Hello!
I am new here and know know little about diabetes so would greatly appreciate any advise on our situation.
My 16-years cat Kir (has CKD and cholangiohepatite so takes prednisolone) got week hind legs having BG 16 mmol/L and was put on Levemir 12 days ago. We started B12 ( 3 mg a day) as well. I tried to follow SLGS method which i found here on your site (thanks a lot! ). So it was:
0,5 unit for 3days
0.25 for 3days
0.5 for 3days
0,75 for 3 days
The last test :
PS 15,5
+4 3
, +8 10,6
+12 14,2
We had some improvements in numbers (sometimes nadirs was about 4-8) but Kir's neuropathy is going worse progressively! Two days ago he got something like light seizures - periodical uncounczeuse movements of facial muscles and all legs and constant tremor of whole body (it is not visible but I can feel it when put my hand on his body). Now limping is absolutely terrible - he just drags his hind legs. No ketones in urine.
Please, help to understand what next:
should we increase dose?
should we start anything else besides B12 for treating neuropathy?
Thanks in advance for any replay!
Svetlana
--
Светлана Проценко
I am new here and know know little about diabetes so would greatly appreciate any advise on our situation.
My 16-years cat Kir (has CKD and cholangiohepatite so takes prednisolone) got week hind legs having BG 16 mmol/L and was put on Levemir 12 days ago. We started B12 ( 3 mg a day) as well. I tried to follow SLGS method which i found here on your site (thanks a lot! ). So it was:
0,5 unit for 3days
0.25 for 3days
0.5 for 3days
0,75 for 3 days
The last test :
PS 15,5
+4 3
, +8 10,6
+12 14,2
We had some improvements in numbers (sometimes nadirs was about 4-8) but Kir's neuropathy is going worse progressively! Two days ago he got something like light seizures - periodical uncounczeuse movements of facial muscles and all legs and constant tremor of whole body (it is not visible but I can feel it when put my hand on his body). Now limping is absolutely terrible - he just drags his hind legs. No ketones in urine.
Please, help to understand what next:
should we increase dose?
should we start anything else besides B12 for treating neuropathy?
Thanks in advance for any replay!
Svetlana
--
Светлана Проценко