pistull
Member Since 2011
**Maybe I should be posting this in the Lantus section?? Thoughts??**
Hello All! My cat, Gizzy and I are new to this site but certainly not new to FD or the TR Protocol. Gizzy was first diagnosed in 12/08 and was OTJ from 2/23/09 - 8/23/10. After 8/10, I didn't need to dose him every day - I only dosed him when he needed it. However, as of 1/20/11 - I can't seem to get him regulated. He seems to be in high flats and I'm having a hard time determining if it's too much insulin (Somogyi rebound) or if he needs more insulin. Can you please take a look at his #'s and let me know what you think?? He's on Lantus.....and eats only Fancy Feast (Classic) foods. Gizzy is 12 years old, an orange tabby, weighs 14 pounds and is the love of my life! :smile:
Background Info: He had his teeth cleened in 11/2010 and I just had him at the vet on 2/1/2011. She put him on antibiotics because he had the red line on his gums and she said his lymph nodes were a little enlarged. Also, as a side note, our other cat had a BAD case of upper respiratory infection in November....he still has a runny nose and sneezing sometimes ($1500 vet bill and 4 months later....I'm starting to believe that he has feline herpes). I'm sure that Gizzy has it too since they live in close quarters....I have no idea what the correlation between feline herpes and feline diabetes is???? Does anyone know if he has that - can he ever go back into remission again??
1-14 (day we left for vacation) 238 .5u (he hadn't had a shot in 5 days prior to this one)
1-20 (day we got home) 356 .5u (started him at .5u because that's what he's been on forever - thought this would jolt him back)
1-21 +13.5 252 .5
1-21 +12 342 .5
1-22 +10 396 fat .5
1-22 +4.5 363
1-22 +10 352 .5 (bought new insulin - thought this may be the problem...)
1-23 +9.75 238 fat .5
1-23 +10 389 1u (.5 obviously not working)
1-23 +10 215 1u
1-24 +10.25 51 (hmmmm......rebound??)
1-24 +18.87 103
1-24 +21.76 337 1u
1-25 +10 323 1u
1-25 +10.5 337 1u
1-26 +12 349 1u
1-26 +6 177
1-26 +11 310 1u
1-27 +10 350 .75u (not sure why I switched him here - but I did. Dumb)
1-27 +10 311 .75u
1-27 +6 245
1-27 +10 381 .75u
1-28 +10 383 1u
1-28 +11 481 1u
1-29 +6 209
1-29 +11.5 402 1u
1-29 +5.5 212
1-29 +10 400 1.25u
1-30 +10 341 1.25u
1-30 +6 178
1-30 +9 303
1-30 +10 ?? 1.25u (didn’t test – hubby had to dose him. Pretty sure he would be over 300 though!)
1-30 +6 365 (hubby swears he dosed him correctly – but how the heckcan this be???)
1-30 +10 408 1.25u
1-31 +10 317 1.25u
1-31 +10 235 1.25u
2-1 +8.5 389
2-1 +10 436 1.25u
2-1 +7 354
2-1 +10 295 1.25u
2-1 +11 318 1.25u
Saw vet today and gave first dose of antibiotic (Baytril) this evening
2-2 +10 153!!!!!!!!! (should have dosed but didn't know if he was going up or down)
2-2 +10.75 218 1.25u
2-2 +6 281
2-2 +10 246 1.25u
2-2 +10 425 1.25u
2-3 +10 350 1.25u
2-3 +10 302 1.25u
2-4 +10 373 1.5u (upped dosage slightly)
2-5 +10 388 1.5u
+2 384
+4 371
+6 349
+8 333
+10 342 (he did sneak one bite of banana bread – figures – the day I’m curving him!!!)
+12 336 1.5u
2-6 +10.5 293
+12 368 1.5u
Hello All! My cat, Gizzy and I are new to this site but certainly not new to FD or the TR Protocol. Gizzy was first diagnosed in 12/08 and was OTJ from 2/23/09 - 8/23/10. After 8/10, I didn't need to dose him every day - I only dosed him when he needed it. However, as of 1/20/11 - I can't seem to get him regulated. He seems to be in high flats and I'm having a hard time determining if it's too much insulin (Somogyi rebound) or if he needs more insulin. Can you please take a look at his #'s and let me know what you think?? He's on Lantus.....and eats only Fancy Feast (Classic) foods. Gizzy is 12 years old, an orange tabby, weighs 14 pounds and is the love of my life! :smile:
Background Info: He had his teeth cleened in 11/2010 and I just had him at the vet on 2/1/2011. She put him on antibiotics because he had the red line on his gums and she said his lymph nodes were a little enlarged. Also, as a side note, our other cat had a BAD case of upper respiratory infection in November....he still has a runny nose and sneezing sometimes ($1500 vet bill and 4 months later....I'm starting to believe that he has feline herpes). I'm sure that Gizzy has it too since they live in close quarters....I have no idea what the correlation between feline herpes and feline diabetes is???? Does anyone know if he has that - can he ever go back into remission again??
1-14 (day we left for vacation) 238 .5u (he hadn't had a shot in 5 days prior to this one)
1-20 (day we got home) 356 .5u (started him at .5u because that's what he's been on forever - thought this would jolt him back)
1-21 +13.5 252 .5
1-21 +12 342 .5
1-22 +10 396 fat .5
1-22 +4.5 363
1-22 +10 352 .5 (bought new insulin - thought this may be the problem...)
1-23 +9.75 238 fat .5
1-23 +10 389 1u (.5 obviously not working)
1-23 +10 215 1u
1-24 +10.25 51 (hmmmm......rebound??)
1-24 +18.87 103
1-24 +21.76 337 1u
1-25 +10 323 1u
1-25 +10.5 337 1u
1-26 +12 349 1u
1-26 +6 177
1-26 +11 310 1u
1-27 +10 350 .75u (not sure why I switched him here - but I did. Dumb)
1-27 +10 311 .75u
1-27 +6 245
1-27 +10 381 .75u
1-28 +10 383 1u
1-28 +11 481 1u
1-29 +6 209
1-29 +11.5 402 1u
1-29 +5.5 212
1-29 +10 400 1.25u
1-30 +10 341 1.25u
1-30 +6 178
1-30 +9 303
1-30 +10 ?? 1.25u (didn’t test – hubby had to dose him. Pretty sure he would be over 300 though!)
1-30 +6 365 (hubby swears he dosed him correctly – but how the heckcan this be???)
1-30 +10 408 1.25u
1-31 +10 317 1.25u
1-31 +10 235 1.25u
2-1 +8.5 389
2-1 +10 436 1.25u
2-1 +7 354
2-1 +10 295 1.25u
2-1 +11 318 1.25u
Saw vet today and gave first dose of antibiotic (Baytril) this evening
2-2 +10 153!!!!!!!!! (should have dosed but didn't know if he was going up or down)
2-2 +10.75 218 1.25u
2-2 +6 281
2-2 +10 246 1.25u
2-2 +10 425 1.25u
2-3 +10 350 1.25u
2-3 +10 302 1.25u
2-4 +10 373 1.5u (upped dosage slightly)
2-5 +10 388 1.5u
+2 384
+4 371
+6 349
+8 333
+10 342 (he did sneak one bite of banana bread – figures – the day I’m curving him!!!)
+12 336 1.5u
2-6 +10.5 293
+12 368 1.5u