? TR Increases

Susan & Claudio

Member Since 2019
Suggested that I post this here.

Don't know if I'm wording this correctly.
Do you continue to increase every 3 days until you see somewhat regular nadirs in the 50-80 range ?
How long do you continue with the increases when you don't see any improvements ?
How do you know when all you get is yellows that this is the best readings you'll get ?

And yes, I've printed out all the info about TR.
 
Let me see if an experienced member can help
But from what I have learned you increase based in nadirs depending on where they are.
it looks like he might be time for an increase because it’s been more than 6 cycles on numbers over 200.
I’m also really glad you’re able to get more tests as that is so super important.. are the days you don’t get a test, do you skip the shot?


@Wendy&Neko
@carfurby
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Here is the link to your post on Feline Health, where Bron suggested you were fine to increase to 3.25 units tomorrow, as long as you don't see any lower blues tonight, which will be the sixth cycle.

Do you continue to increase every 3 days until you see somewhat regular nadirs in the 50-80 range ?
With TR, the number of cycles you hold the dose depends on what nadirs you are seeing, and whether it's the first time you've seen numbers that low. Green nadirs above 80 you would still hold 10 cycle. Nadirs between 100 and 199 you hold 6-10 cycles. I held longer for lower blues. It's also a good idea to factor in when the cat is going to break a bounce on the cycle you plan to increase. It's a good idea to avoid that situations, as bounce breaking cycles can be quite active, adding more insulin making it even more so. That would just mean delaying the increase 1 cycle.

How long do you continue with the increases when you don't see any improvements ?
How do you know when all you get is yellows that this is the best readings you'll get ?
The TR protocol says to hold doses with yellow nadirs for six cycles. That's enough time to know if that's as good as it gets. If you aren't seeing improvements, keep increasing as per protocol.

If in doubt or wondering if you should increase, post here and we'll help you figure it out.
 
Thanks. I already planned on an increase tomorrow morning.
He's getting much better about being tested in the morning. But 2 days ago he wasn't having any of it. I did shoot because his nadirs have been in the 200's.
He only went hypo once. That was with his very first shot back in the beginning of last Sept. Vet gave him 1U and he went hypo that night.
Waited 1 week for him to get better. Didn't know what to do then as I do now.
Started back at .5 and slowly worked my way up.
So I'll keep on keeping on.
 
Back
Top