Tuck need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Active Member
Can someone look at my spreadsheet and tell me what you'd do at this point? I finally went out and bought U-100 syringes so I could start fine tuning his dose. I was thinking of raising his dose to 1.25 units tonight.

I'm also wondering if I should start shooting him anytime it's been >8 hours since his shot and his sugar is above 200. There are times when it seems like his dose has little to no effect and other times when he's into the green at the nadir. I'm not sure what I should do to get him better regulated.

(Please note, I picked up my second foster cat with diabetes this afternoon. I'm maintaining 1 spreadsheet with a worksheet for each.)

Kristen
 
Sara and Cooter have having the same issues. Here is what I said to her:

There are two possibilities, Sarah, and unfortunately no way to know which is happening.

He definitely gets a big drop from preshot to nadir and it could certainly be causing him to bounce at preshot. The only way to deal with this is to wait it out and see if his body gets used to the lower numbers and stops releasing its own sugars, lowering that preshot number. The only way I know to lessen the drop is to offer him small snacks around +4/5 and see if he flattens out.

The other possibility is that the insulin works to bring him down but it is wearing out by preshot.

No way to know which it is for sure. But since it is the weekend and you can monitor, maybe try increasing and see if his preshot looks better without dropping his nadir too low. Be prepared with regular food and gravy off higher carb foods just in case he dips low. If you'd get a yellow preshot and can monitor, try not to skip. If under 200, stall without feeding. Test in 20 minutes to make sure he is rising, not falling and if he is close to 200, then shoot a reduced dose, but shoot.

i think the advice applies to Tuck as well. If you think increase, maybe to 1.2?

Shooting every 8 hours is possible but hard. You have to be sure the number is high enough, and rising. He doesn't seem to have a consistent pattern of higher numbers after +8.
 
Thanks Sue. I'm getting ready to test now. It he's 300 or above, I'm going for 1.2 as you suggested. If he's in the yellow I will stick with 1 unit tonight.
 
I think that's a good plan. Don't worry, Kristen, we're here to help! I know it's upsetting, but I hope it helps to know that you're not alone!
 
Thanks, Rachel. It's the lack of a pattern that's getting to me. I'm very analytical. Numbers and patterns, I get. No pattern makes me a bit nuts, LOL.
 
Your not alone on that Kristen, I don't see any rhyme or reason to Cooters SS either. At least both our boys are consistently inconsistent! Only thing I can say is I know he is feeling better, he's acting almost completely like his old self again. He had taken to laying in the bathroom instead of in here with me, but now my buddys back, even chasing the girls a bit with his gimpy leg and all! Even that is looking better today, actually putting it down flat instead of knuckling almost half his steps, think the Zobaline may be helping a bit :D His attitude says more to me then the numbers on the SS, so something must be working right! Hope Tuck is feeling good too :bighug:
 
Thanks, Sarah. Thankfully Tuck seems to be feeling really well. I've had him since the end of February. He was underweight but I've managed to get weight back on him. I know he wouldn't have gained weight if his diabetes were wildly out of control. I recently cut his food amount down so he wouldn't gain too much.

I thought he had an adopter lined up but she's having second thoughts. His potential adopter is a nice lady. Tuck surrendered with his sister, Cricket. Sadly, she has mammary cancer. The adopter is still going to take Cricket but was worried that she wouldn't be able to keep Tuck on a schedule.

Glad Cooter is feeling like his old self!
 
Mammary cancer is a evil evil thing, in humans and cats :( I have a 13yr old that has been fighting it since November of 2013. Vets gave her 3-6 months, but shes too ornery to give in and has been proving them wrong every chance she can. Her tumors are still growing, but I dont want to put her through any more surgeries (shes had 5, including a mastectomy). It is in her lymph system the past year, so they will never get it all, so why not just let her live without the extra pain and stress. She'll let me know when shes had enough, but until then I spoil her rotten and she calls the shots on her life. I am glad the lady is still willing to take her, and can understand her hesitance about taking Tuck as well, wish it wasnt that way for the poor guy though :( At least he has you to watch over him until the right person comes along, I hope he can find his forever home soon :bighug: You are indeed an angel for taking in these special ones, keep up the awesome work with them, I know they are grateful :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks everyone. I actually co-direct our rescue with a friend. Taking on senior and special needs cats is unfortunately the norm in purebred rescue. It's emotionally draining and fulfilling all at the same time.

Tuck's AMPS was a nice 220 and his +6 was 90. Let's hope this is the beginning of a trend! Amazing how a little bit can make such a big difference. Really glad I finally asked the Walmart pharmacist for the U-100 syringes.
 
Mammary cancer is a evil evil thing, in humans and cats :( I have a 13yr old that has been fighting it since November of 2013. Vets gave her 3-6 months, but shes too ornery to give in and has been proving them wrong every chance she can. Her tumors are still growing, but I dont want to put her through any more surgeries (shes had 5, including a mastectomy). It is in her lymph system the past year, so they will never get it all, so why not just let her live without the extra pain and stress. She'll let me know when shes had enough, but until then I spoil her rotten and she calls the shots on her life. I am glad the lady is still willing to take her, and can understand her hesitance about taking Tuck as well, wish it wasnt that way for the poor guy though :( At least he has you to watch over him until the right person comes along, I hope he can find his forever home soon :bighug: You are indeed an angel for taking in these special ones, keep up the awesome work with them, I know they are grateful :bighug::bighug:

I hope she has many more happy days. I understand focussing on quality over quantity of life. Love her and cherish her during this difficult time, @Sarah Smith :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top