Trying to get my boy regulated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Hershey

Member Since 2015
My cat Hershey was diagnosed in May with Diabetes. He is 9 years old and otherwise in good health. His starting BG level was 440. No keytones. He started off with .50 Prozinc x 2, with little change, so he was upped to 1.0 x 2, testing at 340, then he was upped to 2.0 x 2 and tested at 280 and again upped dosage to 3.0 x 2. He finally tested this week which was 2.5 months later at 204. The vet wants to keep him at this dosage, but I am a little worried. He is on all wet high protein food and has a little EVO dry (1/2 cup) every day. His urine and his thirsty is way down. He is very active. I have not home tested because the vet told me to regulate then start home testing. I have done a lot of reading and feel this is a high dose for a cat who has come down to 200 in 2.5 months. I feel that with the proper diet, we could bring the dosage even lower, maybe even remission! So I will go and by my meter tonight. A lot of folks recommend the Freestyle Lite. I would like the minimal amount of blood requirement as well as one that has cheaper test strips. I would prefer to get one that is at Walmart v. a real pet one for cost. Question 2, when to test? Before I feed him which means before I give him his shot twice a day. I'm stressing over this. Not to even mention doing the testing with his little ear. I don't want to scar it all up, he already isn't really happy about his shots, but ultimately the goal is to have NO insulin. Any advice or information would be so appreciated. Thanks! My boy Hershey attached :)
 

Attachments

  • 100.jpg
    100.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 124
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
 
I am sorry, I didn't catch your name.

I wanted to be sure to provide you with our spreadsheet instructions. They are here. Holler if you have any questions with anything.
 
Hi Judy!

So glad to see you made it here from Facebook! This is a great group with lots of oversight so we can do counseling on dosing here

You will find things get easier, I promise. Home testing will give you a feeling of more control and a better gauge of how Hershey is feeling.

I use the Relion Micro and get my test strips/syringes online at ADW. The Relion brand is sold as Arkay and ADW even has the meter. I went with the Micro due to the tiny blood drop needed and the strips are cheaper!

My Tucker purrs the entire time I'm testing him. Start getting Hershey used to ear rubs because warm ears are easier to stick for blood. I put together a kit so I would have everything together. Treats for after testing. I use a cotton ball behind the ear- saves the finger from getting stuck!

I highly recommend creating a spreadsheet. Mine is in my signature but is not up to date (bad mommy!).

Take a look at the Stickies in this Forum for lots of good advice.

Jen
 
thank you so much for your help I appreciate all the information this is exactly what I was looking for her she is on Fancy Feast high protein low carb the one suggested on all the websites my name is Judy and I live in Tennessee and I've never had a cat wuth
Hi Judy!

So glad to see you made it here from Facebook! This is a great group with lots of oversight so we can do counseling on dosing here

You will find things get easier, I promise. Home testing will give you a feeling of more control and a better gauge of how Hershey is feeling.

I use the Relion Micro and get my test strips/syringes online at ADW. The Relion brand is sold as Arkay and ADW even has the meter. I went with the Micro due to the tiny blood drop needed and the strips are cheaper!

My Tucker purrs the entire time I'm testing him. Start getting Hershey used to ear rubs because warm ears are easier to stick for blood. I put together a kit so I would have everything together. Treats for after testing. I use a cotton ball behind the ear- saves the finger from getting stuck!

I highly recommend creating a spreadsheet. Mine is in my signature but is not up to date (bad mommy!).

Take a look at the Stickies in this Forum for lots of good advice.

Jen
Hi Judy!

So glad to see you made it here from Facebook! This is a great group with lots of oversight so we can do counseling on dosing here

You will find things get easier, I promise. Home testing will give you a feeling of more control and a better gauge of how Hershey is feeling.

I use the Relion Micro and get my test strips/syringes online at ADW. The Relion brand is sold as Arkay and ADW even has the meter. I went with the Micro due to the tiny blood drop needed and the strips are cheaper!

My Tucker purrs the entire time I'm testing him. Start getting Hershey used to ear rubs because warm ears are easier to stick for blood. I put together a kit so I would have everything together. Treats for after testing. I use a cotton ball behind the ear- saves the finger from getting stuck!

I highly recommend creating a spreadsheet. Mine is in my signature but is not up to date (bad mommy!).

Take a look at the Stickies in this Forum for lots of good advice.

Jen
Hi Judy!

So glad to see you made it here from Facebook! This is a great group with lots of oversight so we can do counseling on dosing here

You will find things get easier, I promise. Home testing will give you a feeling of more control and a better gauge of how Hershey is feeling.

I use the Relion Micro and get my test strips/syringes online at ADW. The Relion brand is sold as Arkay and ADW even has the meter. I went with the Micro due to the tiny blood drop needed and the strips are cheaper!

My Tucker purrs the entire time I'm testing him. Start getting Hershey used to ear rubs because warm ears are easier to stick for blood. I put together a kit so I would have everything together. Treats for after testing. I use a cotton ball behind the ear- saves the finger from getting stuck!

I highly recommend creating a spreadsheet. Mine is in my signature but is not up to date (bad mommy!).

Take a look at the Stickies in this Forum for lots of good advice.

Jen

diabetes
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention. n

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
 
not sure about this posting but thank you so much for everything you've told me I appreciate everything my name is Judy and I live in Tennessee I'm sure I'll be asking you more questions as I go
I am sorry, I didn't catch your name.

I wanted to be sure to provide you with our spreadsheet instructions. They are here. Holler if you have any questions with anything.
thank you so much for your help I appreciate all the information this is exactly what I was looking for her she is on Fancy Feast high protein low carb the one suggested on all the websites my name is Judy and I live in Tennessee and I've never had a cat wuth




diabetes
.
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
 
Hello! Welcome to our PZI forum.

Everyone has already given great advice on the meter, so I won't repeat.

As Cindi said, we always test BEFORE the shot and before feeding. That way, you get a number that isn't food influenced. If you can, we also test at the nadir, or midpoint, of the insulin. That is usually around +5 to +7 (that means 5 to 7 hours after the shot...just in case you aren't familiar with our lingo yet). We know it isn't possible every day...I used to get that test in on weekends. Some folks also set an alarm and do that in the middle of the night every one in awhile. Not every night...just sometimes to get you that nadir. That test is important since it tells how low the insulin is bringing him. That helps us decide if a dose is too high or low. Finally, most folks get a before bed test around +2 or +3 just to see where kitty is going before sleep!

As Jen said, some treats will make Tucker love testing time. Gypsy used to come running for tests...even in the middle of the night! She loved getting those treats and the snuggles after.

It's all a bit overwhelming at first, but you'll get used to it really fast!

One more thing. This forum isn't extremely active all day and night. We tend to have the bulk of posts in the morning and evening (test times). Therefore, if you have an emergency, I'd cross post on health to get as many eyes as possible.
 
You are doing the right stuff for your sweet Tinker, Judy.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc- it's in blue in my signature.

I can set up a spreadsheet for you, if you want. Just Let me know.
 
My cat Hershey was diagnosed in May with Diabetes. He is 9 years old and otherwise in good health. His starting BG level was 440. No keytones. He started off with .50 Prozinc x 2, with little change, so he was upped to 1.0 x 2, testing at 340, then he was upped to 2.0 x 2 and tested at 280 and again upped dosage to 3.0 x 2. He finally tested this week which was 2.5 months later at 204. The vet wants to keep him at this dosage, but I am a little worried. He is on all wet high protein food and has a little EVO dry (1/2 cup) every day. His urine and his thirsty is way down. He is very active. I have not home tested because the vet told me to regulate then start home testing. I have done a lot of reading and feel this is a high dose for a cat who has come down to 200 in 2.5 months. I feel that with the proper diet, we could bring the dosage even lower, maybe even remission! So I will go and by my meter tonight. A lot of folks recommend the Freestyle Lite. I would like the minimal amount of blood requirement as well as one that has cheaper test strips. I would prefer to get one that is at Walmart v. a real pet one for cost. Question 2, when to test? Before I feed him which means before I give him his shot twice a day. I'm stressing over this. Not to even mention doing the testing with his little ear. I don't want to scar it all up, he already isn't really happy about his shots, but ultimately the goal is to have NO insulin. Any advice or information would be so appreciated. Thanks! My boy Hershey attached :)
Welcome Tinker and Hershey. We all wish we weren't in this forum but, that said, it is a great group of people so loving and dedicated to helping us help our sugar babies. Hershey's photo staring at the syringe cap says it all!
 
Greetings from the hot-zone (AZ), Judy & Hershey!

This is truly a great bunch of kitty-loving hearts you've joined. I've received such amazing help & comfort from others here since I joined the FDMB ... so WELCOME to the wild, wacky world of sugar-cats! And I can see that you are super-motivated to get Hershey regulated; best of luck to you both!

P.S. What an adorable photo you attached in your first post!!!
 
Hello! Welcome to our PZI forum.

Everyone has already given great advice on the meter, so I won't repeat.

As Cindi said, we always test BEFORE the shot and before feeding. That way, you get a number that isn't food influenced. If you can, we also test at the nadir, or midpoint, of the insulin. That is usually around +5 to +7 (that means 5 to 7 hours after the shot...just in case you aren't familiar with our lingo yet). We know it isn't possible every day...I used to get that test in on weekends. Some folks also set an alarm and do that in the middle of the night every one in awhile. Not every night...just sometimes to get you that nadir. That test is important since it tells how low the insulin is bringing him. That helps us decide if a dose is too high or low. Finally, most folks get a before bed test around +2 or +3 just to see where kitty is going before sleep!

As Jen said, some treats will make Tucker love testing time. Gypsy used to come running for tests...even in the middle of the night! She loved getting those treats and the snuggles after.

It's all a bit overwhelming at first, but you'll get used to it really fast!

One more thing. This forum isn't extremely active all day and night. We tend to have the bulk of posts in the morning and evening (test times). Therefore, if you have an emergency, I'd cross post on health to get as many eyes as possible.
Thank you Cindi, I'm learning a lot. What does +2 or +3 before bed mean?
 
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
Thanks Cindi, your Cat is 18? I just lost my 20 year old to old age, Hershey seems so young to be sick. Thanks for spreadsheet, I'm sure I will have many more questions as time goes on, will go to Walmart Wednesday and get what I need. Vet not very helpful. Don't think he thinks home testing necessary. Yes he is on prozinc.
 
Vet not very helpful. Don't think he thinks home testing necessary. Yes he is on prozinc.
Some vets aren't all that experienced at treating diabetic cats; my vet, at one point this spring, actually told me (after commenting on my FDMB SS) that most vets could learn a lot from the people who were helping me at FDMB! (Have to give him snaps for saying that!) BTW, my Bat-Bat was diagnosed at about age 9, too.

+2 or +3 means two hours/ three hours after the insulin injection. The spreadsheet's in two 12-hr. cycles per day.
 
It is about now when BJM will chime in with this information. :) Here is an explanation of the spreadsheet. Let us know if you have any questions.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Since you already got the Understanding The Spreadsheet info, here's another task for you.

When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
general location (city and state/province)
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
Welcome! My Goof was on ProZinc from Dec 2014 until last May when he went into remission. (Thank God). His first BG was 652, but my vet believes in a conservative approach, starting with with .5 units. He recommended home testing immediately as testing at the vet will usually produce higher numbers due to the stress of a vet visit. We never changed the dosage until 3 full cycles, 3 days, as it takes a while for the cat's body to learn to work with the insulin. Goof never went over 2.5 units.

I did spring for the AlphaTrak2 meter, but DANG the cost of the strips will scare ya to death! I read on here where some people were using the Freestyle Lite strips as they're made by the same company and look identical. If you do a FDMB search on those strips, you'll see the info on this. But bear in mind, the spreadsheet is set up for human meter use, I don't update the SS anymore for that reason, but I do still test a couple of times a week. His number are in the mid-high 80's to mid-low 100 teens.

For a good low carb dry food, I recommend the Evo chicken and turkey cat food. It's the lowest carb dry that isn't horrifically expensive. If you can't find it in your area, you can find it at chewy.com, it's cheaper there too.
 
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
You are doing the right stuff for your sweet Tinker, Judy.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc- it's in blue in my signature.

I can set up a spreadsheet for you, if you want. Just Let me know.
Thank y
You are doing the right stuff for your sweet Tinker, Judy.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc- it's in blue in my signature.

I can set up a spreadsheet for you, if you want. Just Let me know.
I read the protocol for ProZinc, and I'm wondering if because his last "BG test" at the vet was 204, should he still be getting 3 units x 2 of insulin. Very worried this could be too much. Could I lower it back to 2 units x 2 until I start home testing? He has never been this low. The morning he went to the vet, he was tested 4 hours after his insulin of 3 units and after eating, what are your thoughts?
 
Yes, I think 3 units is too much. What you think about restarting at one unit? It's our usual starting dose. We think it's much easier and safer to increase slowly, based on your home testing rather than try to guess how much to safely reduce
 
One additional thought. We suggest new diabetes not shoot under 200 until they have enough data to predict what their cat might do. And normal levels are 40 - 120 OFF insulin. So he is not high. Many cats start in the 400-500s
 
The only thing is, this BG of 204 is based on 1 test at the vet's office after he had been at 3.0 units x 2 for 2 weeks. So if I go back to 1 unit x2 how do I know that he will not go back up to his high? My vet started him at .5 for 2 weeks, barely any change, then 1.0 for 2 weeks, then 2.0 for 2 weeks, and finally 3.0. for two weeks He went from 488 or something down slowing to 204. I have gradually over the last two months changed his diet to all wet high protein food, with a 1/4 cup evo salmon and herring dry. So it could be both the insulin and diet that is bringing his numbers down. I want to start testing, I'm not excited though. I continue to have a tough time stomaching the injections, but feel I have almost mastered it. Now the thought of tearing up this little ear is killing me. BUT I know this must be done. I am terrified about shooting insulin into him and nowtknowing where he's at. So where do I start? I know before his injections. Can I just begin with testing with this and graduate to the one before bed? I test BEFORE I feed him and BEFORE the injection? Best time for further testing as stated above is +6 hours after morning injection, and +4 hours after evening injection? Help and hugs would be appreciated :))) I do agree thought that 3.0 is way too much.
 
The only thing is, this BG of 204 is based on 1 test at the vet's office after he had been at 3.0 units x 2 for 2 weeks. So if I go back to 1 unit x2 how do I know that he will not go back up to his high? My vet started him at .5 for 2 weeks, barely any change, then 1.0 for 2 weeks, then 2.0 for 2 weeks, and finally 3.0. for two weeks He went from 488 or something down slowing to 204. I have gradually over the last two months changed his diet to all wet high protein food, with a 1/4 cup evo salmon and herring dry. So it could be both the insulin and diet that is bringing his numbers down. I want to start testing, I'm not excited though. I continue to have a tough time stomaching the injections, but feel I have almost mastered it. Now the thought of tearing up this little ear is killing me. BUT I know this must be done. I am terrified about shooting insulin into him and nowtknowing where he's at. So where do I start? I know before his injections. Can I just begin with testing with this and graduate to the one before bed? I test BEFORE I feed him and BEFORE the injection? Best time for further testing as stated above is +6 hours after morning injection, and +4 hours after evening injection? Help and hugs would be appreciated :))) I do agree thought that 3.0 is way too much.

Well, that is better than starting at 3 units. We would have suggested to go up in slower steps, like from one to 1.5 etc. but yes, the change to low carb can make a huge difference. You could split the difference and lower the dose to two units and start monitoring that mid cycle carefully. The number 5-7 hours after the shot will tell you how low the insulin is taking him. You want that number to be higher than 50.

Testing will keep him safe, especially now that the insulin and food are starting to work with his body. You could start slowly with the testing. Pick a place where you will want to test and take him there. Pet, praise and a special treat (Bonito flakes and PureBites are two favorites at my house). The next time, make a rice sack (thinnish sock filled with raw rice, knotted and heated in the microwave until very warm) and take him to your testing place, warm his ear, pet, praise and treat. Meanwhile practice with the lancet and meter on yourself or another member of your family until you are confident with the way it works. Finally, take him to the spot, warm his ear and try the poke. If you have trouble managing the meter and the lancet, get the drop of blood on your fingernail and test from there.

It took us a whole weekend of poking Oliver before we got a drop of blood. Don't get discouraged if it doesn't work at first. Treat regardless and wait before trying again. The thing that finally helped us was a large enough lancet. The 30-31 gauge made for humans can be too small for cats at first; often the 25-27 gauge makes a better hole.

I will send you a private conversation- it'll be up on the right hand side of this page - about the spreadsheet.

You are doing everything great. You'll get this down and soon it will seem easy. Ask anyone here. They were just as nervous and overwhelmed as you at first.
 
Ha, yeah , if you look at my early posts you'll see what a basket case I was! It's really not so bad, you'll get the hang of it and you'll feel so much better knowing what's really going on with your kitty.
 
I was terrified at first! It's not as hard as it seems.

I watched some videos on testing and checked out Gypsy's ear to see where the vein was with a flashlight. That helped me figure out the testing thing. :)
 
When you have a moment, could you add a few tidbits to your signature? It will help us give you feedback.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
general location (city and state/province)
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
Hello Judy and Tinker, welcome to FDMB. I am new at this too and was very scared about doing the injections and BG tests, but trust me, it does get easier. Everyone here will help you with any problems and fears, they are great at giving hugs too! :bighug: You are going to do just fine and I know you are worried about hurting Hershey's ears, but it really will hurt you more than him. Rupert is all about the treat, he doesn't mind the tests at all. You can put a little neosporin with pain medication on his ears at night when finished with testing for the night. A little drop before testing works too, just don't get too much. I use vasoline for helping the blood bead up, again not too much, a dab will do it (thanks to all of you for that great tip). Good luck!
 
Welcome to the Prozinc forum. Oh my, your Hershey is doing so well, but you are right, you really don't know how well unless you test him. Plus testing him allows you to be in control and allows you to give him the optimal insulin attention.

First question was the meter. There are a few people here that do use the pet meter, AlphaTrak2. I started off with it but then changed to the Relion Micro Meter. I changed to the Relion Micro because the AlphaTrak2 was too expensive and many people here that give advice use the human meter i.e. makes things less confusing. The Relion Micro requires just the tiniest drops of blood to give you a good test. The test strips are a little more than the Relion Prime. I pay $35 for 100 test strips at Walmart. The Relion Prime is another one that people use. It requires a little more blood but the test strips are slightly cheaper. You can buy that model at Walmart too.

You will also need lancets or pokers. I use the Freestyle 28 gauge. I started out with it, because the tip is a little bigger, and I am still using it. For about 100, it cost about $10 and I get that box at Walmart too.

Second question is when to test? Before we give any insulin, we test. It tells us if it is safe to test and we can make the decision of how much to give. I am assuming that you are using the ProZinc insulin? Then if you can, there are other times you could test throughout the day as well as one just before bed. The reason for all the tests is to make sure that Hershey is safe and that you are optimizing your insulin. The best thing for you and Hershey is to get a spreadsheet set up. You can view everyone's spreadsheet...it is in our signatures. This allows you to collect data which is crucial to getting Hershey better. It also allows you and others to view the patterns, data, etc. and it is aids in providing you with advice when needed.

You are so right about getting the diet right. It will definitely help Hershey with his numbers and could possibly get him regulated and possibly remission. What are you feeding Hershey today?
The lady who helped me at Walmart gave me the lancets that are smaller. Should I return them for the 28 size?
 
How much smaller? I go to Walmart too and they always tell me that I can't return any diabetic products but I am not sure if that includes the lancets.
 
Last edited:
Even if you can't return them, I'd get the 28 gauge for now. You can probably use the smaller ones once his ear "learns" to bleed. (poking makes the capillaries fatten up.)
 
Welcome Judy and Hershey!
Judy, good for you for starting home-tests. It will really give you peace of mind to know exactly how your kitty is doing. It took me a couple weeks before I could test Mitz without getting a knot in my stomach. After that, it just became part of our routine. You're using ProZinc, right? If it makes things easier, you can give Hershey his shot while he's eating. Mitz is distracted enough by her food that she doesn't really even notice the injection.
You're doing great!
Joan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top