Tucker: AMPS 16.9 +6 = 15.3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Darn...I was looking for another member of "the old guys conservative dosing club". But it's good your vet is conservative.

To repeat myself from 2 weeks ago, upon Leo's diagnosis, my vet told me "keep him safe". That advice has always stuck with me.

Looks like the 2.75 dose will not be enough. But you can always run with 0.25 increases every 7th dose. Or if you go with your vet's advice, every week. That may be a slow way to get there though.

Per your other post about chicken, I also provide chicken treats to the kids. It is healthy and they go nuts over it. Every few weeks I buy some chicken tenders (breast) and bake them in a pan. All 3 kittehs act like they have been starved for months. Especially Leo.
 
You're a better man than me, I saw the pack of cooked chicken and thought "beauty!", popped several baggies in the freezer for emergency and a few bags in the fridge.....let Costco do the cooking. It is seriously cold in South Australia today and Tucker is sleeping on a heated bed, snuggled in with his sister Daisy and brother Tucker in a plush lambswool blankey. He is purry and stretched out touching paws with his sister---not much more I could ask for than that at this moment.
 
Please send the cold. We are in summer here now. 95-100 every day in Austin TX.

That sounds real cozy for your kittehs. What, no pics????
 
We are getting the cold you have now but at the weekend. Tucker and friends sound as if they are in the right place.:cat:
I agree with Jeff that 2.75 is not enough insulin
 
IMG_3702.jpg
 
Tucker has been on the 2.75 since the weekend (we called it a 'fat' 2.50 before we were sure we were doing it right). Our vet said she would go to 3 tomorrow, does that sound right to you? I'm a bit tempted to do it tonight because I'll be around all night and can watch him. Thoughts?
 
You have held the dose for 7 cycles so yes you can go up to 3 units next dose as long as you can test.
If the dose isn’t working and you have held it for 6 cycles it is better to go up to try the next dose.
Beautiful photos of the kitties!

I think there was someone here in Oz who had a 1/2 unit marked insulin pen but I can’t remember who. I am sure we dont have 1/4 unit pens.
 
PMPS was 15.4 and we made the decision to increase his Lantus to 3 units. How often should I check his BG now that we did a .25 increase??
 
PMPS was 15.4 and we made the decision to increase his Lantus to 3 units. How often should I check his BG now that we did a .25 increase??
If I were you I would get a +3 and a +6 tonight. If he is dropping more than usual I would test again.
I would monitor each cycle at least once as the depot fills up more with the increase of insulin.
Tomorrow you might like to do a +4 and a +7 . Vary each cycle a bit so you can see how the insulin is affecting different times in the cycle. If at any time you see a big drop, test again an hour later.
You and DH are doing a great job with Tucker.
 
That is a great picture of your fur-kids.

Nice to see 3.0 dosed. We are looking for some blue numbers. If 3.0 doesn't do it after 6 doses, then up to 3.25.
 
Yeah, he's still in the high range. I hope that Tucker gets into the blues pretty soon. Then he will feel a lot better, and we will avoid side effects from glucose toxicity.
 
That's my biggest concern. At the moment we have no other health issues according to his full blood panel etc. He was diagnosed the end of March so he's been living with unregulated diabetes for 3 months--how long do we have until he has other issues? I don't know but I feel like we are on borrowed time for this. He is happily sleeping on the sherpa blanket and purring and he had no trouble with his breakfast, of course. We are only 2 doses in so maybe we'll still see improvement.
 
Yes, he is on borrowed time. But you are now on a plan to make him healthy. The 6 dose plan developed on this FDMB site is to keep kittehs safe as their dosage is increased.

One of the bigger issues with unregulated kittehs is hind-leg neuropathy. It doesn't always happen. Leo had it, and it is so devastating...we almost made "the decision" before he made the slow road to recovery. That was really a nightmare for us, and Leo.

One thing you could do is give Tucker some daily Zobaline B12. It helps the neural sheaths by replenishing the B12 in them. Once Tucker is regulated, this should not be a concern.

I do not think this dosage level will be sufficient. But keep playing it safe with the 6 dose protocol. Many owners target nadirs of 80-120, so Tucker is still a long ways from achieving that. But he's getting there.
 
It can be frustrating but hang in there. He is on the right track, just taking a couple of wrong turns!
Plenty of people would kill for a pink and yellow SS .....especially those stuck in the reds and blacks!;)
It's great he is looking more like his normal self and hanging out with his pals.....that is really good news.
:bighug:
 
Yes, he is on borrowed time. But you are now on a plan to make him healthy. The 6 dose plan developed on this FDMB site is to keep kittehs safe as their dosage is increased.

One of the bigger issues with unregulated kittehs is hind-leg neuropathy. It doesn't always happen. Leo had it, and it is so devastating...we almost made "the decision" before he made the slow road to recovery. That was really a nightmare for us, and Leo.

One thing you could do is give Tucker some daily Zobaline B12. It helps the neural sheaths by replenishing the B12 in them. Once Tucker is regulated, this should not be a concern.

I do not think this dosage level will be sufficient. But keep playing it safe with the 6 dose protocol. Many owners target nadirs of 80-120, so Tucker is still a long ways from achieving that. But he's getting there.
The 6 dose plan is for TR. have you mentioned SLGS? There are two protocols to choose from. TR is the more aggressive approach.
 
+7: 13.6 A step in the right direction. He's been inside all night sharing the cat tower with his siblings. He has not been begging for food tonight but when he got the BG test I gave him a fist full of cooked chicken and he ate every bite.
 
Patty:
There are a couple of conventions we encourage everyone to follow. First, can you link your thread (aka "condo") from the previous day to the current day. I've done this for you:

Tucker's condo from yesterday

Including the date, name of your cat, and the BG values in the subject line also makes it apparent what the information is. If Tucker was running in really low numbers a few days ago, people will rush to help. It's frustrating for you and them if they are posting in an old thread.

Most of the people here are in the US. It will help enormously if you put your test results in the subject line in mg/dL format (i.e., US format) vs "world" format. This is especially important if Tucker's number are running low. People may miss low numbers because they are not manually doing the multiplication.

Would you mind deleting the thread you started for Tucker's PM numbers? We keep one thread per cat per day. This is a big forum with lots of people posting so it helps to have only one open thread per day. It will also help you if you need to backtrack to find information.

Sorry to be a pain with all of the housekeeping details. I know there's a lot to get used to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top