Tucker Dosing Thread 10

So what is Tucker up to today?
Well, I see that he's back down into the yellow range for the pre-shot today, 12/9/20.
Much better than the pinks he got yesterday.

p.s. Thanks for renaming this newer thread. For a few moments there yesterday, I thought I was seeing double. Got kind of confused, which is real easy to do these days.
 
So what is Tucker up to today?
So far, running up and down the hallway, wanting to play catch with his mouse and being a holy terror to Katie, hehe..

Thanks for renaming this newer thread
HAHAA!! YW! It was early, my brain wasn't firing on all pistons yet when I created that thread. Sorry for confusing you! :rolleyes:

I'm trying to fix the SS to the 2021 however I think I have the old version. I PMd Marge for some help in updating. And this "on the new tab, select “Rename”, and type in 2020." Wouldn't I want to rename the new SS to 2021? Am I missing something here? Confusion overload, of course it doesn't take much :oops::D
 
Tucker needs a dose reduction again. 2U is too much, since you got those green BG's at pre-shot 12/11/20.
Don't worry about a bounce in the AM tomorrow. That is sure to happen with the skipped shot.
Try a reduction back to 1.75U for now.

I'm trying to fix the SS to the 2021 however I think I have the old version. I PMd Marge for some help in updating. And this "on the new tab, select “Rename”, and type in 2020." Wouldn't I want to rename the new SS to 2021? Am I missing something here?
Marje may have simply copied the 2021 SS tab thread from last year, and forgot to change all the dates.

So far, running up and down the hallway, wanting to play catch with his mouse and being a holy terror to Katie, hehe.
I have these fleece refillable catnip toys from Petlinks for my cat Dancer. She loves those things, and leaves them everywhere in the house, except thankfully, rarely leaves them between my bed and the bathroom. Good Girl Dancer! I do have to watch where ever I place my feet, because these fleece mice are on the steps, the rugs, in the kitchen, left by the door to my office, and most places in between. She's a hoot when she plays with them, because she meows as she is playing, and carries those toys all the way downstairs to drop by my office door. I'm forever picking them up, and taking them back upstairs, just so she can have fun with the fleece mice, and I can enjoy her antics!
 
Tucker needs a dose reduction again. 2U is too much, since you got those green BG's at pre-shot 12/11/20.
Don't worry about a bounce in the AM tomorrow. That is sure to happen with the skipped shot.
Try a reduction back to 1.75U for now.
He actually gave me a green preshot!! I was very surprised! Fingers crossed we start getting more of those! I actually gave a 1.75F. I can reduce him back down to a 1.75 for his evening shot. I'll get some good tests today.
Marje may have simply copied the 2021 SS tab thread from last year, and forgot to change all the dates.
Oh ok.. I get so 'literal' when I read directions. I thought maybe the 2020 tab would rename itself when the world clock changed to 2021 HAHA!!! :facepalm: I just rolled my eyes at myself when I read that out loud. Marje is so great! I PM'd her and she fixed everything for me. Updated the SS and made the 2021 tab.:joyful:



I have these fleece refillable catnip toys from Petlinks for my cat Dancer. She loves those things, and leaves them everywhere in the house, except thankfully, rarely leaves them between my bed and the bathroom. Good Girl Dancer! I do have to watch where ever I place my feet, because these fleece mice are on the steps, the rugs, in the kitchen, left by the door to my office, and most places in between. She's a hoot when she plays with them, because she meows as she is playing, and carries those toys all the way downstairs to drop by my office door. I'm forever picking them up, and taking them back upstairs, just so she can have fun with the fleece mice, and I can enjoy her antics!
That is so fun!! How cute!! Aww.. Dancer! I love watching them play, it quite hilarious! Tucker has his own Christmas tree, that I made out of a tomato cage and garland, he fetches his mice and hides them in the tree.
 
He actually gave me a green preshot!! I was very surprised! Fingers crossed we start getting more of those!
Fingers crossed here!!! :D
Oh ok.. I get so 'literal' when I read directions. I thought maybe the 2020 tab would rename itself when the world clock changed to 2021 HAHA!!! :facepalm: I just rolled my eyes at myself when I read that out loud.
LOL :p
That is so fun!! How cute!! Aww.. Dancer! I love watching them play, it quite hilarious! Tucker has his own Christmas tree, that I made out of a tomato cage and garland, he fetches his mice and hides them in the tree.
Jess does the same thing as Dancer, always know when I'm going to get a present when the crazy meowing starts! That's so cool about Tucker and his Christmas tree - would love to see a picture. :)
 
Yes, I did see that green pre-shot for PMPS last night. 12/11/20. It's why I said you should reduce the dose again. Expect Tucker to be extra bouncy for a while, because of those low greens and the skipped shot. (I probably would have stalled for up to an hour, if I knew I could stay up and test more. But nights are tough to stay awake.)

Jami, glad that Marje was able to fix your SS for you, and get the 2021 tab setup correctly. Don't know what we would do without all her assistance.

Jess does the same thing as Dancer, always know when I'm going to get a present when the crazy meowing starts! That's so cool about Tucker and his Christmas tree - would love to see a picture.
We do love to see pictures.
p.s. Dancer RARELY meows, except when she is playing with one of her toys.
 
Fingers crossed here!!! :D

LOL :p

Jess does the same thing as Dancer, always know when I'm going to get a present when the crazy meowing starts! That's so cool about Tucker and his Christmas tree - would love to see a picture. :)
Tucker's kitty toy Christmas tree. He had a toy tucked underneath.. it's hard to see. On the left of the picture there's a string to where his toy is attached to, you can almost see his face in the tree. The couch I made him is on the right.
 

Attachments

  • 20201213_162902.jpg
    20201213_162902.jpg
    75.1 KB · Views: 244
Last edited:
Yes, I did see that green pre-shot for PMPS last night. 12/11/20. It's why I said you should reduce the dose again.
I know! I just wanted to brag about it a little more, LOL!!
Expect Tucker to be extra bouncy for a while
Bouncy all day today!!
I probably would have stalled for up to an hour,
I thought about that later on.. I'll do this next time.
Jami, glad that Marje was able to fix your SS for you, and get the 2021 tab setup correctly. Don't know what we would do without all her assistance.
She's so great! I really appreciate YOU and everyone on here!! Seriously. I'm so happy I found this place!
 
Tucker's kitty toy Christmas tree. He had a toy tucked underneath.. it's hard to see. On the left of the picture there's a string to where his toy is attached to, you can almost see his face in the tree. The couch I made him is on the right.
Love, love, love it! Played "Where's Tucker" when I got on my desktop this morning, so I could enlarge the picture and try and find him. Spotted the couch right away! :)
 
Love, love, love it! Played "Where's Tucker" when I got on my desktop this morning, so I could enlarge the picture and try and find him. Spotted the couch right away! :)
HAHAA!!! How funny!! :bighug::):bighug::) Every morning for me is "Where's Tucker" He's always hiding to scare me! Such a little stinker!!
Google had an outage this morning. So google sheets, google mail and other apps were not working.
Yeah. Havent been able to update all day today!
PMPS 253 1.75
 
Tucker just doesn't seem to like 1.75u, 1.75fu, or 2.0u. 1.75u 1.75f isn't enough, 2.0u is too much. What if I gave Tucker 2.0u in the am, and 1.75 in the pm to balance it all out? IDK.. This cat!
 
Or what if you tried using calipers to measure the dose?
Syringes are notorious for not having the lines on the syringe barrel in the same place.
Dosing with Calipers

If you aren't already using U100 syringes for dosing the Prozinc, you could try that.
U40 dose times 2.5 is the amount to draw up in your U100 insulin syringe.
Can't tell from your SS, if you are using the U100 syringes. If you are, then a note at the very top, where it says "Current Insulin: Prozinc" could have that information added after those words.

Cats can often be higher in the AM, because they dropped lower at night when they are more active, and then they bounce. No way to tell for sure, since you did not catch that low with a BG test. But it's what I think is happening.

I also think the bounce up to red on 12/21/20 was a bounce from that low blue earlier in the AM cycle. Look back at 12/22 PM cycle when he started in the blues, and imagine how much lower Tucker might have been later in the cycle. It's kind of what I imagine, what I try to picture in my mind, trying to "see" those lows that were likely after those low blues. Looking at the waves of action, and trying to mentally "fill in the blanks".

Personally, I'd be surprised if Tucker wasn't in the pink or red range at pre-shot this PM.

p.s. If you could change the color coding for that BG of 46 you got today at +6 from "tree green" to "neon green", it would stand out better.

p.p.s. Happy Holidays to you and yours.:)
 
I could try using the calipers. I just got another shipment of the u40 syringes which I'm currently using. I can switch to u100 and try the calipers. I try to match colors on the SS however, it only tells me dark green1 2 or 3 LOL Its crazy how just a unit can change everything for him!
Merry Christmas! Happy holidays! All the love!!
 
Tucker is still here and fine! This month has been crazy so far. Things are starting to slow down a bit thank goodness. I'm having some health issues as well, over the last week or so.

Tucker has been at 1.75F for a couple weeks. Due to circumstances I haven't been able to get a lot of good testing though out the days on my days off, but, I'm sure that I'll be able to get those tests in again this coming weekend.

I'm starting to see shortages on Fancy Feast again. I've had many subscribe and save orders from Amazon cancel. The grocery stores are bare too. I'll check Chewy to see if they are having luck keeping this in stock.
 
I'm starting to see shortages on Fancy Feast again. I've had many subscribe and save orders from Amazon cancel. The grocery stores are bare too. I'll check Chewy to see if they are having luck keeping this in stock.

You might try Target, too. I just picked up our cats' favorite pate at $0.59 per can. Per can price at Chewy is $0.64 when purchased in a case of 24.
 
Walmart carries Fancy Feast too.
Jami, next time you are updating your SS, please take that 2021 tab and drag it over to the left hand side please. The left most tab is the one that opens when we click on the SS link in your signature.

Much appreciated.
 
Eek.. PMPS 91.. Stalling for 20 min.
Walmart carries Fancy Feast too.
Jami, next time you are updating your SS, please take that 2021 tab and drag it over to the left hand side please. The left most tab is the one that opens when we click on the SS link in your signature.

Much appreciated.
I dont have a Walmart that close to me.. well.. I take that back. There's one about 20 min away!
Done, fixed the SS! Thanks!
 
@Deb & Wink I thought that I could handle Tuckers dosing.. but I cant. I've been so busy with my full time job and my part time crochet job. I feel like I cant do this without your help! My SS looks pretty pathetic! I'm failing Tucker. I'm so mad at myself for not caring for him like I should!! Please help!
I'm back to my 9 hour shifts tomorrow but I'm off Friday through monday.. should give me a good time to test more
 
Take a deep breath Jami. Take another one. Shake it off. Deep breath. Hang in there hon!:bighug:

No ma'am you are NOT failing Tucker. You have a full, full life with your full time job, your part time job, plus all the other responsibilities of a normal life that we all have. Like laundry, cooking, grocery shopping, etc. Goodness knows, life has not been normal for the last year. The pandemic is like adding a whole other part time job on top of all our other responsibilities. At least that is how it feels to me, and I'm retired!:rolleyes:

We're not superhuman you know. Even though we try to be at times. In my 6+ decades of life, I still haven't reached a state of "perfection" and I never expect to. We do the best we can Jami. That is all you can expect of yourself. Be kind to yourself Jami.

I can certainly understand why you skipped the shot on 1/23/21! That is lower than you've ever been at pre-shot. Lowest that Tucker has been all year this new year 2021. Lower than Tucker was at pre-shot all last year 2020. And I bet you had to run off to work, toot sweet.

You made the right choice when you skipped, but yes, that skip did lead to the highs for a few cycles. "Better too high for a cycle, than too low for one."

Think about other options of when you can test. Is it possible to test an hour or 2 earlier, around +10 and/or +11? Do you have the time to test when you get home from work or right before you leave? Possibilities Jami. Doesn't have to be every cycle, every day. But try for some random tests in the cycle, WHERE possible. If not possible during the week, than try for tests on the weekend.

If that pre-shot of 98 on 1/23/21 wasn't a bad test strip, and it looks like you tested twice, so I'm thinking it was a good test, than Tucker earned a dose reduction. But the skipped dose kind of threw off his BG levels, so I don't think you should reduce the dose just yet.

p.s. Hope all is well with you and yours.
 
THANK YOU!! Youre an excellent cheerleader!! I need to hear that!! :bighug:

Think about other options of when you can test. Is it possible to test an hour or 2 earlier, around +10 and/or +11? Do you have the time to test when you get home from work or right before you leave? Possibilities Jami. Doesn't have to be every cycle, every day. But try for some random tests in the cycle, WHERE possible. If not possible during the week, than try for tests on the weekend.
Yes! I definitely get some more test in! I'll set the oven alarm to go off as a reminder.
But the skipped dose kind of threw off his BG levels, so I don't think you should reduce the dose just yet.
Ok good! That's what I was thinking too. I'm off Friday through Monday this week so I can get some tests in. I have a lot of orders that I need to get done by next week ( 8 ), so I'll make sure to set the alarm to test.
DH took on a 13 week contract job a few hours away. With him being gone it just adds to the burden.
 
Yes! I definitely get some more test in! I'll set the oven alarm to go off as a reminder.
I set reminders for all sorts of things on my cell phone. I use the calendar or alarm features, to remind me it's time to do things.

DH took on a 13 week contract job a few hours away. With him being gone it just adds to the burden.
But on the other hand, you can be a bit more loose in your cooking routines, and other chores.. I know that I can whip up some really strange meals, since I'm the only one around to eat whatever concoctions I come up with.;)

Wow! 8 crocheting orders is a lot! I hope you are able to do something else, while you are crocheting. Something relaxing, like listen to some good music, or watch a fun tv show or movie.
 
Alight! Back to his hijinks. Tucker gave me a low tonight of 119/ stall125 pmps. Knowing that I'm going to bed in a couple hours I gave a reduced dose of 1.5u, I hope I did the right thing @Deb & Wink? Should I have given the normal dose of 2.0u?? UGH! . I wont be able to test a lot more tonight.. I dont want to put my buddy in danger! +2 PM 303. Wow.. that was a dramatic change!! I have insomnia.. somewhat.. I sleep from 830 pm to 1am, then awake for hours!! If I wake again tonight I'll test again.
 
Reduced dose was the way to go Jami. Remember, you have to take care of yourself first, so you can take care of everyone else around you. Be kind to yourself. Know your limits.

Remember, that +2 includes the food bump from Tucker's evening meal.

I like re-watching movies too. Or reading books again that I've read before. Reading a long science fiction series again right now, 16 books total. By S.M. Stirling.

Tomorrow morning, I get to have "fun" and clear the "nuisance" amount of snow we got tonight.
 
I woke up last night at 10 pm.. Got a +5 259

Reading a long science fiction series again right now, 16 books total. By S.M. Stirling.
Goodness! Whats the series of books called? It astounds me with these authors that can create stories like these! 16 books total!? Wow!
Tomorrow morning, I get to have "fun" and clear the "nuisance" amount of snow we got tonight.
How much snow did you get? We got a little bit of snow the other night. It might snow again today.. :joyful:
 
I woke up last night at 10 pm.. Got a +5 259
So did you do the "drink a big glass of water trick", so you have to get up in the middle of the night?:eek:

The Emberverse series or "Change World". https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Emberverse_series

Got 3" of snow here, a bit wet. My plow guy cleared the driveway early this morning, I got to clear all the steps and pathways and entrances. Sciatica is not happy.;)
 
So did you do the "drink a big glass of water trick", so you have to get up in the middle of the night?
HAHA!! "Middle of the night" MOST ppl are still awake at that time, I guess its my middle of the night! :joyful:
The Emberverse series or "Change World"
Thank you!! I'll have to look that up!! I've never really been a reader.
Sciatica is not happy.
OH no!! I"m sorry! I hate that. :(

Tucker has been giving me quite a few lows in the mornings. Instead of skipping I've been giving mini doses. This morning 110 stall 115, 0.5u.
 
If Tucker was that low at pre-shot, he probably dropped low somewhere during the night.

With SLGS, any number < 90 mg/dL means your cat is due for a dose reduction. Even if that low is at pre-shot time.
So Tucker's dose should be 1.5U, based on that low pre-shot on 1/30/21.
Tucker has been giving me quite a few lows in the mornings. Instead of skipping I've been giving mini doses. This morning 110 stall 115, 0.5u.
Good call Jami! You kept Tucker safer, but doing the reduced shot.
Perfectly fine to do a temporary "mini-dose" or reduced shot or token dose or BCS when Tucker is low at pre-shot like that.
Giving him a 0.5U dose this morning, 2/2/21 looks good to me.
 
Ok.. another low number tonight! 53 bg stall 75 bg 0.2u :nailbiting: Now what! Another reduction back to back?? Should I stall with the reduction for another day or so, or just go with a 1.25u for next shoot? I'll test again tonight, and reduce the dose tomorrow at am shot.
If Tucker was that low at pre-shot, he probably dropped low somewhere during the night.

With SLGS, any number < 90 mg/dL means your cat is due for a dose reduction. Even if that low is at pre-shot time.
So Tucker's dose should be 1.5U, based on that low pre-shot on 1/30/21.
Got it!! Thank you!!
tonight, and reduce the dose tomorrow at am shot.
Giving him a 0.5U dose this morning, 2/2/21 looks good to me.
Whew!! Thank you. I keep thinking of that phrase, "shoot low to stay low" I dont want him to drop too low, but I dont want him to bounce super high for days either.. this is so stressful, LOL Thank you for helping me sis!!
 
I'd recommend reducing the dose again. So down to 1.25U. Tucker will probably be high in the AM, but be patient and wait out the bounce.

If the second reduction so close to the previous one doesn't hold, then you can always increase.
Wait out the bounce though, before you decide to increase again.

p.s. Got your shot yet?
 
I'd recommend reducing the dose again. So down to 1.25U. Tucker will probably be high in the AM, but be patient and wait out the bounce.
Back to 306 bg this am. 1.25u :)
p.s. Got your shot yet?
nope! Not until its FDA approved. Johnson and Johnson is coming out with a one dose shot. I might wait to get that one. I have an autoimmune disorder. Vaccines tend to exacerbate symptoms , I"ve been in remission for 10 years and I dont want to chance anything, I heard this one is really bad with that. Plus this vax isn't very useful with the new strains of Cvd. I''ll wait until its mandatory for me to get it. :arghh: :)
 
Last edited:
How is Tucker feeling?

I see from looking at your SS that he's been running a bit high, BG wise. May be time to think about increasing the dose.
 
Back
Top