Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY KITTY

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeyB

Member Since 2013
What a bouncy kitty Trinity has come to be! I'm still learning as time continues on, and the curves she has developed continue to confound me at times.

Not alot of rhyme or reason to her numbers, but she has been a happy healthy kitty through the whole process since diagnosis and the start of insulin. I'm not pressed for time on answers, but was hoping I could get some outside viewpoints on Trinity's SS.

Due to my work schedule, her AMPS is approx 9:30-10AM, and her PMPS is usually 10-10:30PM. I work after 10am 3-4 days a week, and before 10PM 5 days of the week. Otherwise I try to keep her shot times at 10am/pm. I have been a bit late or early with some shots, but try to keep the schedule tight when I can.

Both kittys have been transferrred to 100% wet food since this process started, so yay me! That was a good 6 week project to finalize but it's done, and they both eat a 4-9% diet from a selection of FF classics. I did note a somewhat significant drop in Trinity's average BG levels soon after this, so have come to the realization that she is probably sensitive to the carbs in dry form.

I'm working hard trying to get Trinity into remission if possible. Taking into account my situation here, is there anything else I can do to try and help her along this path?
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

JoeyB said:
...I'm working hard trying to get Trinity into remission if possible. Taking into account my situation here, is there anything else I can do to try and help her along this path?
Hi Joey,

I wouldn't change (much) just yet. Everything looks pretty normal so far. Stick with the protocol and try to have some patience. Believe me I know how that is.

OK get some test strips. ;-)

Actually I've got to talk to Venita and figure out where things are regarding test strips and meters. That was plenty interesting the other night! nailbite_smile

I'd hold the 1.25U for the short term (until the bounce clears) and see where she is. If the reduction doesn't hold you will want to get back to the last good dose.
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

Your ears must have been burning, we were talking about Trinity yesterday. :-D Saying we need her back, since Autumn is back with us and she's the only girl, to keep these boys on their toes. ;-)

Bouncing just comes with the territory. Seems like just about all cats bounce, just some more/longer than others. I've heard the saying "They bounce till they stop" and that's pretty much it. :lol:

As for her shot times, you can only do what you can. You're keeping it as tight as possible, that's all you can do. You may see a little craziness, since an early shot acts like an increase and a late one acts like a decrease. Just do the best you can. As I understand it, a difference of 30 mins or less, has very little effect, so she should do fine. At least you are putting in a sincere effort to help her, rather than dumping her out in the woods when you found out she was FD. Big Hugz!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

Hi Joey,

I'm a little pressed for time this morning as I'm on hypo watch with my girl but as soon as I have her in safe numbers I will take a look at her ss and give you my thoughts.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

Yey! Trinity's back!

Wow, she's a bouncin'

I was you back in mid-summer. Did all the right things and then just had to wait for the pancreas to do its part. Over time, the bounces will be lower. Like right now my boy bounces to the low 200s but back in June he was bouncing in the 300s like you are seeing. It's a waiting game and the frustrating part for me was that I was having to raise the dose instead of lower it. Eventually we got to top dose at 1.75 and then started lowering and still lowering and now I even have a slimmer of hope for remission. So you just keep doing what you are doing because it is working - and then sit and wait. That's the dance! The changes you can't control have to come in their own time.

Looks like Autumn let Trinity borrow her pink bikini :lol:

What kind of LC pouch food are you feeding?
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

BTW anything within 15-30 minutes on the shot time shouldn't matter too much.

You're doing such a great job on the testing, and you've come a long way in such a short time.

So I 'd just go by the book for now. And you might get the full SS analysis from Marje before too long.
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

Okay had a chance to look at Trinty's spreadsheet and I have to agree she looks like she is right on course. Now it is just a waiting game for her body to get use to what normal feels like again. I always compare it to driving on a highway at 75mph and having to slow down to 45mph for condtruction. Your brain tells you that you are still moving quickly but your body still feels like you are crawling along and it wants you to go faster. But if you continue to drive at that 45mph your body readjust and it feels like normal speed again. Same thing with a diabetic kitty their bodies get so use to being high that when they hit normal numbers or even lower than they have seen in awhile it feels too low to them, so their bodies want what feels right again. But unlike us in a car where we can see how fast we really are going and not step on the accelorator,the kitty has to go on feel so they react. and release stored sugars and counterregatory hormones.

One thing about a bouncy kitty is at least you know that while her pancreas may not be fully functional at least her liver is on the ball

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

RobinCot said:
Yey! Trinity's back!

Wow, she's a bouncin'

I was you back in mid-summer. Did all the right things and then just had to wait for the pancreas to do its part. Over time, the bounces will be lower. Like right now my boy bounces to the low 200s but back in June he was bouncing in the 300s like you are seeing. It's a waiting game and the frustrating part for me was that I was having to raise the dose instead of lower it. Eventually we got to top dose at 1.75 and then started lowering and still lowering and now I even have a slimmer of hope for remission. So you just keep doing what you are doing because it is working - and then sit and wait. That's the dance! The changes you can't control have to come in their own time.

Looks like Autumn let Trinity borrow her pink bikini :lol:

What kind of LC pouch food are you feeding?

No pouch foods, too expensive for my budget. Just Fancy Feast classics for the time being.

Patiently waiting for the bounces to level off, yesyes. She went up to 2u BID, but has since come down to 1.25, so I'm overall happy with whats going on, just want it to go quicker! :-D
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

MommaOfMuse said:
Okay had a chance to look at Trinty's spreadsheet and I have to agree she looks like she is right on course. Now it is just a waiting game for her body to get use to what normal feels like again. I always compare it to driving on a highway at 75mph and having to slow down to 45mph for condtruction. Your brain tells you that you are still moving quickly but your body still feels like you are crawling along and it wants you to go faster. But if you continue to drive at that 45mph your body readjust and it feels like normal speed again. Same thing with a diabetic kitty their bodies get so use to being high that when they hit normal numbers or even lower than they have seen in awhile it feels too low to them, so their bodies want what feels right again. But unlike us in a car where we can see how fast we really are going and not step on the accelorator,the kitty has to go on feel so they react. and release stored sugars and counterregatory hormones.

One thing about a bouncy kitty is at least you know that while her pancreas may not be fully functional at least her liver is on the ball

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

I've heard that with the bounces, it actually shows good regulation in the body otherwise. I'll take that if it's progress!

Good explanation on the bouncy thing with the speeding too! I'm a pizza delivery driver, so understand well the nuances of difference in speed.

Thanks!
 
Re: Trinity 9/11 APMS 473, +5/315, PMPS 303, +3/264 BOUNCY K

nckitties3 said:
Your ears must have been burning, we were talking about Trinity yesterday. :-D Saying we need her back, since Autumn is back with us and she's the only girl, to keep these boys on their toes. ;-)

Bouncing just comes with the territory. Seems like just about all cats bounce, just some more/longer than others. I've heard the saying "They bounce till they stop" and that's pretty much it. :lol:

...At least you are putting in a sincere effort to help her, rather than dumping her out in the woods when you found out she was FD. Big Hugz!! :YMHUG:

I've had both Trinity and Nubi for over 11 years. I could NEVER think of just dumping them like that! I see it as a labor of love for her, considering all the loves shes given me over the years. Fair trade!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top