Tucker All Nighter

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Emergency tonight! Tucker started the day with an AMPS of 8(144). PMPS was 80. Tucker is almost always happy and bright eyed. Husband gave him a 2.25 dose but apparently thought he had put on weight so decided to feed him less food tonight...without telling me.

I woke up at midnight feeling like something was wrong, Tucker wasn't on my feet... I almost went back to sleep because Tucker is always good.... Decided to get up and look for him and found him on his side under the bed with his tongue out.
BG was 1.2 (21)!!!
He's had some gravy.low carb. It's going to be a longgg night of testing...but so lucky I went searching for him!
 
Yikes! did you test again to confirm the number? I would say you are in for a long night, great instinct waking up Patty! that must have been so scary, there are a lot of people up in our hemisphere so you should have some good support.

I think it would be a good idea to add the 911 prefix to your title to gain some attention. Please keep your title updated with a list of all of your test values so you can get attention from members straight away :)
 
Yikes! did you test again to confirm the number? I would say you are in for a long night, great instinct waking up Patty! that must have been so scary, there are a lot of people up in our hemisphere so you should have some good support.

I think it would be a good idea to add the 911 prefix to your title to gain some attention. Please keep your title updated with a list of all of your test values so you can get attention from members straight away :)
Ok, I'll edit the title. I did do an immediate retest and it came back 1(18). I started testing every ten minutes and got :
+6. = 1.2(21)
+6. = 1(18)
Gravy plus med carb food
+10 minutes. = 2.8(50)
+10 minutes. = 3.8 (65)
+25 minute. = 4.2(76)
+20 more minutes =3.5(63) so have given more medium carb food.
+30 minutes = 4.2(75.7) (post potato chip)
+30 minutes = 4.2 (75.7)
+30 minutes = 6.3)113.5)
+60 minutes.= 6.8(122.5)
+60 minutes = 7.2(139.7)
Before the sun comes up in Australia, I'm going to get some sleep....Tucker is looking a lot better now. Thank you for your all of your help!!
 
Last edited:
Tucker is now up at 3.8 and Patty is continuing to test until he is staying in safe numbers.
Patty didn’t have time to post but texted me ( we are both in Australia) and I stayed with her until we got him up to 3.8.
I have suggested she skip the morning dose as Tucker was symptomatic... lying in his side, tongue out, cold . And reducing the dose down 0.25 units to 2 units moving forward starting tomorrow night.
 
Tucker is now up at 3.8 and Patty is continuing to test until he is staying in safe numbers.
Patty didn’t have time to post but texted me ( we are both in Australia) and I stayed with her until we got him up to 3.8.
I have suggested she skip the morning dose as Tucker was symptomatic... lying in his side, tongue out, cold . And reducing the dose down 0.25 units to 2 units moving forward starting tomorrow night.
Thanks Bron! Now go to bed, it's even later in Sydney than it is here in Adelaide! Thank you for your quick help. He's sunk backwards a little so I've given some more medium carb food just now. You sleep - I'll keep him safe!
 
Thanks Bron! Now go to bed, it's even later in Sydney than it is here in Adelaide! Thank you for your quick help. He's sunk backwards a little so I've given some more medium carb food just now. You sleep - I'll keep him safe!
I tried going to sleep but I’m too wide awake!
I was thinking about all that blood when you tested one time.... you probably hit a vein.
You’re doing a good job!
Thank goodness you checked on him!
 
I tried going to sleep but I’m too wide awake!
I was thinking about all that blood when you tested one time.... you probably hit a vein.
You’re doing a good job!
Thank goodness you checked on him!
Holy heck - I've NEVER seen that happen before. Blood was just pouring out of him. Added to the drama of the moment... So scary
 
Great job Patty! I just can't believe how you had a feeling that something was wrong, how lucky that you trusted your gut! I'm glad Bron was there immediately to help.

Thanks for updating your title, it will ensure the folks on the board who are less familiar with Tucker will be watching :)

I've hit a vein in Mowgli before too... it was like a horror film! he recovered quickly and so will Tucker, how is he behaving now? more like himself?
 
Great job Patty! I just can't believe how you had a feeling that something was wrong, how lucky that you trusted your gut! I'm glad Bron was there immediately to help.

Thanks for updating your title, it will ensure the folks on the board who are less familiar with Tucker will be watching :)

I've hit a vein in Mowgli before too... it was like a horror film! he recovered quickly and so will Tucker, how is he behaving now? more like himself?
B
I think you can remove the 911 now.
How does Tucker seem now?
Any more tests?
I think you can remove the 911 now.
How does Tucker seem now?
Any more tests?
I think you can remove the 911 now.
How does Tucker seem now?
Any more tests?
He's 4.2 right now. He's having a tbsp if need carb now. He seems tired but I'm.
 
You're awesome! I admire how quickly you took action, and with confidence as well! Tucker is a lucky kitty :)
 
B



He's 4.2 right now. He's having a tbsp if need carb now. He seems tired but I'm.
He’s taking his time coming up and he’s had quite a bit of higher carb food. Poor baby must be exhausted.
Keep testing hourly.
I’m going to try and get to sleep. It’s 2.20 am here. @Bobbie And Bubba said she can help if needed.
Tucker is up to his old tricks again, dropping low suddenly.
 
So he’s at about 75 ? if I’m calculating correct. Hopefully he can hold and not drop again. Where are you in the cycle. The SS isn’t up to date
 
Hi Patty, just wanted to check in and see how Tucker did for you for the rest of your night. I hope he’s back to normal and feeling well, and I hope you were able to get some good rest in :)
 
Hi Patty - I am real sorry to hear Tucker went so low. I see the hypo is resolved.

Very low BG can have permanent effects. Not always. But Leo had a super low hypo in January 2019, the start of his low-eating / hardly-eating phase. Link to thread >> Leo's Jan 22 hypo

Leo got down to BG = 21 (U.S.). In Leo's case he had mild seizures and it was a dire emergency. So we rushed to the hospital and he got a glucose drip for 12 hours.

It took Leo several days to become partly normal. He permanently had one iris that was partly dilated. Immediate issues for the following days included disorientation and eyesight issues. I think his eyesight was diminished in dim light for the remaining months (until he recently passed). We also think he had minor cognitive issues. All from lack of glucose to the brain, causing permanent damage. I'm just saying these are considerations, and the issues do not always happen.

We did not see any permanent gait issues. And we don't know if any organs were damaged. As you know he was in decline. Theresa and I do not think the deep hypo led to his downfall. Our sweet Leoberry.:(

Hugs to you and Bron for staying up all night. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Patty, just wanted to check in and see how Tucker did for you for the rest of your night. I hope he’s back to normal and feeling well, and I hope you were able to get some good rest in :)
Hi there,
Thank you for thinking of us. His hypo did resolve and he spent the rest of the day getting regular tests with normal numbers. He climbed back to top a healthy number by noon. Except for being mad at me for all the blood tests, he has acted normally. He is currently sleeping in a basket with his brother Teddy, after polishing off a couple of tins of Fancy Feast.
 
Hi there,
Thank you for thinking of us. His hypo did resolve and he spent the rest of the day getting regular tests with normal numbers. He climbed back to top a healthy number by noon. Except for being mad at me for all the blood tests, he has acted normally. He is currently sleeping in a basket with his brother Teddy, after polishing off a couple of tins of Fancy Feast.
What a relief, I'm so glad that everything worked out and I remain totally impressed by your instincts. Hopefully Tucker will get over the indignity of multiple pokes soon :)
 
Hi Patty - I am real sorry to hear Tucker went so low. I see the hypo is resolved.

Very low BG can have permanent effects. Not always. But Leo had a super low hypo in January 2019, the start of his low-eating / hardly-eating phase. Link to thread >> Leo's Jan 22 hypo

Leo got down to BG = 21 (U.S.). In Leo's case he had mild seizures and it was a dire emergency. So we rushed to the hospital and he got a glucose drip for 12 hours.

It took Leo several days to become partly normal. He permanently had one iris that was partly dilated. Immediate issues for the following days included disorientation and eyesight issues. I think his eyesight was diminished in dim light for the remaining months (until he recently passed). We also think he had minor cognitive issues. All from lack of glucose to the brain, causing permanent damage. I'm just saying these are considerations, and the issues do not always happen.

We did not see any permanent gait issues. And we don't know if any organs were damaged. As you know he was in decline. Theresa and I do not think the deep hypo led to his downfall. Our sweet Leoberry.:(

Hugs to you and Bron for staying up all night. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to write this for me. I had no idea Leo went into decline after a hypo event. When I found him I briefly condidered the hospital but decided the stress the car trip would put him under might end him. I went with a combo of medium carb food, high carb, and some low carb (so he had something that would last longer in his system). It didn't take him too long to go from 1(21) to a 4 or 5, but I didn't sleep until he was up to an 8 without food. Since 6 am today he had been quite stable. He's cranky with me because is all of the tests but other than that he has been acting like himself. He looks very bright and had had a big appetite. It's 12:30 am now and I just did a bedtime test and he is 190, so I get to sleep tonight. I'll set an alarm for 4, just to make sure he is ok. I don't see any physical changes in him... But I'll keep my eyes on him!
 
Glad I could help. Leo's decline started before the hypo. Leo was having the reduced-eating / not-eating issue. That lack of food led to the deep hypo in January. Leo literally hypo'ed in my lap. Since he was already having low calorie intake, it would have been very hard to get decent calories into him the rest of the day.

Leo continued to decline, but we don't think the hypo caused it. We strongly feel it was a combo of issues:
- mouth and throat issues from Acro, causing reduced eating
- small cell lymphoma taking over

Both of those issues got worse, and he lost over 1/3 of his body weight until he became a kitteh angel last week.:(

Since Tucker does not have those other issues, I am hopeful that his deep hypo will not have lasting effects.

Over Leo's 4 years of diabetes, we found one underlying protocol that helped. We maintained the written paper log in the kitchen. And we discussed any changes in protocol (insulin, food, etc). With multiple caretakers in your house (you, husband, and daughter), I think this would be a good idea as well. For example
- Leo just got dosed 1.5
- written down on log, and check mark next to it
- Leo fed 1/3 can FF, and check next to it
etc
Now it is very clear to everyone, including bone tired people who stayed up all night checking BG values.
Daily spreadsheet for Leo.jpg
 
Glad I could help. Leo's decline started before the hypo. Leo was having the reduced-eating / not-eating issue. That lack of food led to the deep hypo in January. Leo literally hypo'ed in my lap. Since he was already having low calorie intake, it would have been very hard to get decent calories into him the rest of the day.

Leo continued to decline, but we don't think the hypo caused it. We strongly feel it was a combo of issues:
- mouth and throat issues from Acro, causing reduced eating
- small cell lymphoma taking over

Both of those issues got worse, and he lost over 1/3 of his body weight until he became a kitteh angel last week.:(

Since Tucker does not have those other issues, I am hopeful that his deep hypo will not have lasting effects.

Over Leo's 4 years of diabetes, we found one underlying protocol that helped. We maintained the written paper log in the kitchen. And we discussed any changes in protocol (insulin, food, etc). With multiple caretakers in your house (you, husband, and daughter), I think this would be a good idea as well. For example
- Leo just got dosed 1.5
- written down on log, and check mark next to it
- Leo fed 1/3 can FF, and check next to it
etc
Now it is very clear to everyone, including bone tired people who stayed up all night checking BG values.
View attachment 46228
Oh dear Leo, the fact is that even with all of these troubles you were able to give him a good quality of life long past what anyone would have expected. I love the form you had made up to keep track of who did what. We were using a calendar and it was not nearly so concise - now I'll need to copy your idea.
I didn't tell you but in the midst of the 1.2 hypo the other night I left the room. Came back and Kurt had given Tucker a pulled pork flavored potato chip. I walked in and he was crunching away quite happily and Kurt says "What? It's carbs! He needs some carbs!". So that's what I'm dealing with ‍♀️. Tucker will eat anything so it's been a challenge to convince my family not to leave grapes or jerky or a loaf of bread on the kitchen counter...let's recall the great Skittles BG level of 2019. Skittles and diabetes don't mix but who would have thought a cat would eat Skittles?? Sigh...
 
Theresa came up with the spreadsheet. It solved many problems and helped us track Leo's health daily. Paper and ink is cheap, but mistakes can have bad consequences.

Theresa and I love the skittles story about Tucker. Now we get to add the potato chip story to it also. Not a happy day here, but we are starting to adjust. I think Little Dude is doing better too.
 
I've forwarded it to Kurt, who has made one up for Tucker already. He did ask if I wanted him to add a column for "junk food" but I suggested we just curtail those for a while instead...
I know these are sad days but I hope with each passing one your hearts will heal a little bit more. I have told you about TG, our heart boy? I remember the first time I felt relief at not having to do one of his treatments...I dumped a ton of guilt on my shoulders for it. Try not to fall into that trap.
 
I'm glad you are adopting the spreadsheet method. It really helped us.

We were talking about Tucker at dinner tonight. Theresa and I did a LOL at the potato chip feeding. I told her about the other foods - bread, everything - that Tucker got into. It was a nice light moment for us tonight. Thanks for that.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I remember your story about TG. It was a great and memorable one. I will try to not feel guilty about the lack of treatments now. In the last few months, I was spending 4-8 hours daily with Leo - trying to get him to eat and drink. It was so hard. I would do it again, he was precious to us.
 
Back
Top