Margaret
Member
My Sammy is on 3 units of Humulin every 12 hours and we are still working to get better control. For a while we were getting BG numbers in the 100s when the insulin was at it's peak, and now we aren't getting below 300. He is also now about 15 and a half pounds, whereas he was almost 20 when diagnosed. Could it be that the insulin dose needs to be reduced?
It seems I read somewhere that overshooting the ideal dose could result in higher BG rather than lower -- an overreactive response from the pancreas or liver or something...or does that apply to the other types of "depot" insulins, and not NHP?
Margaret
It seems I read somewhere that overshooting the ideal dose could result in higher BG rather than lower -- an overreactive response from the pancreas or liver or something...or does that apply to the other types of "depot" insulins, and not NHP?
Margaret