Trey AMPS 194 +2 160 +4 154 6.5 140 Pmps 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118831#unread

Julie you are funny but my DH use to put 2 pairs of glasses on too I did make fun of him. I do you reading glasses but they will not open your eyes when you are half a sleep.

Look at the beautiful blue I found this morning now to get him to just surf along for the next 6 hours. Gave him his 1.25u and will check at +2 Hugs and thanks for info...


Trey loves eating and I have been doing every 5-6 hours maybe I should be feeding every 4 or so do you think that would make any difference in his numbers...maybe he wouldn`t be so hungry I am going to give this a try ....smaller meals but more often the other 4 will love this . ;-) Have a great day with tons of healing green light to all....and to all that can surf the blue!!!!
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 ?

You may want to move his meals to before his nadir. If you're feeding after nadir, there's less insulin available to offset the effect of food.
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160

Hi Sienne how are you doing? Ok so what you are telling me is I should feed before his +6 like if I feed at +4 then take his nadir see what happens .....sounds like a plan to me.. Today am doing a curve so every 2 hours and of course he gets a table spoon of pate to keep him surfing in the blue we hope...he so loves eating my 4 other boys don`t mine getting extras too....

Hope I am understanding what you mean cause I do test & feed but was trying to do the 6 hour routine ... Hugs and beautiful healing green light to all fur furbabies....... ~O) :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160

Hi Kath,

Just offering up an example of what we did in case you can get any use out of it!

We first started out trying to feed about every 6 hours like you are right now. Based on recommendations like the one Sienne made, we changed our feeding schedule. We fed (generally) at AMPS, +1, +3, and then again at around +6 or +7. This varied a bit from day to day because of my work schedule. I tried really hard to slow down on feeding Jersey after nadir. If she acted like she was starving, though, I would give her a small amount. The only time I absolutely would not feed was during the 2 hours before each shot. During the evening, we fed at PMPS, somewhere between +1 to +3, and then again right before bed. Jersey never seemed as hungry in the evening, so we just kind of played it by ear during those times.

Hope this helps!
Shelly
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160

Ok thank you Shelly I am going to give something like this a try ...my other 4 boys are going to love all these tiny meals :-D Hugssssssss
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160

My pleasure! My civies loved the frequent meals, too. Of course, now we're trying to get some weight off of one of them. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160 +4 154 6.5 140

Hey look at the blue guess he is loving the small meals too :lol: ~O)
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160 +4 154 6.5 140 ?

I know it unlikely but if Trey stayed blue into his PMPS what dose would I give would I decrease or do the 1.25 just wondering...... :-D
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160 +4 154 6.5 140 ?

your goal is to get him under 120 all the time, and to keep him above 50. In general, we re-evaluate the dose about every 6 cycles and decide if it should be adjusted. With that lovely blue surf today (woot!) let's give him 8-10 cycles on this dose. Then you may end up increasing the dose - it just depends what we see on the next 2-4 cycles. You don't decrease the dose until he gets under 50.

You're seeing nadirs in the 100's now, and he's "new" to this range. So we'll give him a little more time to see if he settles into it and gets into green numbers.

From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky at the top of this forum:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Trey's looking great! I'm glad to see him out of the yellow numbers.
 
Re: Trey AMPS 194 +2 160 +4 154 6.5 140 ?

Oh ok ty Julie will just keep on doing what we are doing Hugssssssssss :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top