jmalasiuk
Member Since 2014
Well, Tonka is reading high again: 27.3 [491] at his AMPS, and gradually descending since then (21.5 [387] at +6.5).
I thought we were safe with yesterday's reading of 5.5 [99] at +10 since he was climbing gradually from there: 6.7 [120] at his PMPS, but he was already up to 10.8 [194] at +3.5, after a reduced shot (0.5 since 1.0 has been bringing him down quite significantly from his pre-shot levels), and he appears to have been rising steadily over the earlier part of the night, and was quite high when I snuck in a 2 am reading (25.3 [455] at +7).
So was the reduced shot too little insulin (could he be that sensitive that a half a unit would make that much of a difference? He is a 12-13 lb cat, which is roughly what his "ideal" weight is supposed to be for his size, and is eating only low carb wet food (with occasional freeze dried 100% meat treats).
Or could the climb we started to see at the end of his am cycle be another but slower rebound? (the only reason I'm thinking that he is rebounding so often is that he often skyrockets after a low reading, and given how long he's been in the high levels, maybe even a nice healthy 99 is too low for his body's comfort level? I don't think he dropped lower following his reduced shot - as stated, by +1.5 he was already 194. (By the way: just to be difficult, he never shows signs of hypoglycemia that I've witnessed, including the days that he was down below 2 [36] ... he appeared quite alert and normal)
*I don't know what to do about his rebounding after drops into the healthy range. If I keep him at the insulin level that puts him there, will his body eventually accept the lower readings and level out? Or will that 1.o unit dose of insulin likely knock him too far down once his pre-shot levels are no longer regularly over 20 [360]?
Last night, before he had skyrocketed again, I was planning on reducing him to 0.75 units to see where that took him after a few days. But with the consistent high readings he was getting on 0.5 units and my inability to test for a daytime nadir while he was on that dose, I don't know if that was too little or too much insulin (chronic rebound?). So I'm feeling nervous about even the 0.75 dose right now. I start back at work on Monday, so I won't be able to test him during the daytime other than pre-shot until next weekend.
I thought we were safe with yesterday's reading of 5.5 [99] at +10 since he was climbing gradually from there: 6.7 [120] at his PMPS, but he was already up to 10.8 [194] at +3.5, after a reduced shot (0.5 since 1.0 has been bringing him down quite significantly from his pre-shot levels), and he appears to have been rising steadily over the earlier part of the night, and was quite high when I snuck in a 2 am reading (25.3 [455] at +7).
So was the reduced shot too little insulin (could he be that sensitive that a half a unit would make that much of a difference? He is a 12-13 lb cat, which is roughly what his "ideal" weight is supposed to be for his size, and is eating only low carb wet food (with occasional freeze dried 100% meat treats).
Or could the climb we started to see at the end of his am cycle be another but slower rebound? (the only reason I'm thinking that he is rebounding so often is that he often skyrockets after a low reading, and given how long he's been in the high levels, maybe even a nice healthy 99 is too low for his body's comfort level? I don't think he dropped lower following his reduced shot - as stated, by +1.5 he was already 194. (By the way: just to be difficult, he never shows signs of hypoglycemia that I've witnessed, including the days that he was down below 2 [36] ... he appeared quite alert and normal)
*I don't know what to do about his rebounding after drops into the healthy range. If I keep him at the insulin level that puts him there, will his body eventually accept the lower readings and level out? Or will that 1.o unit dose of insulin likely knock him too far down once his pre-shot levels are no longer regularly over 20 [360]?
Last night, before he had skyrocketed again, I was planning on reducing him to 0.75 units to see where that took him after a few days. But with the consistent high readings he was getting on 0.5 units and my inability to test for a daytime nadir while he was on that dose, I don't know if that was too little or too much insulin (chronic rebound?). So I'm feeling nervous about even the 0.75 dose right now. I start back at work on Monday, so I won't be able to test him during the daytime other than pre-shot until next weekend.