Trying to get BG, Alice is spooked

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill

Member Since 2010
Alice has been on standard treatment with ProZinc since April. I told myself I'd start testing if she had a fluctuation. I took her to the vet on Friday for diarrhea and her BG was 57. Dr. H said to take her off insulin for the weekend; he'd be out of town all week but I could call his partner on Monday to assess the situation.

I had already done the research, so I bought the Relion meter kit and test strips on Saturday. I've tried two or three times a day, gently, to draw blood from her ear since then. Here's my lighthearted take on it from yesterday. http://www.dailykos.com/comments/2010/8/23/151940/042/40#c40

Today, not so lighthearted. She yips when I puncture, so I know it hurts. She runs from me, and when I touch her ear she folds it down and tries to pull away. She holds still, pretty much, after the initial struggle, bless her, but today once again no blood because I can't hold her ear long enough to see the vein and aim carefully before she bolts.

I'm getting upset. No insulin since Friday morning and if I take her to the vet it will be the same as if I get her BG level here, only with carrier trauma and a lot of expense. I really want to test her myself.

I'm sorry to sign on and immediately need help. I'll try to help others later when I can.

—Jill in Gaithersburg MD
 
Don't apologize for needing help silly! WHy do you think we all find this place and post? ohmygod_smile

Ok, testing. Each cat is different, and each human is different so approaches vary. But the 'constant' is that you have to be calm, don't apologize and validate fear, and know that it likely does NOT hurt or at least very very little. And that little poke is worth it if it saves your cat from being overdosed or at the very least mismanaged.

I sit Squeak between my legs and brush him with one hand while warming his ear. I have a very thin sheen of insulin on his ear to help the blood bead. I have a lancet device (softclix pen) set for fairly deep, and a rice sock behind his ear. It took maybe a week or two before it became easy; luckily for us we didn't need to test for long though!

It may take some time, but it mostly takes YOUR resolve.

Jen
 
So now we will offer you all the things that worked for us. Everyone has a little bit of a different approach, but eventually it worked for all of us. It will for you too.

We found warming the ear was vital for Oliver; after a few months, he would bleed pretty easily, but not at first. Have you made a rice sack? (Put regular rice in a thinnish sock, knot it and warm in microwave until very warm but not hot.) Heat the ear for 15 seconds or so.

If you put a tiny smear of vaseline on the spot where you are going to poke, it helps the blood bead up. Also, it helps you find the exact spot you want to aim for. (Use a flashlight first so you can see the little capillaries that run off the vein. That's where you want to hit.)

Are you going in at an angle with the lancet? That really helped us. And we took the clear cap off our lancet device. We found that aiming with the cap got us off the capillary we were aiming for; we could see much better without the cap.

And if you get a drop as she is moving away, put it on your fingernail and test it there. Still works!
 
Thank you both for the help. I got my mind off of her by doing actual paid work (been neglecting that) at the computer.

I'll warm a cloth in the dryer and warm her ear with it, repeat flashlight if she'll sit still so I can memorize the spot again. I tried an insulin needle, it worked and got blood but not enough, back to the lancet at an angle. I can feel it pierce the skin, gives me the creeps. I can't use the gun yet. I'll use my third hand to hold the pad behind the ear ;-) and I haven't got enough hands to use the vaseline either. She has a bruised ear already, and I haven't even gotten a result. I've been apologizing, guess I'll have to stop that. :cry:

A little lunch for me, a little affection for her, and then I'll try again.

366977833.jpg


You can see she has a suspicious nature. :-D

—Jill
 
Love the picture! Yes, she looks like she is suspicious.

Put the vaseline on the ear (after you have found the spot with the flashlight) Then get all the lancet ready to poke and the pad behind the ear. The vaseline will sit there and wait. (Wouldn't be nice to have several extra hands to do this with?)

To help with the brusing, hold lightly to the spot for a few seconds after poking (if she will let you....) You can also use Neosporin or any antibiotic cream (and with the pain relief option is fine) That seems to help too.

We spent an entire weekend poking poor Oliver over and over until we finally got a drop of blood. He was so patient, it made me cry. But you just have to believe us, that once you get it, it is easier every time and before long, you and Alice will be so complacent about the whole thing!
 
As Sue said, we all have slightly different approaches, but we all eventually got it. I found that the rice sock was no help (and smelled). What works for me is giving Megan's ear a good long rub before I start to test. There is no point in trying to test before the ear feels warm, but once it is warm, the prick will work. Or I should say, once the ear is warm, you can be sure there is blood there to be found. Actually getting a blood drop doesn't happen at once, unless by lucky accident.

I also find the lancet device invaluable, because it is much more predictable in force and exact amount of "stab" than I could ever be doing the prick freehand. Also, if I use the device, I don't feel the lancet going through her skin, which I agree is a creepy feeling.

Megan still sometimes acts like the prick hurts (flinches away from my hand). But she undermines her own argument by purring while I test (and she's not the sort of cat that purrs whenever you touch her) and also by coming up onto the counter of her own accord when she sees me get the testing equipment out, which definitely didn't happen the first day (or week) but is notable now. Overall, I'm convinced that the prick truly is nothing more than a minor annoyance, if that. She *does* love the freeze-dried chicken treats that follow a test.

And it's *so* reassuring to know for sure what the BG number is.
 
I just wanted to add - from my (limited) experience, not all lancet devices are created equal. I use Bayer's Microlet 2 for Rufus (which is noisy), and after testing it on myself I found it to be painless, in fact, it was nearly without any sensation at all. On the other hand, all five times I've tested the dinky little one that came with my ReliOn Confirm (which is very quiet) I got double punctures - I think it must be prone to 'jumping' - and PAIN that left me nearly unable to type (Oh no! What ever would I do!? :lol: )

But for the noise, I like the Microlet 2 a lot, and I've heard great things about the Softclix, too. Rufus is used to the Microlet and mostly just doesn't like being held during the test.
 
One more thing. What size lancet are you using? Sometimes the real thin ones just aren't enough to get blood. I think 29 is the preferred size at first.
 
Ah, a beautiful tortie. They are born trouble-makers :razz:

I know when I started testing Donovan, it was a Really Big Deal. And he sensed that, and freaked accordingly. Heck, I started out testing his paw pads for a while, and he was NOT happy about that. This is one of those things where you'll get all sorts of suggestions and advice, but ultimately you need to experiment and find what works best for you and Alice. Clicky-lancet versus freehand. Rice sock versus ear rubs. Then of course you need to figure out how to arrange yourself and her and the various testing paraphernalia *and* have enough hands to do everything *and* do it as quickly and calmly as possible. It can be done. You're in the right place for lots of help.

MJ&Donovan
 
I have never ever ever tried to freehand, and I'd bet money that this is the source of your problem. If you are at all nervous your poke will not be quick or firm enough. That is why a lancet device is invaluable.
 
...how to arrange yourself and her and the various testing paraphernalia *and* have enough hands to do everything *and* do it as quickly and calmly as possible.

Yup, that's how it is, but I have ten fingers I can use, and I've been fairly calm so far. I pick up the little basket, get on the floor and brush her, and then attack try to test her.

I'll use the lancet gun on myself first and then try it on her next time. It gives me the shivers to think about it. I did sub-q fluids on a kitty I had a few years ago, so the insulin needle was easy. This puncture weapon... not so much.

But I think Alice and I will get it right pretty soon.

You guys are terrific.

—Jill
 
I have not even attempted a prick yet. But, I or we are working up to it - I think.
He saunters into the bathroom and we have a big grooming session - lots of work around the cheeks and top of head - lots of ear rubbing - lots of combing - twisting knuckle in the ear etc - then a treat. At some point, when he seems relaxed, I will attempt a blood taking. I know I'll be nervous but........
I still need a lancet device. These posts have convinced me.T

We certainly have the feeding down pat - he's producing a nice, semi soft stool and the drinking has abated somewhat. AND, he's not bugging us to get up til it's 7:30 - yay.

I wish my vet had rx'd more syringes tho - going thru them too fast compared with the Lantus. Fingers crossed, it's over 30 days and no sign of cloudiness.
 
For both of you, if you are really struggling, you might put your city and state in a new topic subject line and ask for help. If there is someone who lives close by, maybe they can come help the first time.
 
Hi Jill,
Sorry you two are having problems. I hate needles and all that- and find a lancet device really helpful - can't do the freehand. But I had to practice on me to figure out how to be accurate when I placed it on the ear. Very helpful for me was the rice sock if the ears is at all cool. Less than one minute in the wave on Low.

I also have found it really helpful to wear a head lamp to be able to see exactly where I'm poking both for the testing and the injecting. You can pick one up for under $30.00. And don't you think you will look really cool crawling around on the floor with a headlamp on!

You'll catch on fast-
 
I'm still working on the problem.

A friend came over to help today. Alice stayed in the very back of her wicker "safe house" and we couldn't drag her out because the stress would... add to the stress. As soon as my friend left, of course, Alice pranced out and asked for food. Another session on the floor, me puncturing her ear, her yowling, no blood, she ran away, yada yada. Her poor ears are so bruised.

I'm in Gaithersburg, MD. I think I saw someone on the list from here. Maybe they'll help me, but I don't want to ask, in case they've moved on to other activities and it would be an intrusion.

—Jill
 
did you get a lancet device yet? Also, make sure you apply pressure after you poke.

There are very few people who would NOT want to help. That's what this board is about, so reach out :-D
 
did you get a lancet device yet? Also, make sure you apply pressure after you poke.

There are very few people who would NOT want to help. That's what this board is about, so reach out :-D
 
We did it! We did it!

Her BG was 56 at dinnertime. I gave her the better tasting food for dinner as a reward. Bless her heart, she has so many holes in her ears I should buy her diamond studs.

I used the lancet gun but had to poke the same spot a couple more times. She howled but didn't run away. Thank goodness the Relion only needs .03 to work.

Happy I am!

—Jill
 
Congrats on getting blood. And what a beautiful kitty you have. Pretty, pretty, pretty. Thanks for sharing such a gorgeous gal w/us.

You are gifted....it took me a week before I was really successful at getting the blood from Curry. Poor kitty...she has lots of holes in her ears as well. I just hate it when she bends her ear or pulls her head away just when I'm ready to poke or get the blood.
 
Good mornin' e'buddy!

Alice's fasting blood sugar this morning, after I tortured the poor girl, was... wait for it... 55!

I have the timer set to test two hours after breakfast, but I'm already wondering if she's been getting insulin wrongly for quite a while.
 
Oh you must be so pleased! And yes, I would imagine she's been overdosed for some time possibly...now you know why we are so pushy :)
 
Oh for Pete's sake! Two hours after breakfast her blood glucose measures 49!

Good thing she hasn't had insulin shots for a week.

I'll test her one more time before lunch about 2 or 3 hours from now. I don't know whether to be glad or angry. She's been on insulin since April, two glucose curves at the vet about 2 months apart during that time, she stayed on 3 units 2x day until last week.

Grrrr.

—Jill
 
My vet, whom I love, was following standard treatment. It was up to me to test if I wanted to, he was fine with it. But I didn't test.

I know she's okay. Now that I know that, I can think about the hundreds of $$$ I've spent for want of a $35.00 glucometer and some determination.

Every cat I have is a hard lesson in life for me. They all deserve a place at the right front paw of Ceiling Cat.

—Jill
 
Jill,

One of things you can do now is to pay it forward. Most new people who come on this site is afraid to take the advice here over their vet's. Understandably - but as you saw, vets don't know as much about feline diabetes as the people here who have successfully treated their cats. Vets are often reluctant to have people test at home - usually because they think it will overburden the consumer or because the vet will lose the "control" of the treatment. If you would post on some of the newbie posts, and tell them about your experience, it would help.
 
I just tried to test Alice again. I was down on the kitchen floor trying to do it fast and I really jabbed her ear—twice, maybe three times. No blood, because I didn't get the right angle—not enough room, not enough light. I think I was torturing her, even though you guys say it doesn't hurt much. My only hope is that it doesn't leave pain afterward, but I don't know that, and I feel awful.

For two nights she's jumped up on my bed and stretched out on me for a while, then slept snuggled up next to me as if she's comforting me instead of the other way around. More likely she's being sweet so I won't be cruel to her any more.

This really sucks.
 
Jill, chill. oooh that rhymes!

Seriously for a minute

1. you don't have test again today
2. you aren't REALLY hurting her although it may not be pleasant
3. many cats figure out pretty quickly that we are trying to help; some remind their humans when it is test time!
4. try another way. I sit on the floor with Squeak between my legs, all comfy and relaxed. I warm his ear while brushing him, then grab my lancet pen and put it next to his ear, rice sock behind his ear for support. Click, the lancet pen pokes for me and the blood beads up. I grab my tester and presto magic :-D Then while the tester counts down, I put some pressure on his ear by holding it inbetween my fingers and gently pressing. Thats it.

This will get easier. But take the pressure off yourselves because you aren't giving insulin so you don't need to constantly test and worry. See where she is tomorrow, ok?
 
Thanks, Jen. I usually just wait for my feelings to pass—whatever I'm upset about, it balances out, but this time I wanted to say something to somebody instead of just waiting for it to go away.

I have another cat, named Katie. She's a tough, cheerful little wench who's never been sick a day in her life.

301978311.jpg


I can't be sad when I think about how Katie sails up onto my bed like a frisbee. She sticks the landing in perfect silence right next to me. How does she do that at 18 lbs?

—Jill
 
Lol sounds like you have some great gurl cats! Vent here anytime, that is what we are here for. Just don't let this disease get you down...esp when there is such progress!
 
Hello everybody,

Alice and I are back from the vet.

The Relion meter has been registering her at a bg from 47 to 60 for over a week, and it was 47 this morning, so I called the vet's office and she said to bring Alice right over. She tested at 85 on their meter, and I left her with the good doctor for a couple of hours for more testing. It seems that Alice's blood glucose was 85 to 175 while she was there.

My glucometer appears to have been registering 40 to 120 points too low, and I don't think her bg was really 45 to 60 at any time while I was measuring it. I was damn lucky she didn't have high blood sugar with the meter registering normal. My own bg tests normal, so I don't think the meter is miscalibrated. It just doesn't do cats.

Alice is still in remission and doesn't need insulin. The doctor recommended keeping an eye on her with ketone strips, which I can do, but I'm pretty upset and a bit angry about the whole thing.

—Jill
 
Jill, I'm happy you're insulin free at this point, but one of the very important things to remember about cats and their blood glucose levels is the effect stress has on them. Some cats are worse than others, but inevitably, being put into a little box and carted into a car for a ride to the vet alone can cause a jump. My cat, for one, gets very upset in the car. At the vet is a whole other world of stress factors.

Also, a couple nights of heavy monitoring has taught me that BG levels can change within minutes of a reading - I don't think a reading you catch at home is necessarily indicative of a true or false result based on one you catch an hour later (or what have you) at the vet.
 
Thanks RuBee. I don't get notified when people post, that's why I've delayed so long in answering. I'll look for the button for emails.

Alice's BG was low normal after yelling at me all the way to the vet, so it's clear that the ride didn't raise it. It's been ten days or so without insulin, and I've ordered control solution to test the Relion meter. I'll test her again when I get it calibrated. I think the new diet has done the trick, though.
 
It's five years later and Alice (now 16 going on 17) is diabetic again. She also has congestive heart failure. Has anybody had to treat a cat with these two conditions?
 
Hi Jill, sorry to hear Alice is out of remission & now has congestive heart failure. I don't have any info, about treating these two conditions. But I think you should start new thread & put the prefix with ?. It probably would be easier for others to respond. Prayers & positive thoughts:bighug:

Madeline
 
I tested Alice just now and got 107. I don't see how she could be 386 at the vet's last week and 107 today, but I'll take it. Maybe that no-grain food really is helping.

The kitty cardiologist can't tell from the X-rays whether Alice has heart trouble or asthma. Her breathing is much better now, and so is mine.
 
Hi Jill,

The diet change may be affecting numbers. The other possibility is that the BG reading at the vet's may have been falsely elevated by stress. If there's that wide a range in her BG and she's on insulin I'd suggest being extra cautious and maybe testing a little more often?

I also think it would be a good idea to start a new thread asking for help with Alice's heart problems. That way people who may have experience of managing the condition may be able to offer some help and support for Alice and yourself.

Hope you're both having a grand Christmas Day. :)


Mogs
.
 
Vet stress may raise the glucose 100-180 mg/dL, so tests at home may be that much lower.
Changing from a high carb to low carb diet may reduce the glucose 100-200 mg/dL and reduce the insulin 1-2 units lower, based on reports here.
With both of those factors, the tests at home, post-diet change, could easily come down to the levels you're getting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top