Toro - 3 months from dx today - finally getting close....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toro & Ovi

Member Since 2017
We are finally on holding stage...for now, at least.
No fear, Toro is doing great at low numbers, some low carb food fix them right away when under 60 (feline meter). He seems to be the cat who needs to go low on and on in order to get regulated and hit the final target....and we are willing to try that.
Thank you all for your support.
 
When Toro goes under 68 he earns a reduction. Back on 10/2 his dose should've been reduced and with the 58 last night you need to reduce his dose back to 2.5u. Lantus is dosed on how low they go, not how high.
 
I want to add a bit to Karen's input. With TR, if nadirs are mostly above 200, you evaluate the dose every 5 days/10 cycles and increase the dose. If nadirs are largely over 200, you evaluate after 3 days/6 cycles. Now that you're seeing more blue nadirs, you will hold the dose for 10 cycles. If you look back to 9/23 - 10/8, you were holding the dose overly long. TR is meant to be aggressive. Holding a dose that's not putting numbers into a better range can make it more challenging to get numbers to come down.

 
"Phase 3: Holding the dose
Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 68 to 220 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing.

Don't let the cat go below 68 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=58 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases."

That's what we try to follow....Toro seems to be all right @ 58 (going outside, being active, etc.).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top