? Tucker 7/18 Shot 0.5

Hi Everyone
Thank you for your concern and help. Things escalated quickly. It's 3:30 in the morning here. Tucker has ostabalised and has strong vitals and his BG is currently 8(144). Our vet has just left. She's left me with timers set for when to wake up and test him and orders on how to proceed depending on those results. She'll be coming to check him on her lunch break and when she leaves work tomorrow.
We will not be giving insulin this morning.
Thank you for having eyes on us. Special thanks to Bron who rang when things got critical and was on the line when Tucker fainted and I thought he was lost. Our vet assures me we did the right thing with monitoring last night and calling her when he didn't want to rise. Cognitively, he seems to be all there. He's exhausted and currently sleeping on a big plush blanket with his head on Teddy and tail on Daisy, who won't leave his side. I'm shattered and going to grab some sleep before the next tests are due.
 
Thanks Guys. I suppose it's from lack of sleep but I'm irrationally choked up and teary, even though we have had a good outcome. Tucker has never been "sick" but has diabetes. We learned to test before shooting insulin to keep him safe. He needed a high dose in the early days and had come way down, and he's so happy you wouldn't normally guess he has issues. He's never not hungry and will eat anything, he's actually a riot. What other sugar cat has brought home a freaking donut instead of a bird or mouse?!? Where did it come from? Did he take his kitty pocket money to the shops??
Lately we have found he comes down faster and lower than expected after a bounce. Tonight was extreme. Thanks for helping me save our boy. I'm going to try to rest now, knowing that if it weren't for you and this community I would have lost this little man tonight.
 
My goodness! You must be so exhausted, both!
Cheers to your perseverance through getting Tucker to a safe place, and to your vet for so amazingly rushing over! :bighug: I hope you all rest well.
 
Get some well deserved sleep. You and Bron were stedfast and amazing. The two of you made Ayers Rock look like a pebble.
There's a worldwide community here that would love to have a vet like yours. I wish we could do something nice for her, but for now will settle for sending her massive hugs and a few snogs from great distances across the globe.
 
Thanks Guys. I suppose it's from lack of sleep but I'm irrationally choked up and teary, even though we have had a good outcome. Tucker has never been "sick" but has diabetes. We learned to test before shooting insulin to keep him safe. He needed a high dose in the early days and had come way down, and he's so happy you wouldn't normally guess he has issues. He's never not hungry and will eat anything, he's actually a riot. What other sugar cat has brought home a freaking donut instead of a bird or mouse?!? Where did it come from? Did he take his kitty pocket money to the shops??
Lately we have found he comes down faster and lower than expected after a bounce. Tonight was extreme. Thanks for helping me save our boy. I'm going to try to rest now, knowing that if it weren't for you and this community I would have lost this little man tonight.
Patty, you were just amazing tonight, I am in absolute awe of you.

It's no wonder that you are choked up, you have been in game mode all night, staying strong for Tucker, and following all of the necessary steps to keep him safe. Now, in the aftermath you have time to process just how scary the situation was... it is upsetting, even my eyes are welling up from relief that he is ok! You are an absolute champ! you did everything that you were supposed to, I hope you're able to sleep after this ordeal. Get a good rest :) :bighug::bighug:
 
33C820EF-200B-4E82-B731-DC00ADC48A79.jpeg

I'm feeling much better now!
 
What a trooper you and Tucker are! Glad you are skipping the next shot; depot has to drain.

I am so glad you had @Bron and Sheba to be with you!!!

What a wonderful vet you have!
View attachment 46462
I'm feeling much better now!
Can I like this photo twice???


ETA. : did anyone talk about reduction? If it were my cat, I would reduce another .25. That scary cycle was the 4th cycle and could potentially be full. I would reduce to 1.5 next tine you shoot even after a skipped shot. JMHO
 
Last edited:
You have no idea how glad I was to see Tucker's cheeky little face this morning when I woke up!!!!! I thought we had lost him.
We normally don't talk on the phone but text if he drops low, if I can't get online which doesn't happen often, but I was so alarmed at the low BGLevel Patty texted me, I phoned and was talking to Patty when he became unresponsive. I was saying 'rub honey on his gums' and Patty was saying "Tucky wake up!" when we lost the connection and I couldn't get it again for 15 minutes!.
That was an agonising wait til I could get through again.
Her vet is a keeper for sure. We need to clone her!
@Bobbie And Bubba in case Patty doesn't come back online before PMPS I just texted her and passed on your message about reducing the dose.....I agree with you re the dose being reduced for sure.
Patty is feeling a bit washed out this morning ( I wonder why?.) and is out at a medical appt at the moment and then going to pick up some FF gravy foods before heading back home. She just texted me back and said the vet will supervise if he gets any insulin tonight and says it will probably be 1.5
BG level just a short time ago was 14 (252)
 
Tucker got into your heart, then got into our hearts.
He got into all the food you have out.
Now he got into the picture - which Theresa also loves.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

What will he get into next?

Theresa said we are moving to Adelaide so we can go to your vet too! I'm not sure I would ever get used to that weird 1/2 hour time zone though.

Calming and healing vines coming your way. Tucker is so very lucky that you are his Mom.:bighug:
 
We are just getting settled back in, emergency supplies are refilled and the house put back together. Your comments are so touching and supportive, I'm humbled. Tucker is indeed a cutie. For those of you that don't know his story? My daughter was walking across campus her freshman year and saw a crowd and people were upset. A momma cat and her kittens had been killed by some bigger animal - and security was taking care of things...when suddenly someone saw baby Tucker, the lone survivor of the litter. Claire made sure we adopted him and we took him to the closest vet. She told us he was too young, too sick and unlikely to survive but she would try. She was so impressed that Claire saved him that she treated Tucker through the dicey time for free. His big brother was in final stage of heart failure - but they still ended up having a couple of years together. (She did home visits for that cat too, but we paid for them.) Our very is a very special person.
Tucker was a riot as a kitten... Walking into the house and seeing water flowing across the wood floors? Find Tucker standing on his back legs pulling the handle of the water tank. We gave him little toy mice to play with - he would drop them in his water bowl then HOLD THEM DOWN! What cat would stand in a water bowl? He has always been a nutter. He's still a young boy and we hope to have him around for many years. Your guidance and support is so appreciated, I cannot thank you enough.
At +9 he's at 162, and is playing with his rag doll siblings (Daisy and Teddy). At +10 he's now at 142.
 
We are just getting settled back in, emergency supplies are refilled and the house put back together. Your comments are so touching and supportive, I'm humbled. Tucker is indeed a cutie. For those of you that don't know his story? My daughter was walking across campus her freshman year and saw a crowd and people were upset. A momma cat and her kittens had been killed by some bigger animal - and security was taking care of things...when suddenly someone saw baby Tucker, the lone survivor of the litter. Claire made sure we adopted him and we took him to the closest vet. She told us he was too young, too sick and unlikely to survive but she would try. She was so impressed that Claire saved him that she treated Tucker through the dicey time for free. His big brother was in final stage of heart failure - but they still ended up having a couple of years together. (She did home visits for that cat too, but we paid for them.) Our very is a very special person.
Tucker was a riot as a kitten... Walking into the house and seeing water flowing across the wood floors? Find Tucker standing on his back legs pulling the handle of the water tank. We gave him little toy mice to play with - he would drop them in his water bowl then HOLD THEM DOWN! What cat would stand in a water bowl? He has always been a nutter. He's still a young boy and we hope to have him around for many years. Your guidance and support is so appreciated, I cannot thank you enough.
At +9 he's at 162, and is playing with his rag doll siblings (Daisy and Teddy). At +10 he's now at 142.
Tucker, what a great storied past you have :cat:, :bighug:... you little devil you!
Claire is a special girl :bighug:... Patty you’ve been such a good mommy :)
 
Last edited:
Hi Patty! I am just getting back online after being offline since Tucker's scary night. I see where you reduced down to 1.25 after the skip dose on 7/18, then down to .50 And now 1.25 That might have been too much of a reduction, his new dose should have been 1.50. But that said , I see in comments yesterday he is sick and refusing food.

How is he doing today? ( I didn't look to see if you posted a new thread today, me bad) I hope he is doing better .
 
Back
Top