Tommy maybe pancreas helping?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Active Member
These last few days have been interesting. ;-) Any thoughts that maybe his pancreas is starting to help him out? :o Would his snacks be helping out? How should I dose? Thanks for all your input! cat_pet_icon
 
Hi Sandy and Tommy!

To my eye, it looks like Tommy's dose needs to go down a bit, which could very well mean that his pancreas is pitching in. :-D It's hard to tell without a bit more mid-cycle data, but it looks to me like some of those higher pre-shots are bounces, and you're having pre-shots that are too low to shoot. What is your current scale?
 
Yellow I generally use 1 unit, skinny or fat depending on number.
Pinks I generally use 1.2
Reds, 1.4
Tommy is pretty sensitive dropping low like today
I'm using U100 syringes with the conversion scale.
 
Sandy&Tommy said:
Yellow I generally use 1 unit, skinny or fat depending on number.
Pinks I generally use 1.2
Reds, 1.4
Tommy is pretty sensitive dropping low like today
I'm using U100 syringes with the conversion scale.

Hmmm...maybe shave your scale by 0.2 overall for each range? Can you get maybe a +3 or +4 tonight, and/or can you get mid-cycle numbers every few hours and a couple around nadir tomorrow?
 
Not sure I can get those later tonight, (I take meds to help me sleep) but I will post PMPS and more if I can. Tomorrow I'm home most of the day and I can get more numbers. I will start tonight with the decreased dose. :smile:
 
PMPS:342 confused_cat His huge drop from the red probably gave him a bounce. I gave him a fat 1 tonight. We will see what happens. Should I start a new post in the morning? Thanks.
 
Sandy&Tommy said:
PMPS:342 confused_cat His huge drop from the red probably gave him a bounce. I gave him a fat 1 tonight. We will see what happens. Should I start a new post in the morning? Thanks.

I think that looks good. :smile:

Yep, if you would start a new post in the morning, I'll look for you. Maybe title it something like 2/23 Tommy AMPS ###. I'm not always on right away in the AM, but I'll check in on Tommy's SS as soon as I can. :smile:

If he's under 200 in the AM, I'd suggest that you try stalling. Wait 30 mins without feeding, and see what the number is. If he's over 200 go ahead and shoot what you normally would. If he's under 200, I'd try to make certain that he's rising from the previous test before shooting, and I don't think I'd shoot him unless he goes over 150. You can stall as long as you need and/or want to. :smile: That way you may be able to avoid skipping a shot.

Does that make sense?
 
bunni9 said:
If he's under 200 in the AM, I'd suggest that you try stalling. Wait 30 mins without feeding, and see what the number is. If he's over 200 go ahead and shoot what you normally would. If he's under 200, I'd try to make certain that he's rising from the previous test before shooting, and I don't think I'd shoot him unless he goes over 150. You can stall as long as you need and/or want to. :smile: That way you may be able to avoid skipping a shot.

Does that make sense?

Yes it does. I sometimes do this in a different way when I get home very late from my job, then have to be back early in the morning. :shock: DH won't test so I do it before I leave, then he feeds and shoots a little while later to help keep the 12 hour schedule. If he is under 200 I have him feed, then wait until closer to 12 hours for him to shoot. I will then usually reduce the dose to a skinny 1. This doesn't happen often but I can't see shooting a +7 or +8. I would think it would be to dangerous, since I wouldn't be home to monitor.
 
Sandy&Tommy said:
Yes it does. I sometimes do this in a different way when I get home very late from my job, then have to be back early in the morning. :shock: DH won't test so I do it before I leave, then he feeds and shoots a little while later to help keep the 12 hour schedule. If he is under 200 I have him feed, then wait until closer to 12 hours for him to shoot. I will then usually reduce the dose to a skinny 1. This doesn't happen often but I can't see shooting a +7 or +8. I would think it would be to dangerous, since I wouldn't be home to monitor.

Wow, that's complicated! With Tommy's numbers on a lovely downward slope, I'd be a little nervous about shooting even if it's a little later, when he's under 200 without a test. I wonder if there's a less complicated way to work around your schedule. :smile: Tomorrow, maybe we can get some eyes on your schedule to see if we can brainstorm a workaround that works a little better?
 
Thank you Jen, I'd really appreciate the help. When Tommy was higher, I didn't worry so much. It's nice to see the lower numbers, but scary as well.
My schedule varies at times but I can give you the basics tomorrow morning. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top