Trying to do a least a partial glucose curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaraB

Member Since 2015
I must first start out by giving a hardy thank you to my sugarcat, Joshi - who put up with multiple poking today, especially since it took it seems 10+ pokes each time to get a successful blood drop for testing. She's going to demand diamond studs next time I pierce her poor little ears. She's taking it all in stride though, which gives my nervous stomach a little less stress.

Since I hadn't done a curve yet, I wanted to at least do a partial curve to get a better idea of her fluctuations and how the Vetsulin in working. My mom usually takes care of the morning injection at 7:30am, but she's really scared of doing the BG testing, so I started tests AMP+4, doing it every 2 hours (skipped the 5:30pm). Her last test as of now was PMP, before giving her some pre-shot food. I want to do one at 9:30pm so I can see the PMP+2 value. (Hope I'm getting all those acronymns right.:))

Pretty much confirmed the spot-checking as I was doing yesterday. Numbers aren't quite where they should probably be - about +4 to+5 AMP is where her nadir seems to occur (today it was 208). PMP today was a little less than it was yesterday - 391 (408 yesterday). So...not sure what this means. Perhaps the diet needs a little tweaking? Perhaps the dose (which I won't don on my own of course)? Discuss with the vet different insulin options?The vet appointment falls a month since her first diagnosis.

Now, I can tell just by her demeanor and appearance that she feels much better. She's not drinking and peeing constantly, though it does vary a bit throughout the day (probably in relation to her BG). So, the Vetsulin is having some effect - just wish it was more. *sighs*
 
You've got the abbreviations close!! It's AMPS and PMPS (AM Pre-Shot and PM Pre-Shot)

Don't forget to put how much you gave in the U columns of your spreadsheet...so if you're giving 2 units, you should have 2 in the "U" columns

You're really going to have to see if you can get your mom testing though....it's VERY important to always know what the blood glucose is before you shoot or you could shoot when they're already running too low and cause a hypoglycemic crisis....or worse.

The good news is that the more you test, the more new capillaries grow into the ear and it'll be MUCH easier in a few weeks to get blood on the first poke. I think I could probably just look at China's ears and they'd bleed for me now!!

As I've said before, Vetsulin isn't a great insulin for cats but it's going to be up to you if you want to try one of the better insulins (and of course the willingness of your vet to prescribe one of the longer acting, more gentle insulins like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc)

Right now, if she's starting out in the high 300's to low 400's and getting to low 200's, that's not bad, but it's still too high, so you're either going to need to increase her dose or try a different insulin that may work much better for her

What we like to see is a nadir in the 50-120 range so she's got a ways to go.....but the good thing about it is that IF you can get her into more normal numbers, it's possible that the pancreas can heal and start to resume producing insulin on it's own!
 
Added the units in the spreadsheet.

I'll work on my mom...she did watch me do the BG testing a few times today. Before, she was convinced that Joshi would think we were torturing her. Joshi, of course, proved her wrong...she's been so good! Even purring while I was massaging her ears.
 
Yeah we hear vets tell people that they shouldn't home test because they're going to ruin their relationship with their cats....it couldn't be further from the truth!!

The relationship you'll build with your sugarcat will be closer than any relationship you've ever had with a furkid!! ....of course this makes it all the harder on us when it's time for them to leave us too
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top