jmalasiuk
Member Since 2014
Came home last night to a message from our vet (to whom I'd sent Tonka's latest numbers to see if she felt he was stable enough to go ahead with his dental or not). She wanted me to reduce his dose to 0.5 units, given how fast he's been falling in insulin requirements and knowing that I'm away for long hours during the day. I know some would say that this is too conservative, since he didn't officially "earn" a reduction (I keep intervening with food before he hits the below 50 level), but I appreciate her concern in this case, and to be honest, I was curious how he would do with that (I can always being his dose back up if he starts climbing, right?).
Anyhoo, she's never personally seen a cat climb down in dose needs that quickly before, especially after only being regulated for a short period) and is talking about trying him on no insulin if he keeps dropping into lower-than-comfortable levels after a week at this dose. In that case, I think I'd argue for going with increasingly smaller doses rather than cutting it out entirely, since I've read here that they seem to better getting taken off more gradually than going cold turkey from the 0.5 unit doses that vets typically work in. Is that the case? I don't want to ignore her advice, because she's had many diabetic cats in her care that have gone into remission, but I also want to give him his best chance and if going off gradually does increase that chance, then that's what we should do. (I expect the 0.5 unit reductions are based on the fact that it is harder to read anything less than half a unit accurately, and most people out there are not going to go to the extent of effort involved in micro-dosing accurately that people on this board do)
That said, what should I be looking for in terms of whether or not he fails this reduction? If he stays in the normal range, he's all good, but at what point do you consider him failing it if he does start to climb up?
Yesterday's PMPS = 70
+3 = 76
+4 = 88
+11 = 94 (yes, I finally got to sleep early enough that I was able to drag myself out of bed early enough to do a +11!)
Today's AMPS = 94
PMPS = 58
To be fair, he didn't eat much today and that probably helped him stay lower. He gobbled up Everything tonight, so we'll see where he is later on in the evening/tomorrow morning.
He is so much more like his old self these days: Trouble cat is back!
Anyhoo, she's never personally seen a cat climb down in dose needs that quickly before, especially after only being regulated for a short period) and is talking about trying him on no insulin if he keeps dropping into lower-than-comfortable levels after a week at this dose. In that case, I think I'd argue for going with increasingly smaller doses rather than cutting it out entirely, since I've read here that they seem to better getting taken off more gradually than going cold turkey from the 0.5 unit doses that vets typically work in. Is that the case? I don't want to ignore her advice, because she's had many diabetic cats in her care that have gone into remission, but I also want to give him his best chance and if going off gradually does increase that chance, then that's what we should do. (I expect the 0.5 unit reductions are based on the fact that it is harder to read anything less than half a unit accurately, and most people out there are not going to go to the extent of effort involved in micro-dosing accurately that people on this board do)
That said, what should I be looking for in terms of whether or not he fails this reduction? If he stays in the normal range, he's all good, but at what point do you consider him failing it if he does start to climb up?
Yesterday's PMPS = 70
+3 = 76
+4 = 88
+11 = 94 (yes, I finally got to sleep early enough that I was able to drag myself out of bed early enough to do a +11!)
Today's AMPS = 94
PMPS = 58
To be fair, he didn't eat much today and that probably helped him stay lower. He gobbled up Everything tonight, so we'll see where he is later on in the evening/tomorrow morning.
He is so much more like his old self these days: Trouble cat is back!