Tuck & Oliver checking in

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Active Member
I'm happy to report that Tuck finally seems to be regulated again. With the declining insulin requirement I'm hoping for what everyone hopes for at this juncture. (Not saying the word that begins with an r ;)). I've been to this spot once before and it didn't happen. Truly happy he's reached a point of regulation. There are actually times now when he isn't ravenous - hooray!

I've been shooting him at lower numbers because I'm home to monitor and test. To kick Mr P further into cooperation I'd like to see some green rather than blue for his nadir. Yes, now I'm getting greedy :p

If this were you, would you continue doing what I'm doing OR wait until his blood sugar rises above 200 to give a larger dose?

Oliver - oh boy he's decided to become difficult to regulate :banghead:. Is it fairly common for a cat to react nicely to an increased dose then gradually rise over the subsequent cycles? I raise his dose and his body responds nicely then it seems to level out and I need to keep raising it. He does need a dental but it has to wait a bit so I may be fighting with his body's reaction to the inflammation.
 
Looking good! With Tuck, the thinking is that the longer a kitty stays in healing numbers, the better. So I like your tiny doses at lower numbers -as long as you can catch the nadir, just in case he decides to surprise you.

Yes, with Oliver, it can be insulin resistance - on a small scale. Sometimes it means weeks of high numbers, but it looks like he just goes up a little - still in okay numbers, just not a good as he is as first. Here is a very detailed explanation; take what fits for you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-resistance-long-really.67645/

But in general they both look good!
 
I'm with Sue on that, if you are around (and you have a lot of data) you can shoot at lower numbers. In the past you've learned how to work this sugar dance so you also know how to catch Tucker if he drops too low!
I'm so happy for you Kristen! :bighug::bighug:
 
I have 3 irritated cats. They think stalling is cruel and unusual punishment, LOL. PMPS, T is 144 and out of the blue O is 120. I used Callie's meter to do a sanity check on Tucks recent success, it read 102 with the same drop of blood. I'm sticking with his meter for consistency. Getting encouraged! Callie got her periodic check too, 44 :joyful:
 
Wow! Tuck is really looking good! Since you're around to monitor, I'd definitely keep doing what you're doing. It seems to be working really well since he kind of surfs along in blues with the occasional green. I believe you'll get him more greens over time!

As for Oliver...oh Oliver. His numbers do look good overall. There's green and blue in there...hopefully over time he will even out some. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top