Trying to get my first curve - what next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NRL

Member Since 2016
So I am trying to get a decent insulin curve. Today is the first opportunity I have had to do so. Now I just need to figure out what the numbers tell me...
 
Good job on the curve.

This is the link to your other posting so that others can get some background information if they want to offer advice:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this.162617/#post-1744564

I couldn't see in your other post whether you are using a human meter or a pet meter??

The curve is a pretty typical curve for Novolin N. Usually the nadir (lowest number in a cycle) will be around +3 to +4 hours after the shot. Then the insulin starts to "wear off". With Novolin the usual duration (time the insulin lasts) is about 8-10 hours, although this cn vary with different kitties, so Trident's curve is very normal for your insulin. You were very wise not to follow the dose your vet had suggested. It looks like the 1 unit is working well as a starting dose.

In your other post you said you had transitioned Trident from dry food to wet low carb. Is that transition complete and if so how long ago did you do the switch over?
 
Last edited:
I couldn't see in your other post whether you are using a human meter or a pet meter??
We are using a human meter - TrueTest

In your other post you said you had transitioned Trident from dry food to wet low carb. Is that transition complete and if so how long ago did you do the switch over?
She is on wet low carb exclusively and has been since Thursday - so 4 days now. I started home testing and the food change on the same day, so have no idea what her numbers looked like on dry food...
 
Thank you for the extra information. You could put that info in your signature so that others don't have to keep asking too ;)

With having been on a low carb wet food diet for 4 days most of the effects of the higher carb dry food should have passed..although some kitties will take up to a week before all the effects are gone...just depends on the kitty. You were very wise to start testing, especially with doing the food change, since some kitties can drop a lot just with a switch to wet low carb foods.

With newer members who do not have much data it is usually suggested not to shoot anything under 200. As you can see Trident did a decent drop of about 55% by +3 hours after shot. If Trident is at or over 200 at his PMPS time AND you are able to monitor for 3 hours...or possibly longer...you could give the 1 unit again. If he is close to 200 but still under you could wait 20 minutes WITHOUT FEEDING and test again to see if he is going up. However if the number is close to 200 and you are not able to monitor then either another skip or a partial shot might be in order.

I am signing off in few minutes, but there are lots of others on here who could help if you are unsure. You can change your title to include the "?" icon and put something like "dosing advice needed" to get more attention.

Hopefully you will never need to use this , but it is good information to have ahead of time on how to treat a hypo event:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

I am not trying to scare you......Trident is not even close to hypo numbers, but it is good to have this information if anything ever happens at a later date.

:bighug:
 
That's a pretty good response .....as well as pretty typical of Novolin

We like to see the nadir drop to about 50% of the Pre-shot (which Trident did)

It does look like it doesn't hold him very long though (which is very typical of Novolin too)....We'll know more as you get more data

You might want to consider one of the longer acting, gentler insulins like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc

Since he is new to the sugardance, I agree that if he's under 200 at Pre-shot, you should stall, don't feed and post for help....Since with Novolin you feed 30 minutes before shooting, you need to do your Pre-shot tests before you feed so you know where he is without the influence of food
 
Again, thank you all for your help. I have read that Novolin is not usually recommended for feline diabetes, but that is what our vet perscribed before I knew any better. He said it was less expensive and would work fine.

Now that she is on it, how long should I monitor before suggesting a different insulin to my vet? She does get fed 4 times a day, if that makes any difference...
 
Considering your vet wanted you to start at 4 units, I think I'd be looking for a new vet

I understand you live in a rural area....I do too....Most of our vets here are mixed animal practices....they might see a cat chasing mice in the barn but it's kind of unusual for them to show up in the office!! I had to go to a vet 30 miles away to get the insulin I wanted, but once I got the script, China has never been back to the vet for her diabetes. I listen to the people here and she's doing really great (you can see her spreadsheet in our signature)

But seriously, about the only thing you can do is either find another vet whose willing to give you what you want or try the Novolin for a short time and hope it works for Trident

When did your vet tell you to come back?
 
I think my vet would be open to changing her insulin if I suggest it. I just don't know if I ought to do it so soon after initial diagnoses, but from everything I have seen and the curve I ran yesterday, it appears that Trident would benefit from a slower acting insulin, although she hasn't shown any negative effects from the Novolin...
 
If Leo had the low numbers that you are showing for Trident, I would not dose at all. Those numbers really are not that bad - all under 200. Slower acting insulins are generally easier on the cat (or human).
 
Yeah, I am really thinking that diet alone is going to fix this problem. We have been testing for a week now and she has never read over 200. We have given insulin when she is in the 160's and 170's, but prefer not to, as long as it is safe not to.
 
That is a great success story in the making. If you can control through diet alone, that will both cost effective and healthy for Trident. I hope the trend continues for Trident.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top