would have fallen back to sleep.
+5 PMPS (130 am) 411
 
Last edited:
:coffee::coffee::coffee: Yawn! 0.25 dose reduction this morning due to BGs dropping to 74 last night. Woke back up last night around 130 am, normally his +5 day time nadir drops low. So I retested 411 BG.. HUH?
Tucker this morning doing his usual "kitty crazy" routine. Sprinting up and down the hallway, hiding below a step and behind a door so he can JUMP and scare me. As I'm rubbing my eyes yawning and drinking coffee..
Editing to add.. I should have given a reduced dose last night due to lower than normal preshot levels.. :(
 
Last edited:
Editing to add.. I should have given a reduced dose last night due to lower than normal preshot levels.
Hindsight is great isn't it? ;)

If we could only have that working crystal ball, we wouldn't have those sleep deprived nights and worrisome days.

Tuckie did earn that dose reduction. But boy is he BOUNCING like he is on a trampoline. Hold steady with the reduced dose. Let the bounce clear. Patience. Patience pants in green, to celebrate those low BG levels, even if Tucker isn't used to them.

Green Patience pants.png
The faster the drop, the higher the bounce.
 

Attachments

  • Green Patience pants.png
    Green Patience pants.png
    30.3 KB · Views: 251
Hindsight is great isn't it? ;)
Its definitely a learning tool!
If we could only have that working crystal ball, we wouldn't have those sleep deprived nights and worrisome days.
Right!! BUT, those days and nights hopefully will lead into remission.. Its just like having a newborn baby all over again. Le sigh..
Tuckie did earn that dose reduction. But boy is he BOUNCING like he is on a trampoline. Hold steady with the reduced dose. Let the bounce clear. Patience. Patience pants in green, to celebrate those low BG levels, even if Tucker isn't used to them.
When I saw that 500 my eyes felt like THEY bounced out of my head.. LOL But, I was expecting to see highs again. HAHA "Patience pants" So many pants we have to wear at a given moments!
Alright! Holding steady. Just 2 more days until I'm off of work for 4 days.
BTW.. How are you holding up with hurricane Isias?
 
BTW.. How are you holding up with hurricane Isias?

We had fierce winds, torrential downpours but little actual rain. No power loss here, but there were 225,000 people in Massachusetts alone that lost power, and there are still 31,000 without power for at least several more days.

The scariest part, was our state was under a tornado watch. That simply doesn't happen where I live. So, I spent some time scrambling to set up emergency supplies for myself and my cat in a sheltered spot in my basement, just in case. Very glad when the tornado watch was cancelled early, and could breath a sigh of relief.

Day after the storm was some branch cleanup. Still picking up small branches and twigs here and there 2 days post Isiasis, but the driveway is clear.
 
We had fierce winds, torrential downpours but little actual rain. No power loss here, but there were 225,000 people in Massachusetts alone that lost power, and there are still 31,000 without power for at least several more days.
Oh my goodness!! That's terrible! Especially with those with small children and the elderly.:nailbiting:
The scariest part, was our state was under a tornado watch. That simply doesn't happen where I live. So, I spent some time scrambling to set up emergency supplies for myself and my cat in a sheltered spot in my basement, just in case. Very glad when the tornado watch was cancelled early, and could breath a sigh of relief.
EEk!! That is scary! Tornados can just drop out of the sky so quickly. During the summer here, we have the sirens go off quite a bit, however, this summer we hardly had any severe weather, which is odd for Missouri. I'll take it though! :)
Day after the storm was some branch cleanup. Still picking up small branches and twigs here and there 2 days post Isiasis, but the driveway is clear.
Good! I'm glad it didn't wreak havoc on you and your home! Glad you survived!! :joyful:

AMPS 455 BG 1.5 shot,
Yesterday was so incredibly busy at work. I had a late walk in which caused me to stay 20 min late. I got home. Tested Tucker and gave a shot, watered my tomatoes, and fell asleep.. *Sad face, I didn't get a +2 PM shot. He probably dropped again due to the high this morning. ITS FRIDAY!! 4 day weekend! Good time to get some extra tests in! :)
 
I went through 5 glucose strips trying to test tucker tonight. FIVE! I got the error.. E13 not enough blood! He was So pissed off at me! His ears wouldn't bleed. I felt the needle go all the way though his ear one time. Made me cringe. I couldn't get any blood! He tried to bite me so many times. I finally got a sample 366 yay.. All that stress for a crap number. Sorry.. Poor Tucker Hes getting stressed every night, I'm trying to stay calm and sing to him while I test... He wont let me pick him up now. He growls at me. I know I"m trying to do good for him.. But, this is really emotionally draining! Just venting! I know.. Its what we need to do. DEEP BREATH! Perhaps I just need some encouragement Tell me something nice :arghh: anyone!
 
Last edited:
we have the sirens go off quite a bit
If the sirens go off here, it's a warning that the nuclear power station 20 minutes away is either having a test, or a nuclear meltdown.
That station is why I have "grab and go bags" already to tote to the car and drive to the evacuation point. Never thought I'd need to haul them down to the basement with me, but I did!

Bribes, be sure to give Tucker bribes for letting you test him. Food treats, petting, pats, playtime, brushing, telling him what a "pill" he is while sweet talking him while you silently curse under your breath. Something he really likes.:cat:

Try 2 double pokes, right next to each other. Flashlight to let you see the "sweet spot". Warming the ear with a rice sock or pill bottle filled with warm water.

I like to do mindfulness breathing, to de-stress and calm down. Deep breath, hold, release, clear your mind, deep breath, hold, release, clear your mind, ...........
https://theconversation.com/why-we-...-to-calm-down-127674?utm_source=pocket-newtab

Or gardening!:D Nothing like having your own homegrown tomatoes. Wish there weren't so many chipmunks that eat the tomatoes here before they are even ripe. I gave up on growing cherry tomatoes (Sun Gold, Sweet Million) years ago. :(

What tomato varieties are you growing?
 
f the sirens go off here, it's a warning that the nuclear power station 20 minutes away is either having a test, or a nuclear meltdown.
That station is why I have "grab and go bags" already to tote to the car and drive to the evacuation point. Never thought I'd need to haul them down to the basement with me, but I did!
Holy cow!! A nuclear meltdown!? EEEEK!! I have been watching the Chernobyl series on Netflix. Those poor people had such little knowledge about radiation, and that was in the 80's! Just blows my mind.
Bribes, be sure to give Tucker bribes for letting you test him. Food treats, petting, pats, playtime, brushing, telling him what a "pill" he is while sweet talking him while you silently curse under your breath. Something he really likes.:cat:
I usually give him tuna. Last night he smelled it, looked at me and hissed. This morning usually he meets me at the bedroom door with a present (usually one of my balls of yarn, a sock, toy etc) then he gives me hugs and kisses. This morning, no present, he sat at the end of the hallway and growled at me. :arghh: He also had no appetite this morning either. I was able to test, 467, but he wouldn't eat. He had his grumpy pants on. Perhaps he doesn't feel good.
Try 2 double pokes, right next to each other. Flashlight to let you see the "sweet spot"
He has pink ears, so I can see that vein that runs along the edge. Normally he can bleed pretty good, like this morning. Thank you for the advice though!!!
Or gardening!:D Nothing like having your own homegrown tomatoes. Wish there weren't so many chipmunks that eat the tomatoes here before they are even ripe. I gave up on growing cherry tomatoes (Sun Gold, Sweet Million) years ago. :(
LOL Those chipmunks!! What little stinkers! I have Sun Gold, Roma, Celebrity and Early Girl. They sure are tasty!! Have a few in my window sill right now finishing up on ripening.

Thank you for the distraction Deb! LOL!
 
Tucker wont eat today. Not even tuna..
I've read enough to know that this is a concern but can't with confidence offer any suggestions.

Does he seem interested in food but turning away or is he just not interested at all?

I wouldn't let it go too long without eating, maybe post in Main Health if you can't get something in to him soon.
 
Well.. today wasn't a good day for Tucker. He didn't have an appetite, tested high all day, vomited a few times. I pray every night that I can get him into remission! I love this guy so much! It breaks my heart that hes sick..
 
Is Tucker turning his head away from the food, like he is nauseous?
Has he had pancreatitis before?
He would just smell the food and turn away from it. All he would eat was temptations treats and half a can of Purina beyond, he threw up the beyond a little later. He vomited off an on throughout the day. He hasn't had pancreatitis, but, That thought popped into my head. He's much better today. Playing, eating and acting like his spunky self again.
 
Back
Top