Hmm.. seems like he did better on the higher dosage..
YW Thanks for telling me about a new thread! That one was getting pretty long!Thanks for starting the new thread, and linking your old one in at the top.
Did the test strips come yet?
Why did you go from 1.75 all the way down to 1? I would have tried 1.5 I think.I was thinking about increasing to 1.25, then doing another curve next Saturday??
Sounds like a plan.I was thinking about increasing to 1.25, then doing another curve next Saturday??
Aww.. Janet, You recommended this to me on my other thread..This is a reply from you from my other post "you are new without much data ... SKIP THE DOSE this morning. If it were my cat I would reset the dose to 1 unit starting tonight. 1 is the recommended starting dose... I think your vet started you at much to high a dose. If after a few days we see 1 isn't enough, then we will recommend 1.25, then 1.5... It might be a little higher tonight with the skip, but it's MUCH SAFER then shooting a low number like that. Better too high then too low."Why did you go from 1.75 all the way down to 1? I would have tried 1.5 I think.
Yes try 1.25.
I actually increased his dose tonight at 1.25.. I accidentally put down 1.0u.. (I edited that).Sounds like a plan.
Flat yellows can sometimes signal that the bounce is about to break. But doesn't look to me like that is what is going on this time. Mentioning it, as it is something to know for future reference. Looks like Tucker bounced up again at PMPS 7/19/20. Cats can go from one bounce, right into the next one. I think that is what is going on with Tucker.
p.s. You put a picture of Tucker on the SS! How cool is that?
Gotcha. Totally forgot about that. Yes. Go to 1.25. You were getting weird numbers which is why we started over.Aww.. Janet, You recommended this to me on my other thread..This is a reply from you from my other post "you are new without much data ... SKIP THE DOSE this morning. If it were my cat I would reset the dose to 1 unit starting tonight. 1 is the recommended starting dose... I think your vet started you at much to high a dose. If after a few days we see 1 isn't enough, then we will recommend 1.25, then 1.5... It might be a little higher tonight with the skip, but it's MUCH SAFER then shooting a low number like that. Better too high then too low."
I switched to 1.. To see how he would take it. After the curve today. I feel like I need to go back. Look at the reply on the JamiandTuckershow Maybe I misunderstood..
Oh! I forgot to put it down last night. Added this morning.Do try to get at least 1 more test in the PM cycle.
Excellent! Thank you! Just looking at my SS.. I only did 1 +2, and that was on a day I couldnt get a PS. DOH!! I'll make sure I get them routinely.. I wont be able to until Friday now! Working today -Thurs, off Friday this week.With Prozinc, if you see a 40%, 50% or greater drop, between the pre-shot and that +2, that's a serious heads up warning.
No kidding!!It's a balancing act.
HAHA!! I figured! You respond to so many different ppl on here! Plus with my new thread.. Yes.. he was really throwing me wild cards. Had that huge vet stress bounce day, then recovering from that took a minute!Gotcha. Totally forgot about that. Yes. Go to 1.25. You were getting weird numbers which is why we started over.
I wish I was going to be home today. I traded someone a day off grr... I have neosporin! Thanks! Good tip!Crossing fingers we see some blue!
Of his ears are sore you can use a tiny bit of neosporin ointment with pain relief.
that was a facepalm moment.HAHA!! I figured! You respond to so many different ppl on here! Plus with my new thread.. Yes.. he was really throwing me wild cards. Had that huge vet stress bounce day, then recovering from that took a minute!
I wish I was going to be home today. I traded someone a day off grr... I have neosporin! Thanks! Good tip!
Oh no!! Poor kitty! She does have a lot of issues. I was looking at your SSthat was a facepalm moment.
I was distracted the last two days with my own cat issue which thankfully I think is resolved now. My cat didnt eat for a day and was throwing up all over. She really gave me a scare because she has a lot of medical issues that are hard to balance. She's feeling better now.
She started eating normally again yesterday afternoon. She's got acromegaly which is a tumor in the pituitary gland that causes the diabetes and makes her a high dose cat. At her most she was getting 12.5 u twice a day. Some acro cats need 20 or even 50 units twice a day, so I guess we are lucky. Lately she's only needed 6-6.5. On top of that she had hyperthyroidism, kidney failure, arthritis (acromegaly also causes bone growth making her elbows arthritic and bend outward), and a heart murmur. Despite it all she's happy and still the alpha leader of the house. This is my most recent picture of her checking out the new kitchen mat.Oh no!! Poor kitty! She does have a lot of issues. I was looking at your SSIs she better now? I wonder what was causing it?
I have a tendency to read something, then take it in a complete different direction. *eyes roll* I re-read that post probably 10 times before I asked, LOL
Super cuteView attachment 54872My typical night! LOVES!!
Look at you so organized with lables facing out and everythingTuckers cabinet all organized and ready. This is his testing area. If I do his testing near the food, he's more willing to let me test
The labeled 'MC' side if for hypo emergencies.. aaand for the neighborhood cat "Orange Cat"
View attachment 54873
That is seriously impressive!Tuckers cabinet all organized and ready
That's what boredom will do to ya! I have one can on the right that doesn't quite belong..Look at you so organized with lables facing out and everything
Thank you! Sure! Is there wine involved?? HAHA!!!That is seriously impressive!
Can you come to my house and organize my cabinets too please???![]()
I'm quite sure that could be arranged!Is there wine involved??

I'll call today to see if that could be feasible. It seems as though they just want to check BG levels. I'm going to call. When I told the vet last time I was testing him. It seems as though he only prefers the alphatrak meter.If the vet check is only to check the BG levels, or improvement in symptoms, you could certainly skip an in person vet visit. You are certainly doing some BG tests at home. Would a phone call or email with the vet work as well? Is there something else going on with Tucker, that necessitates a stressful vet visit?
It looks like we have a rabies vaccine mandate. BUT, Tucker never goes outside. We have bob cats and bald eagles.Which vaccinations does Tucker need, and does your state mandate those? Could Tucker receive a waiver, because he is diabetic? Is Tucker an indoor cat only, and could some of those vaccinations be skipped for now? For instance, I only do the 3 year rabies vaccine with my indoor only cat. No other vaccinations for her. Not in years. Of course, there are no other outside pets, no dogs that go in and out and could bring something inside to infect my cat.
That would snatch him up. Ready for 1.5 tomorrow?Soaring high today in the 300s.
Yes! I was thinking that too. So happy you responded! Love!Ready for 1.5 tomorrow?
Will do!! Thank you! 341 BG AMPS 1.5u shootWith those high BG levels, Tucker does need more insulin.
Agree with Janet that the dose should be increased to 1.5U on Saturday, 7/25/20. AM cycle if you are able to.
Not likely. Tuna is pure protein, so no carbs to raise BG levels.For a testing treat. I've been giving tuna. Could that raise bg??
Yeah.. Silly question on my part. When I started giving him that treat, I started seeing the reds on the SS again.Not likely. Tuna is pure protein, so no carbs to raise BG levels.
HA.. Not surprised! I was using my phone while posting that.p.s. Tag didn't work quite right. There are spaces in my User Id. Like this @Deb & Wink See the spaces on either side of the & sign?
EW!! Its so hot here too! Blech.. I still have a lot of green tomatoes, but my sun gold tomatoes ripened pretty fast. Natures candy! YUMMERS!!p.p.s On early. Too hot to garden here.
There are no silly questions. Except for the ones you don't ask.Yeah.. Silly question on my part. When I started giving him that treat, I started seeing the reds on the SS again.
I think I can faintly see some white numbers within the yellow in the box. Yup, I zoomed up to 150% and the number is there. Simply in white text instead of the expected black, so it doesn't show very well at all.Tuckers SS for his AMPS wont show the number on his SS.. just a yellow box.