Tray's AMPS 227 back at vet today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44210

Tray is eating on his own, not alot but some but he had some more nausea induced vomitting last night so we went back to the vet this morning. His fever was still present so he was given more sub-q fluids and another cerenia shot for the nausea and vomitting, they also sent me home with bupe for any pain he might be in. The vet's are stumped though as all his tests have come back normal. So come Tuesday a specialist is coming in to do an ultra sound and see if that sheds any light on it.

Thank you for all your help and support, please continue to pray for him (and my wallet which is taking a beating with this :lol: )
 
Hi Iorwen,
I hope that the vet can figure it out! Did Tray get into anything that might have poisoned him? (flowers; plants; chocolate; etc.?). Some plants, e.g., tulips, lillies, are very bad for cats. Stu always wanted to eat any flowers that people brought to us and we finally had to tell friends not to bring flowers to a dinner party!
Anyway, healing vines are OK, and we are sending some to Tray today (and a winning lottery ticket for your wallet!)

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Iorwen...I tried to send you a post from my phone yesterday but had some problems. Sending healing vines for Tray. I'm so sorry he hasn't gotten better.

It's late news but reading your concerns about rxn to Convenia. Gracie had convenia ONCE and her reaction was within 10 minutes. After they got her stabilized, she was fine for the next 2-3 weeks it was in her system. So I think, like someone said yesterday, if he was reacting to the convenia, it should have already happened.....

I hope they can figure this out for you...the U/S is a good idea. Prayers ....
 
Sorry to hear that Tray had some more nausea last night and fever. Hoping that everything all of a sudden will turn around and Tray will be back to your normal happy boy. Sounds like a good idea to schedule a visit with the specialist just to rule out everything. Sending hugs and prayers!
 
((((((((((Iowren)))))))))))) (((((((((Tray)))))))))))

We are all thinking about you my dear and have you both in our prayers.

Sending a ton of healing vines for Tray.
 
(((Iowren)))) ((((tray)))) Healing thoughts and prayers for sweet Tray - we just went through, the nausea and vomiting and diarrhea with Zoe - finally she seems to be feeling better. Has the vet given you Cerenia tabs to give at home? I did that with Zoe for 5 days, whether she seemed nauseous or not and it helped. She is now eating well on her own.....
 
Has the vet ruled out any inflammatory process (e.g., arthritis, autoimmune). They can cause a fever but I don't know if the results would show up on a routine blood panel. If Tray goes outside, I'd also make sure there's no tick or flea related problem.

I'm glad there's a specialist who will be in to take a look.
 
Tray is an indoor cat although he does try to eat plants and flowers we always have them up high. I suppose it's possible he got into one of them although they don't show signs of being eaten. I will discuss that with the vet. I was wondering myself if it was possible he got into some substance he shouldn't have. Would poisoning cause a fever?

The vet didn't mention any inflammatory process, I'll ask about that as well Sienne.

Again thanks so much for your experience and prayers.
 
Iorwen - you know how to give injections - did she give you some cerenia injectible for home. Its given every three days I believe. You can also give it concurrently with abx. Are you syringe feeding him still to supplement what he is eating on his own? Maybe stay away from the raw until he rebounds from this? Did you get advice from this from the vet? I don't want to cause him to have diarrhea or stomach upset on top of nausea, vomiting and fever. Did the urine culture come back?

Sending both of you big hugs.
 
(((((iorwen & tray)))) it's so hard to have our kitters be sick . . . i hope you have some answers soon.

the cerenia is available in pills - they're big and you have to cut them up - 1/4 tab was the official dose for 14lb punkin (i gave him more), but i gave it to him for several days to knock down the nausea he got from antibiotics and get him eating again. you might ask about that.
 
Sending healing vines to Tray your way. Hope he feels better soon. Glad your having an u/s done on tuesday. It is hard having a pet not feel well. You just want to wave a magic wand.

I'll be keeping you and him in my thoughts. Good luck on tuesday and hope they don't find anything and this straightens out on it's own.

Have a nice night Iorwen.

jan and sara
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
Iorwen - you know how to give injections - did she give you some cerenia injectible for home. Its given every three days I believe.

I disagree with this dosing suggestion for Cerenia (Maropitant). I think that standard practice is to administer it once daily for up to five consecutive days. If more is needed, then a break of at least two days is often suggested. My vet recently mentioned that my IM vet specialist has said that some vets are using it without a break if required. (I recently had to do this with Miss Emily GA).

http://www.felinecrf.org/stomach_acid.htm#maropitant

One drug that does come to mind that uses every third day dosing is the appetite stimulant Mirtazapine.

I am so sorry that Tray is still feeling sick. The fever seems to suggest that he has an infection somewhere which is resistant to the Convenia. I wonder if it is possible to overlay another antibiotic while Convenia is still in the system (I don't think I have ever read anything about this). I am glad you have some Bupe for him. Depending on the dosage of Bupe, you may find that it makes him a bit drugged out. If so, you can reduce the dose or frequency of dosing a bit.

I think the ultrasound is a great idea. If there is an inflammatory process somewhere in the GI tract, pancreas, liver, etc, it will show up. You will also be able to find out how the kidneys look, which may help with diagnosing a UTI/pyelonephritis, if present. I would also be thinking about repeating bloodwork next week if he is still ill, especially to see if the white blood cells, liver values, or kidney values are climbing.

I hope that the continued support for hydration, nausea/vomiting, and pain helps him feel better soon.
 
Iorwen,
I agree with Linda regarding the Cerenia....Rocket was Rx the pill form for 5 days then stop 2 days then repeat cycle....the pill form was once a day....unfortunately he had a bad reaction to the Cerenia so we stayed with the Ondansetron (Zofran)....Ondansetron can be given in injection form just like the insulin as well...so if Tray is hard to pill then that would be an option....

keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers.....

Claudia & Rocket
 
I'm not to sure if this will help or not, but a few weeks back, I was having problems with both Ralph and Ali. The would not eat and they were both throwing up. Their blood tests showed nothing and they weren't running a fever. The vet gave me ramidol (sp) for them. Ralph handled that well, but Ali couldn't keep it down. She would even gag at the sight of food. After much begging and pleading, the vet gave me some injectable famotidine and injectable metoclopramide and within two days, she was 85% better. Just a thought....
I will keep Tray in my prayers and feel better vines are on their way.
 
Hi Iorwen, I'm so sorry to hear that Tray was still sick yesterday. I hope today he is feeling better. I will be looking for an update. Sending some healing vines for Tray. Hugs.
 
((((IORWEN & TRAY)))) we are so sorry Tray is still feeling Ill!! Many Prayers being said for your sweet boy by us!
We know how upsetting it is to have a kitty fdeeling ill--Healing vines sent to Tray, our friend! Healing Hugs from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top