Trey`s Blood work

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
Well here we are again it is taking me a while to fine things ...I want to share Trey`s blood work and soon I will have his spread sheet Marje & Gracie are helping me. Thank you so much I know I did it before but that was 4 years ago. nailbite_smile Brian may not be working so good :oops:
 

Attachments

Hi Kath and extra sweet Trey!! Welcome to Lantus Land!

Prior thread 1/14-5/1

Could you do a little something for us that will make things easier and add which insulin you're using to your signature line? The fact that he was in remission and is out is also important since we tend to be a little more aggressive with kitties that have fallen out of remission. Maybe diagnosis date, date OTJ (as close as possible) and restart of insulin date.

Glad to hear Marje is helping you get your spreadsheet up and running. That'll help a lot to see how he responds to each dose.

If you've just started him back on insulin, it's important that you hold the same dose for at least 3-5 days and test as much as you can so we can see how well that dose is working. If you're using Lantus or Levemir, that much time is needed to "build the depot".`

Good luck with Trey and we hope we can help get him back to the Falls where he belongs!
 
Hi again you guys are the best.Trey went Otj in Aug.2010 had almost 4 great years. In his second year developed a cough and had that till Jan of 2014 when he started with what we thought was a head cold.He was started on antibiotics I will have to find the name anyway 3days after starting it the cough cleared up. He was put on the inhaler before and did a treatment for lungworm for the cough oh and his lungs have a lighter shade in xray. Then in Feb one of his adopted brothers was having a bad day and bit him on the head this led to an absess so back to vet for more antibiotics. Again in March another flare up of the sneezing fits so back on the same antibiotic by the 5th days and it is a 10day antibiotics thinks should be settling down but was not.Waited a few days and back to vet so she tried a new meds Doxycycline for 30days everything cleared up.I have always checked his Bg over the years and always great readings till Jan starting seeing a change in his numbers but once off message his numbers would start looking good again.This time do good numbers he is back on Lantus vet said because I did so awesome last time getting Trey off insulin she knew he was in save hands and I told her he would be back with FDMB so to. Slow start .5unit and will keep him on that till you tell me different. I forgot so much but slowly it will come back I hope On Wednesday.April 30th Trey had his first .25unit or as close to that as I could then Thurs May1st I increased to half a unit .5 this is day 3 So now thanks to Marje and Gracie you have my new ss for Trey.Thank you so much this has been a very bad week for me I have the worst sore throat I have ever had and my head is like it belongs to someone else. But my boy has to come first to get him on the right road. Hugs and tons of healing green light to all. Kath
 
Hi everyone yesterday was a bad day for me only got BGs twice I had a bad headache and strep throat so anyway today got one at 7 was 300 and 9:30 was 235 will get another one at +5 I am finally seeing something move see what happens then Hugs have a great Sunday everyone ...... ~O)
 
hope you feel better by morning, kath. strep throat's been going around at our elementary school and the kids who have been sick have been out for several days.

Looking at his spreadsheet, it looks like he's been in diabetic numbers since January, perhaps before then. Sitting in high numbers can cause Glucose Toxicity, meaning that his body has gotten used to these 200s-300's and he's going to need more insulin to pull him down.

if you don't see better numbers by morning, i'd increase the dose by 0.25u tomorrow. he'll have had 8 shots at 0.5u, and a total of 5 days on insulin, and his depot has likely formed by now. the lowest numbers have been in the 200's - and your goal is under 120. If he gets into blue numbers today, then you may want to hold the dose a little longer, but if you don't see any blues, i'd increase.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi again Kath!

Hope your feeling better!

Just a reminder...each day you should do a new condo and add the link to the prior one so it's easy to go back and see what's been going on. Of course the way the board has been working lately, even getting a comment onto an old condo is good!

I agree with Julie..if you don't get some much better numbers tonight, it's time to go up to .75

Hopefully he'll read his condo and see there's a dosecrease being discussed and get with the program!
 
Thank you both I was thinking about him getting a bit more so if PMPS is still around the same will do increase tomorrow....please refresh what is condo and how do I add to prior one. Sorry I am still not up to bar and am having problems getting on FDMB ......TY for your kind words Kath
 
think "cat condo" - ie, where a cat lives. We call our daily posts "condos" because our cats "live" there. It's just your thread.

We like to have people put the link in for their previous post in the first post of the day when they start a new thread. That way if those of us who give advice need to look back to see what others have said, or what the back story is on a cat's situation, we can click a link taking us backwards to yesterday and if necessary the day before. It's super helpful and saves a lot of time.

So tomorrow, you would go first to this post and copy its URL, the "www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...." address. Then close that page and go to the Main Lantus/Lev TR page (the one with everyone's subject lines showing) and click "New Post". When you get a new window to post in, go to that line above the white posting window that has the string of "B i u Quote Code List List= [*] Img URL etc".

Click in the white posting window, then go to "URL" and click it.

You'll see these brackets and you should paste the web address from yesterday in here. Then go ahead and give your update for Trey for the day.

If you have any questions, use the post icon at the top of the area to click a ? That flags for people that you need some help. When you have enough answers to satisfy you, remove the ? so we don't keep going back thinking you have a new question. That way if you have a new question and put the ? back up, we'll see it.

We also use a format that lets people see at a glance how the kitty is doing. You can see it on everyone else's subject lines of their posts. So tomorrow yours will be

5/5 Trey AMPS #, +3/# etc.

You can add topics if you want to the subject line. As you get more tests, if you get back online you can add them to the subject line.

Don't worry if you don't get the hang of it for a while. We're used to it and people will help you. The format means that everyone looking at the main page will see quickly if someone needs help - for example if their cat's numbers took a huge dive. Sometimes when you're new you don't even know what is important, but if the numbers are in the subject line, someone will see and tell you.

Does all that kinda of make sense? any questions?
 
Thank you some of it is coming back but I may need help ....we will see what tomorrow brings Hugssssssssssss Kath
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top