? Trying not to panic - hypo later? Pmps 139 0.5u since friday. +1.5 150 , +2.5 144, +4 137, +7 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

Myagi (GA) and Heidi

Member Since 2017
Ok. Breathing. Going to eat my dinner. Myagi pmps 139. Only couple days on. 5u. He's eating. I'm staring. How often do I need to test to make sure no hypo??? I shot anyway cause those are the rules for wearing big girl pants to care for sugar babies! His lows have only been 200s. Breathing. Putting phone down to eat.
 
Can you update your SS with the PMPS and any additional tests you got during the day, it will help others help you.

I stay up pretty late and can keep you company, but I am not very experienced, we've only been at this since September.

How often you test largely depends on what kind of numbers you are seeing, since you are pretty new and you don't have a lot of data, you're probably going to need to test a good bit. +1 and +2 should give you some insight about the cycle ahead.
 
Next time you get a Pre-shot you're not sure about, DON'T feed!! Stall for 20 minutes or so and test again to see if he's coming up on his own without the influence of food.

That being said, since you don't have many mid-cycle tests (and none today) we don't know if he went lower earlier in the cycle and is on his way up, or if he's still dropping

Can you change his shot time tomorrow and shoot 2 hours later?....and then work your way back to your normal time 15 minutes per cycle?
 
Next time you get a Pre-shot you're not sure about, DON'T feed!! Stall for 20 minutes or so and test again to see if he's coming up on his own without the influence of food.

That being said, since you don't have many mid-cycle tests (and none today) we don't know if he went lower earlier in the cycle and is on his way up, or if he's still dropping

Can you change his shot time tomorrow and shoot 2 hours later?....and then work your way back to your normal time 15 minutes per cycle?
@Chris & China ok. Timing wise can I work With a smaller window than two hours? Tomorrow would be ok but rest of week will be issue.
 
Well since you fed him, we'd want to wait 2 hours and that would be your PMPS tonight....so tomorrow you could shoot 1 hr, 45 minutes late at AM, 1 hour 30 minutes late at PM....but it would take a few days to get back to your usual time. 4 days in total @ 30 minutes per day so you wouldn't be back on normal time until Tuesday morning

It may be best to just skip tonight and start over in the morning. Just put N.S. in the U column (for No Shot)

We usually will shoot at 150 here, but you don't really have enough data on him yet to do it quite yet....eventually you work your way down to where you'll shoot anything over 50, but only after you have a lot of data on your cat and understand how they respond to both food and insulin
 
Well since you fed him, we'd want to wait 2 hours and that would be your PMPS tonight....so tomorrow you could shoot 1 hr, 45 minutes late at AM, 1 hour 30 minutes late at PM....but it would take a few days to get back to your usual time. 4 days in total @ 30 minutes per day so you wouldn't be back on normal time until Tuesday morning

It may be best to just skip tonight and start over in the morning. Just put N.S. in the U column (for No Shot)

We usually will shoot at 150 here, but you don't really have enough data on him yet to do it quite yet....eventually you work your way down to where you'll shoot anything over 50, but only after you have a lot of data on your cat and understand how they respond to both food and insulin
?? I shot him tonight. I thought I was supposed to.??
 
OK....then you'll want to get a +1 and +2 and see how he's doing. IF we need to intervene, it's better to catch it early

Don't panic....he may do just fine!! Just make sure you have plenty of strips, high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup .....just in case you need them!!

We don't usually suggest shooting lower numbers until you have a little more experience on how your cat reacts, but it's OK....as long as you're able to test, you'll be able to keep him safe!
 
OK....then you'll want to get a +1 and +2 and see how he's doing. IF we need to intervene, it's better to catch it early

Don't panic....he may do just fine!! Just make sure you have plenty of strips, high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup .....just in case you need them!!

We don't usually suggest shooting lower numbers until you have a little more experience on how your cat reacts, but it's OK....as long as you're able to test, you'll be able to keep him safe!
I will! I have plenty. Grateful while breathing. He's been annoyed by the mid tests so this won't be fun but we got it. He's great for amps and pmps because of meals. But the mids I have to dag him out from under the bed or out of closet. But I have all and will set out to be handy and will post the numbers. Thanks!!!!@
 
We don't usually suggest shooting lower numbers until you have a little more experience on how your cat reacts, but it's OK....as long as you're able to test, you'll be able to keep him safe!

Curious... what would be a number for him that I wouldn't shoot below (presuming he goes back to high yellows)?
 
I will! I have plenty. Grateful while breathing. He's been annoyed by the mid tests so this won't be fun but we got it. He's great for amps and pmps because of meals. But the mids I have to dag him out from under the bed or out of closet. But I have all and will set out to be handy and will post the numbers. Thanks!!!!@
Do you have any (low carb) treats you could give him that are just special for test times? That might make it a lot more appealing for him. :cat:
 
what would be a number for him that I wouldn't shoot below

At first, our "stall" number is 150....if he's under 150, stall, don't feed and post for help.....test again in 20-30 minutes

If the number goes up in that time, it's usually safe to go ahead and shoot because it means the last shot is wearing off....plus, since the onset of Lantus isn't usually for a couple of hours, you've got time to get him eating well.

As you get more experience, that "no shot" number starts to come down. Those of us with enough experience that are doing Tight Regulation will shoot anything over 50 (and I've actually shot a 50 once!)
 
but you're a sugar cat rock star!!!

I learned from some of the best!....right here on the FDMB!!

Most of us are so grateful for the help we get that we want to "pay it forward"....that's what I'm doing!!

Not everyone is comfortable giving dosing advice and that's fine...it's a big responsibility....but a lot of times what a newbie needs to hear are things like "I was where you are a few weeks ago and I'm doing it!" and "We understand and will help you any way we can"
 
upload_2017-12-3_23-16-10.png


Go to Thread Tools....you'll see the option to Edit there
 
I'd get a +2.5 for sure....that's about the same as the PMPS...I would have expected a little more of a food bump

She has alot of fancy feast so its more of under 3 or 4 carb.
I labeled any food I sent her so she has some medium carb & gravy lovers if needed. Also has zero dry & evo 8% dry before they changed it if needed.
Shes in good hands with you so I know I can go to bed since Sprocket good n food packed tonight. I will check when I get up in few hours though Heidi!!
Myagi be a good boy!!
 
She has alot of fancy feast so its more of under 3 or 4 carb.
I labeled any food I sent her so she has some medium carb & gravy lovers if needed. Also has zero dry & evo 8% dry before they changed it if needed.
Shes in good hands with you so I know I can go to bed since Sprocket good n food packed tonight. I will check when I get up in few hours though Heidi!!
Myagi be a good boy!!

Big hugs!!!! Sleep well.

And yes Darnell actually labeled the cans with carb # for me! His meals are always less than 3, often 0 or 1 and sometimes with just a little sprinkle of zero on it for happy cat.
 
And yes Darnell actually labeled the cans with carb # for me!

Guess who taught her about labeling cans?......LOL

Just in case, if you ever need it, there's a 911 "prefix" you can use (you'll see it on the left side of the subject line when you "edit")....the 911 is for emergencies like dropping too low so you get eyes on your post as quickly as possible. Once someone is helping you, you remove the 911 by changing it to "no prefix".
 
Guess who taught her about labeling cans?......LOL

Just in case, if you ever need it, there's a 911 "prefix" you can use (you'll see it on the left side of the subject line when you "edit")....the 911 is for emergencies like dropping too low so you get eyes on your post as quickly as possible. Once someone is helping you, you remove the 911 by changing it to "no prefix".

Yeah. But I knew that while it was urgent to me to know what to expect out wasn't actually a 911. Thank goodness! And thanks for teaching her.! Between dcin, Darnell and all of you, my beautiful boy is in great hands!!!
 
I was thinking more along the lines of later in the cycle tonight, but I'll be here for at least the +2.5 (and probably later)

That test will tell us a lot

Gotcha but my money's on good boy not needing it (or at least my prayers).

So if he is same or only incrementally higher should I feed more of same or a higher carb or give snack of the 8 evo?
 
I think you could test again at +4.....so far he's doing great!!

I can't stay on much longer though. I forgot my 88 year old mom starts PT again tomorrow so I have to be out earlier than usual.

There's usually always someone on later like @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey , @Wendy&Neko , @Gill & George
I got my 84 year old mom's rxs today and they sit in kitchen where I laid them to test my boy. It's her med night so I totally feel you! Thanks for being here rest and take care of mom tomorrow. Thanks again!
 

You may find that she just surfs. Often shooting lower number results in smaller changes. But I'll be watching to see what your +4 is. I'm in the same time zone as you are. I'll check back in 5-10 minutes.

+4 137. Obviously not really scary but dies mean I have to keep watching and testing. Need sleep. Can I give a little kibble 8% evo and did a plus 6 or 7?
 
That's looking like a nice, flat cycle. I can't swear to it, with so little past data, but I'd guess he's not going to do anything exciting tonight. I wouldn't give him kibble as it takes longer to get out of the system, but if you have any moist food that's 4-6%, you could give him that. A +6 or +7 is a great idea, if you can manage it.
 
Last edited:
That's looking like a nice, flat cycle. I can't swear to it, with so little past data, but I'd guess she's not going to do anything exciting tonight. I wouldn't give her kibble as it takes longer to get out of the system, but if you have any moist food that's 4-6%, you could give her that. A +6 or +7 is a great idea, if you can manage it.
He's only been on insulin since this past Friday. I have low and high but no mid carb. He's eaten without the kibble and walked away so I'll just test again. Lol.
 
I'm on the east coast, so I'm going to sleep now that Asia gave me the all clear. I would set an alarm and test in a few hours just to be safe. Hard to predict what can happen since he's so new to the game. You're doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top