? TR question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
The TR Protocol says this:
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
My problem with that is Frankie could spend those whole 6 cycles bouncing, especially after a green or blue number. If that is the case would you still increase or wait until the bounce clears and then see what the dose does, or increase anyway, even though you may be missing the perfect dose?
 
You want a bounce to clear and then see how a cat does when the bounce clears before increasing.
 
Here is the full quote on increasing:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If the cat is not showing any blues during 6 cycles at a dose, it's not enough insulin. If you are seeing blues or better, then you wait 6-10 cycles. That gives you a chance to see what the dose is doing once the bounce clears. Libby gives a good description in the TR Myths Debunked post, specifically the bit on increasing during a a bounce. That post has a good description on why we wait as long as we do for a dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top