Tuck and Oliver

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Member Since 2016
Tuck's numbers continue to confuse me. Too much insulin and bouncing vs the dose wearing off before 12 hours.

Oliver obviously needs a lot more testing before I know anything. I'm sure his high AMPS this morning was a bounce from his rapid fall last night. He went from 401 to 133 by +4 last night on 1 unit.

I'm going to try testing both of them at +4, +6, and +8 OR +3, +5, +7 and see what their numbers are doing mid-cycle. I didn't make any adjustments to either of their doses this morning.
 
Yes, I think Tuck bounced from the 90 yesterday. Maybe you could consider a little less for a yellow preshot - 1 unit vs 1.2 for a higher pre shot? Agree that you need more data on Oliver. The good news is that he seems to need less insulin than he was on. It may be that one unit is not quite enough, but time will give you a better picture.
 
Tuck
AMPS = 487, 1.2 units
+4 = 329
+6 =
+8 =

Tuck notes: I fail to see a pattern when I look at his sheet. Will feed again after the +6 reading.

Oliver
AMPS = 463, 1 unit
+4 = 139
+6 =
+8 =

Oliver notes: This morning's readings mirror last night's. Will feed again after the +6 reading.
 
Tuck
AMPS = 487, 1.2 units
+4 = 329
+6 = 259 (given 1/2 can of Fancy Feast after this reading)
+8 = 315

Tuck notes: I fail to see a pattern when I look at his sheet.

Oliver
AMPS = 463, 1 unit
+4 = 139
+6 = 131 (Fancy Feast left in the room. So, he could have eaten more right before I came in for the +8 test.)
+8 = 387

Oliver notes: This morning's readings mirror last night's. He's in a room with his brother who is off food so I'm leaving food out. Oliver also needs to regain some lost weight.

Spreadsheet is updated. I'm inclined to leave Oliver's dose alone a little longer. I think I need to raise Tuck's dose. Any advice?
 
Agree! See, you are getting this. Tuck seems to have a nice smile curve; it's just too high. I have no explanation for that lovely amps yesterday but like the dose you gave for it. I would increase - maybe to 1.4 for a pink preshot, hold it a few cycles and if still too high, 1.6?

I would give Oliver a little longer too. He is dropping nicely, a little high overall. He could afford to drop, but I think holding the dose is wise. He is adjusting to a new place, food and the insulin. If he continues to run in the 100s for nadir, maybe in a few cycles up by a smidge.

You are doing great balancing two diabetic kitties and their care!
 
Thanks, Sue. 1.4 it is for Tuck assuming he's >300.

I should probably ask in the general health forum but I'll start here. Oliver is in rough physical condition. I got his records and sent my list of questions off to my vet who will call me sometime this week. Oliver is walking on his hocks. Other than Zobaline is there anything else I should do for neuropathy? I ordered Zobaline from Amazon yesterday so it should be here tomorrow or Wednesday.
 
His potassium was 5.1 and the upper end of the reference range is 5.2. I'm familiar with low potassium from managing CKD cats.

He had a few things askew on his tests which is the main reason I reached out to my vet today. I think most of them are because his body was busy burning up tissue for fuel with the elevated glucose levels. I need her to help me look at all of the tests together before I jump to inaccurate conclusions.
 
Tuck was yellow this morning, now that feels like progress over the last several cycles. Hopefully no bounce today.

My guess is that I need to raise Oliver from 1 to 1.2 but waiting to see the nadir on this cycle. His 26 the other night has me skittish to increase a PM dose so I may wait until the morning.
 
Looks like I should raise Oliver's dose. I think he was still really sensitive to insulin the first 2 cycles after the major hypo incident. He's gotten 1 unit the last 5 cycles. Should I go to 1.2 or 1.4?
 
That is so crazy they had him on that high of a dose, werent testing, and swapped him food! So glad you took him on :bighug:
And I exchanged messages with his former owner tonight trying to understand his current condition. I asked how long he'd been walking flat footed. Guy said 2 months, mind you he only went to the vet about 3 weeks ago :eek:. The vet techs told him it was probably arthritis and his vet wasn't concerned. :mad:

I'm off to post in the general health forum about neuropathy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top