You're making progress! I may throw a monkey wrench in, however. I think you should increase her dose to 3.25u. From our
TR guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You've got 6 cycles at this dose (after the skipped shot), but you also had 14 cycles at 3.0 before those skipped shots and this dose is only getting her into the 100's. Your goal is to get everything in the 50-120 range. When she stays in blood sugar range that is higher than normal (50-120), her body gets used to it as the normal range. The consequence of that is that it will then take even more insulin (increasing the dose) to push her blood sugar back into the normal range. That's called
Glucose Toxicity.
I totally understand your nervousness, but there is also a risk for her to be sitting in higher numbers. At this point you are aware of & focused on the risks of her going into low numbers, but the alternative also has consequences. I think you would be pleasantly surprised if you shot a lower number. What is happening when you stall is that the insulin is wearing off. Shooting while the last dose is still in effect and the BGs are in good numbers is a way of increasing the overlap - the time when the last shot is still effective and the current shot is taking effect. That is an AWESOME way of getting control of BGs and getting rid of the higher numbers.
I'd really, really encourage you to just decide that you are going to shoot the full dose into everything over 50 at +12 as long as you're going to be home to monitor. That's the path to regulation.
Libby wrote a post a while ago about shooting a dropping number:
Re: Tight Regulation Protocols: Myths Debunked
Here’s another misconception I have seen floating around LL from time to time:
“Don’t Shoot a Dropping Number”
I LOVE when I have an opportunity to shoot a dropping number! It’s a great way to take advantage of the overlap provided by Lantus and Levemir. Low or dropping preshots are a GIFT that helps us move our cats closer to tight regulation. This is a Tight Regulation forum, so grab it!
Remember, you are not shooting the number your cat is at now. You are shooting the number he will be at hours from now, when the insulin kicks in. You have probably noticed that once your cat starts to rise, he/she can rise very quickly. If you shoot, you will also be feeding, which can also contribute to the rise. If you wait for the rise to start before shooting, you might be behind before you even get started. When you have an opportunity to get the insulin in before the rise starts, rejoice and SHOOOOOOT!!! Feed as usual and monitor the beginning of the cycle. Feed strategically in the first couple of hours if you need to prop him up until the rise begins. He will still rise, but probably not as fast or as far because the insulin will be there before he needs it.
We do have guidelines for “Shooting Low Numbers,” but those guidelines are primarily an educational tool to help caregivers learn to shoot low. Once you know your cat’s response to food and insulin, then usually you will have the best results from shooting at +12, whether the number is high, low, rising, falling, whatever. Of course, common sense applies. 30s are not shootable, and 40s are not shootable unless you have TONS of data to show that it is ok for your cat (if you are wondering if that is you, it is not. ;-) Almost nobody should be shooting 40s and if you are in that category then you already know it). You do not want to shoot if there is any reason to believe you will not be able to keep your cat safe.
These insulins are not at their best when we ask them to pull down high numbers. They are GREAT at grabbing onto lower numbers and holding them flat. SHOOOOOOOOT!!!
Lucy (PZI and Lantus) --
Jazzy (acromegaly) --
Kris Kringle (KK) (Levemir and R)