Laura bb
Member Since 2018
I just tested Nermal at the +5 and it is still high at 361. I thought his numbers would be lower by now. Could this be because of me being such a scaredy-cat afraid of hypos when I first started and not having him regular and skipping a few doses. When he first started on a Friday(I wish it was a Monday) the next day I blindly gave him a shot like my vet told me. He was super tired all day and I could barely get him to wake up, it scared me so I decided to wait till Monday to talk to the vet before giving him more because I did not know what I was doing. I guess I screwed up big. I cannot go to a different vet, it is the cheapest, and she was nicer in person than on the phone which had me balling my eyes out.then She told me I was killing my cat for not giving him insulin and brought me to tears so I rushed him to the vet on October 8 and he tested at 420 which is the first time I actually saw him tested with my own eyes. so I came on here looking for answers. Last week or so I tested a preshot at 41 and did not give him a shot, I thought I had tested wrong because it was my first time using the meter. The insulin was bought and started October 5. I am so confused--I want him to be well, he has started looking better, walking taller and more energy then before he started this. Am I being too anxious about wanting his numbers to drop so early? Should I test at different times. I tried waiting to test him last night but unfortunately I fell asleep on the couch waiting. I go to vet Tuesday, I am afraid she will increase his dosage and he will never get off this. I cannot afford to switch vets because she I want remission-I know it does not happen for every cat. My spreadsheet looks horrible I am sure because of not testing from the start. I am still learning new things from this website everyday---I appreciate any advise.